Automation rules with musiclobby variables

Tips and Techniques for using MLServer's Automation Rules
mikesnook
New Member
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 5:58 am
Contact:

Automation rules with musiclobby variables

Postby mikesnook » Wed Apr 30, 2008 6:44 pm

Hi all, i'm having problems triggering an event in homeseer depending on the value of a mlserver variable ( mlmediacenter_server01_zone1_playbackstatus ) the variable has a few values im only really interested when it becomes 2 (playing).

when i set up an Automation Rule in mlserver nothing happens, when the value of the variable changes ?! this is the rule :

mlmediacenter_server01_zone1_playbackstatus contains 2
MLHSPLugin|HS_SetDeviceString:T81~playing

( The "T81" virtual device is created and added to subscribed devices)

Basicaly when the variable in mlserver becomes "2" i need an event in homeseer to trigger an event using the mlhsplugin.

Many thanks,

Mike :o

User avatar
DavidL
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 11071
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact:

Postby DavidL » Wed Apr 30, 2008 8:21 pm

Make sure the musiclobbyserver setting for Update Server Vars in Fast mode is NOT checked.

ricks
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1127
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 7:01 pm
Location: Latham, Massachusetts
Contact:

Postby ricks » Wed Apr 30, 2008 11:00 pm

I have the same problem and do have the check box unchecked. Neither the update trigger command in MLMediacenter nor a server rule will fire when the variable changes.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Rick

mikesnook
New Member
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 5:58 am
Contact:

Postby mikesnook » Thu May 01, 2008 3:32 am

ahhh good call smoothtlk ! but would this mean i would no longer have the progress being shown within the music lobby client screen ?

what is the use of the fast variables?

Many thanks,
Mike

mikesnook
New Member
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 5:58 am
Contact:

Postby mikesnook » Thu May 01, 2008 4:22 am

PS. After disabling the fast variables within the musiclobby plugin in jriver it jumped into life!

Now my audio streaming starts and stops according to the playback status!

Thanks smoothtlk !


Mike

User avatar
DavidL
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 11071
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact:

Postby DavidL » Thu May 01, 2008 6:38 am

ricks,
don't know, but make sure you are on latest musiclobbyserver plugin et al.

ricks
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1127
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 7:01 pm
Location: Latham, Massachusetts
Contact:

Postby ricks » Thu May 01, 2008 9:45 am

Hi Smooth,

I downloaded al the latest a few days ago:
MLServer 3.0.489
ML 3.00.145
MLMediacenter 3.1.3
MusicLobby3Server 3.0.123
JRiver 12.0.487

I'll keep working it to figure out what's missing.

Thanks,

User avatar
DavidL
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 11071
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact:

Postby DavidL » Thu May 01, 2008 3:31 pm

So, MusicLobbyServer is showing as licensed. You have only one MLServer PC running. You are using one J river instance. You're firewall is opened on the TCP 7000 and the UDP port described in the Wiki. You are seeing data updates in MLServer log on song change. You are seeing song data change in MusicLobbyServer event screen. You have deselected the Fast option.

All good to that point?

What is the event that you are wanting to fire? Copy / Paste it.

ricks
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1127
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 7:01 pm
Location: Latham, Massachusetts
Contact:

Postby ricks » Thu May 01, 2008 3:51 pm

Sorry, it appears that after unchecking the checkbox a JR Mediacenter AND MLServer restart was needed. Live and learn.

Thanks,
Rick


Return to “Automation Rules”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest