I installed but cannot find the plug in???

ccap
Member
Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 8:56 pm
Contact:

I installed but cannot find the plug in???

Postby ccap » Fri Oct 26, 2007 3:13 pm

I installed the UPB plug in and restarted the server, but I cannot find the plugin?? I am looking in the ML server plug in area.

What can I be doing wrong??
Thanks

Also I cannot find any documentation on how to use the plug in

User avatar
DavidL
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 11071
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact:

Postby DavidL » Fri Oct 26, 2007 3:20 pm

http://www.cinemaronlineforums.com/wiki ... ing_Plugin

The Plugin should be latest MLLighting plugin. The Device driver that supports UPB will be in the MLLighting subdirectory (that the MLLighting installer creates). There is a MLLighting plugin version, and there is also a UPB driver version that can be viewed in MLLighting Settings tab, once the UPB driver is installed and added to MLLighting.

A bit confusing for sure.

ccap
Member
Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 8:56 pm
Contact:

Postby ccap » Fri Oct 26, 2007 3:39 pm

Thanks, the documentation had the MLlighting family module that I needed. It was confusing

However, as I go into setting up the controller, it asks for a COM port. Mine is hooked via USB on the server PC.

How do I get the plug in to talk to the USB port??? The device I am using is a Simply Automated controller

Thanks

User avatar
mcascio
Founder
Founder
Posts: 8270
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Kenosha, Wi
Contact:

Postby mcascio » Fri Oct 26, 2007 4:27 pm

I'm assuming you are using a USB > SERIAL adapter with your serial UPB controller.

Check in your Device Manager - sometimes that will let you know which port #.
Mario Cascio
Cinemar, Inc.
http://www.cinemaronline.com

ccap
Member
Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 8:56 pm
Contact:

Postby ccap » Fri Oct 26, 2007 11:00 pm

Mario,

I am not using that a USB to Serial. It's a regular USB cable, the exact same that you use for a printer, so its plugged into a USB port off the motherboard.

I hope this does not mean that I can't use this plug in :cry:

This is the device that I am using to control and program my lighting

http://www.automatedoutlet.com/product.php?productid=2046&cat=145&page=1

User avatar
DavidL
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 11071
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact:

Postby DavidL » Fri Oct 26, 2007 11:33 pm

look in Windows Hardware Manager and see if a new comport was added by the USB UPB device. There might be a USB to serial driver that is being used. Might work, might not. Not tested with this hardware.

User avatar
mcascio
Founder
Founder
Posts: 8270
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Kenosha, Wi
Contact:

Postby mcascio » Fri Oct 26, 2007 11:37 pm

ccap,

You would need the RS232 version of the UPB module:
http://www.automatedoutlet.com/product. ... 145&page=1

I wasn't even aware they had a USB version. I couldn't even find it listed on the simply-automated website.

Unfortunately - it would require quite a bit of work on our part to support the USB version at this point.

EDIT: Be sure to look into smoothtlks post above - I'm not familiar with this device either - so perhaps theres more to it.
Mario Cascio

Cinemar, Inc.

http://www.cinemaronline.com

ccap
Member
Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 8:56 pm
Contact:

Postby ccap » Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:46 am

CRUD! I looked in Device Manager and it does not create a COM port. :cry:

I was hoping to work on this over the weekend.


Return to “UPB”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest