Homeseer vs MLLighting

Funboy
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 294
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2003 9:54 pm
Contact:

Homeseer vs MLLighting

Postby Funboy » Sat Jan 27, 2007 8:18 pm

This may have already been asked/discussed, but I couldn't find it...

What are the advantages to using ML & MLLighting (UPB) vs using HomeSeer (w/ the ML Plug in) to control lighting?

One of the things I like about Homeseer is the web interface - which I can access from anywhere in the world - including my cell phone.

Unfortunately both of these software packages lock the com port to the interface, so I can only use one of them to control lighting (unless I connect 2 interfaces).

Anyone have experience using both and any preferences?
- Funboy

User avatar
DavidL
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 11071
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact:

Postby DavidL » Sat Jan 27, 2007 11:06 pm

MLServer now handles a web interface as well, but there aren't many html scenes built / shared yet.

For folks starting out, MLLighting is easier to configure than configuring Homeseer, then the MLHSPlugin, then mapping that to Mainlobby buttons and events.

Homeseer does a lot of stuff. But if you don't need that, it's simpler just to go with MainLobby standalone. But, for the tinkerers, Homeseer offers plenty.

sfreiman
Expert
Expert
Posts: 868
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2003 12:39 pm
Location: Tucson, AZ
Contact:

Postby sfreiman » Mon May 28, 2007 12:50 pm

I'm setting up a new server and want to better understand what MLLighting will and won't do. Since I was using Homeseer simply to control basic lighting, I understand that MLLighting works with X-10 and might just do the trick. How can I find out details about MLLighting?

User avatar
DavidL
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 11071
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact:

Postby DavidL » Mon May 28, 2007 1:41 pm


sfreiman
Expert
Expert
Posts: 868
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2003 12:39 pm
Location: Tucson, AZ
Contact:

Postby sfreiman » Mon May 28, 2007 5:47 pm

Sorry-I'm still lost on exactly what hardware/software is required. I have been using a X10 CM11A serial. Can I still use this, or do I need new hardware and/or software to use the MLLighting plugin?

User avatar
DavidL
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 11071
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact:

Postby DavidL » Mon May 28, 2007 7:54 pm

You would need a Insteon PLC or better yet a PLM.

If you are using a PLC, then the Cinemar Insteon PLC driver will install the SDM software.

If you are using a PLM, then the Cinemar Insteon PLM driver is what you need.

For both, you also need the MLLighting plugin (free) that manages all lighting drivers of this family.

sfreiman
Expert
Expert
Posts: 868
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2003 12:39 pm
Location: Tucson, AZ
Contact:

Postby sfreiman » Mon May 28, 2007 8:57 pm

smoothtlk wrote:You would need a Insteon PLC or better yet a PLM.

If you are using a PLC, then the Cinemar Insteon PLC driver will install the SDM software.

If you are using a PLM, then the Cinemar Insteon PLM driver is what you need.

For both, you also need the MLLighting plugin (free) that manages all lighting drivers of this family.


Thanks smooth. Now it is beginning make sense. I assume the PLC is this: http://www.smarthome.com/2414u.html ?

So the Insteon PLC will control my existing X-10 Modules? Sorry for all the questions. Some times I'm so so bright :shock:

User avatar
DavidL
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 11071
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact:

Postby DavidL » Mon May 28, 2007 9:30 pm

http://www.smarthome.com/2412s.html


It is X10 backwards compatible. I suggest PLM and NOT PLC. PLC requres use of the SDM software which has proven to be challenging...

PLM is still a beta Cinemar driver but is looking good so far.

Why don't we move this discussion to the Insteon thread, not the UPB one.


Return to “UPB”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest