Problem with Panasonic BL-C10A and MLIPCamera Plugin

User avatar
AccessHA
Expert
Expert
Posts: 644
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 8:44 pm
Location: MI
Contact:

Problem with Panasonic BL-C10A and MLIPCamera Plugin

Postby AccessHA » Sat May 05, 2007 4:19 pm

I just purchased this plug-in for a Panasonic BL-C10A. I upgraded the camera firmware to 1.25 and changed the motion settings to Mario's recommendations.

I’m encountering the following issues:
1. I get the login prompt that asks for user name and password when I open the ML scene. This requires that I click OK every time I launch the page.
2. Stationary image (no motion). It appears to grab one frame and that's all it displays.
3. Can’t control Pan or Tilt (both in ML and from driver in MLServer)


Does the camera have to be on a specific port (80)?

MLIPCamera Panasonic Plugin v1.0.150
MLIPCamera Plugin v3.0.519
Hell-bent on automating everything! I’m too lazy to do anything else.

www.accessHA.com
Access Home Automation
The ultimate Insteon resource on the web.

User avatar
AccessHA
Expert
Expert
Posts: 644
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 8:44 pm
Location: MI
Contact:

Postby AccessHA » Sun May 06, 2007 9:47 pm

:?:
Hell-bent on automating everything! I’m too lazy to do anything else.



www.accessHA.com

Access Home Automation

The ultimate Insteon resource on the web.

User avatar
mcascio
Founder
Founder
Posts: 8270
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Kenosha, Wi
Contact:

Postby mcascio » Mon May 07, 2007 8:57 am

Make sure you've followed the instructions on page 10 of the MLIPCamera manual:
Panasonic Requirements

Ø From Internet Explorer

o Tools > Internet Options
o From Temporary Internet Files select Settings
o Change Check for newer versions of stored pages to “every visit to the page”.

Ø From your Camera’s Web Server
o Select Setup
o Under General Authentication – select Permit Access from Guest Users (Menu’s
may vary from one camera to the next)
o Then Press Save

Ø From your Camera’s Web Server
o Select Setup
o Select Static from the Connection Mode Menu
o Check the Enable Box under Network Configuration from Setup Program
o Under Internet Connection, make sure you have the Port No. set to 80
o Note the IP Address you have assigned and use this same IP Address within the
MLIPCamera Camera Info Tab
o Press Save.
Setting the Panasonic’s Image Quality to Favor Motion and the Refresh Interval through their web
server seemed to provide the best results within MainLobby.
Mario Cascio
Cinemar, Inc.
http://www.cinemaronline.com

User avatar
AccessHA
Expert
Expert
Posts: 644
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 8:44 pm
Location: MI
Contact:

Postby AccessHA » Mon May 07, 2007 9:00 am

Thanks Mario, it looks like I overlooked a step. I'll give it a try tonight and post the results.
Hell-bent on automating everything! I’m too lazy to do anything else.



www.accessHA.com

Access Home Automation

The ultimate Insteon resource on the web.

User avatar
AccessHA
Expert
Expert
Posts: 644
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 8:44 pm
Location: MI
Contact:

Postby AccessHA » Mon May 07, 2007 6:54 pm

I'm up and running but I have some concerns and comments.

The IE Temp option for “every visit to the page” resolved my motion issues.

Also, port 80 doesn’t appear to be a necessity. The camera still functioned fine on any port I selected.

The step that has caused some concern is: Under General Authentication – select Permit Access from Guest Users
This solved my control (pan/tilt) issues and obviously prevents the login prompt from appearing. My concern with allowing guest access is that this opens up a huge security hole. I’m really not interested in doing a Paris Hilton … if you know what I mean. :shock:

Is there any way around this? I would prefer to keep the cameras secure.

Also, do the Toshiba cameras offer secure access? If so, can they be controlled without guest access?
Hell-bent on automating everything! I’m too lazy to do anything else.



www.accessHA.com

Access Home Automation

The ultimate Insteon resource on the web.

User avatar
AccessHA
Expert
Expert
Posts: 644
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 8:44 pm
Location: MI
Contact:

Postby AccessHA » Tue May 08, 2007 6:59 pm

:?:
Hell-bent on automating everything! I’m too lazy to do anything else.



www.accessHA.com

Access Home Automation

The ultimate Insteon resource on the web.

User avatar
mcascio
Founder
Founder
Posts: 8270
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Kenosha, Wi
Contact:

Postby mcascio » Tue May 08, 2007 8:52 pm

No way that I'm aware of.
Mario Cascio

Cinemar, Inc.

http://www.cinemaronline.com

User avatar
AccessHA
Expert
Expert
Posts: 644
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 8:44 pm
Location: MI
Contact:

Postby AccessHA » Tue May 08, 2007 10:07 pm

Wow, I was hoping that wouldn’t be the case. The main reasons I purchased the Panasonic IP cam was because of MainLobby’s driver support and the MLIPCamera plugin. Being able to view the camera remotely, while remaining secure, was another big reason.

I think this is a significant enough flaw in the application driver to warrant a disclaimer (sticky) at the top of the forum. Had I known this in advance, I would have reconsidered my purchase and possibly gone another route.

I tested this camera with other third-party software, including ActiveWebcam, and had no issues controlling or viewing its video with administrative security turned on. So obviously it’s an ML driver deficiency and not something with the camera itself.

When it was working un-securely, I was really impressed with the ML integration. It was exactly what I was looking for.

Is the original developer of the Panasonic plug-in still around? Is this something that could potentially be resolved in the near future or should I look into other options?
Hell-bent on automating everything! I’m too lazy to do anything else.



www.accessHA.com

Access Home Automation

The ultimate Insteon resource on the web.

User avatar
mcascio
Founder
Founder
Posts: 8270
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Kenosha, Wi
Contact:

Postby mcascio » Wed May 09, 2007 9:29 am

AccessHA,

Because we are using reloading jpgs, they operate differently than other systems which use activex.

Based on advances we made with Toshiba, we might be able to expand the panasonic as well. While its not on the short radar given our current projects, we've added it to the long radar and is on the board to see if more can be done.

What you can do short term is utilize WebLobby to display streaming images and keep things secure.
Mario Cascio

Cinemar, Inc.

http://www.cinemaronline.com


Return to “Panasonic”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest