Sharp Aquos rs-232

erikhimber
Expert
Expert
Posts: 872
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2003 8:54 pm
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
Contact:

Sharp Aquos rs-232

Postby erikhimber » Tue Apr 12, 2005 2:08 pm

Does anyone have or can anyone point me to documentation pertaining to the rs-232 protocol for a 37" Sharp Aquos LCD ?
Erik

User avatar
mcascio
Founder
Founder
Posts: 8270
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Kenosha, Wi
Contact:

Postby mcascio » Thu Apr 14, 2005 8:15 am

Erik,

You might need to contact Sharp's tech support dep't directly. Sometimes you can get lucky doing an online search though.
Mario Cascio
Cinemar, Inc.
http://www.cinemaronline.com

erikhimber
Expert
Expert
Posts: 872
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2003 8:54 pm
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
Contact:

Postby erikhimber » Thu Apr 14, 2005 10:02 am

Yeah, I tried the online search which yeilded very little, Guess I'll tyr tech support.

Thanks Mario
Erik

User avatar
mcascio
Founder
Founder
Posts: 8270
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Kenosha, Wi
Contact:

Postby mcascio » Fri Sep 08, 2006 2:27 pm

Erik,

Shouldn't be too much longer before we have this driver available for public consumption. ;)
Mario Cascio

Cinemar, Inc.

http://www.cinemaronline.com

User avatar
DanielSiegel
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 302
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 6:05 am
Contact:

Postby DanielSiegel » Fri Sep 08, 2006 7:02 pm

I have manuals for 2 of my Sharp 37" LCDs (37D5U and 37HV4U). Both include the RS232 specs (virtually identical, except where HW differences).

Both use a Null Modem cable with 9600-N-8-1
For ON, the command is an ASCII: "POWR1 " (note the 3 spaces at end)
For OFF, the command is: "POWR0 "

If you want the full pdf files (which I believe I found fairly easily on Sharp's website, though I'm not certain), just send me an email at Daniel.Siegel@derwin.com and I'll send them to you.

User avatar
mcascio
Founder
Founder
Posts: 8270
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Kenosha, Wi
Contact:

Postby mcascio » Sat Sep 09, 2006 11:39 am

Daniel,

Please email me the file. It may be the same as the existing models we are supporting which is: LC-37D4U, LC-32D4U and LC-26D4U.
Mario Cascio

Cinemar, Inc.

http://www.cinemaronline.com

User avatar
DanielSiegel
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 302
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 6:05 am
Contact:

Postby DanielSiegel » Sat Sep 09, 2006 12:15 pm

I just sent you both files via email.

MurrayW
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1198
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 1:05 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Postby MurrayW » Sun Sep 10, 2006 11:45 pm

mcascio wrote:Daniel,

Please email me the file. It may be the same as the existing models we are supporting which is: LC-37D4U, LC-32D4U and LC-26D4U.
Mario, Will this also support the LC-45GX6U? See page 99 and 100 of the user manual in the attached link for the RS-232 codes.

http://www.sharpusa.com/files/tel_man_LC45GX6U_TUGD10UT.pdf

thanks,
Murray

User avatar
mcascio
Founder
Founder
Posts: 8270
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Kenosha, Wi
Contact:

Postby mcascio » Mon Sep 11, 2006 5:54 pm

Murray,

It appears many of the commands are the same. But it also appears your device has additional commands. My guess is we would probably create another driver specific to yours and similar models that support it fully.
Mario Cascio

Cinemar, Inc.

http://www.cinemaronline.com

dbarker
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 183
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 1:07 pm
Contact:

sharp aquos lcc6554u rs232

Postby dbarker » Sun Jan 18, 2009 12:44 pm

been away from this for a long time.
just picked up this tv and am hoping to control it with the old
MLGenericSerial plugin. i dont remember much of anything that
i learned when i first got mainlobby set up so i was hoping i could
get some of you guys to spoon feed me a bit.
can anyone give me some info on how to do this? i have tried to send a few commands but no luck. i just can't remember how it all works.
thanks
doug

MurrayW
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1198
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 1:05 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Postby MurrayW » Sun Jan 18, 2009 1:25 pm

Doug,

I am still using MLGenericSerial (I haven't moved over to the newer plugin yet). Attached is a screen print of my settings I use and an export of my Sharp command maps. You will need to change the com port setting to match the port you are using. Hopefully you can just import the command maps and not have to modify anything except for probably the device number at the end of the command after the spaces. If you do have to enter the command maps by hand, make sure you are careful with the number of spaces in the commands.

I use command maps (macros) to control the TV. Here's an example of the macro for channel up:

Code: Select all

MLGenericSerial|Send~CHUP1   ~2


My Sharp TV is the 2nd device in my MLGenericSerial setup, so that is the reason for the 2 at the end of the command. You will have to modify this for your setup if the Sharp is not your 2nd device. I tried using the Sharp alias but got incosistent results and had to call out the device by number to get it to work all the time.

I call these macros from buttons or through my remote using the USBUIRT plugin. For example, to send the channel up command from a button or my remote this is the command that is sent:

Code: Select all

Sharp.CHUp


Good luck and let me know if you have any questions.

Murray
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

dbarker
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 183
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 1:07 pm
Contact:

Postby dbarker » Sun Jan 18, 2009 2:01 pm

thanks.
can't tell you how much a i appreciate all the head aches you
have saved me. i will try to get it working as sson as i get the null modem serial cable i need and let you know how it went.

dbarker
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 183
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 1:07 pm
Contact:

Postby dbarker » Sun Jan 18, 2009 5:38 pm

MurrayW
imported the file and pretty much everything works!
not sure that i have things set up right yet as the commands do not exist in the MLGenereicSerial plugin settings but i imported them in MLServe map commands. i inserted a command in the dvdlobby default play command and it works great. tried a few other commands and they all work. not sure what i was doing wrong before. may have been the spacing like you mentioned.
anyhow, thanks again
doug

MurrayW
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1198
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 1:05 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Postby MurrayW » Mon Jan 19, 2009 12:23 pm

dbarker wrote:MurrayW
imported the file and pretty much everything works!
not sure that i have things set up right yet as the commands do not exist in the MLGenereicSerial plugin settings but i imported them in MLServe map commands. i inserted a command in the dvdlobby default play command and it works great. tried a few other commands and they all work. not sure what i was doing wrong before. may have been the spacing like you mentioned.
anyhow, thanks again
doug
Doug, I'm glad it worked for you. I don't have any commands in the MLGenericSerial plugin. I have everything in the MLServer command maps -- I try to do this with all plugins so that all of my macros are in one place.

Murray

dbarker
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 183
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 1:07 pm
Contact:

Postby dbarker » Mon Jan 19, 2009 5:15 pm

good idea
since you are still running the old stuff
how are you handling adding dvd's in DVDLobby. the "add from internet"
option no longer works and i am getting tired of adding everything
by hand. i have over 200 that i have'nt added yet and don't look foward to spending months on it.
doug


Return to “Sharp”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest