Denon 4802

User avatar
DavidL
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 11071
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact:

Postby DavidL » Sun Jan 28, 2007 11:41 am

Chris, we have some version control issues with Denon that needs to be resolved. I have sent an email to Mario on this.

jmorris644
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 124
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 11:57 am
Contact:

Postby jmorris644 » Sun Jan 28, 2007 5:05 pm

chrismd77 wrote:Mario,

I wonder if you can help me real quick. Earier in this post you say "Did you install the specific 4802 driver instead of using the other model driver?" How would I go about installing the 4802 SPECIFIC driver? I have gone to the the server plugin page and I installed the only Denon driver I see. I have basic control over my unit but I still can not control volume. Thanks, Chris


Hi Chris,

There is only a single version now for all Denon receivers. You can download it from the last post in the Denon 4306 thread. It was posted by me on Jan 10.

Let me know if you have any questions.

Thanks

Joe

User avatar
DavidL
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 11071
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact:

Postby DavidL » Sun Jan 28, 2007 5:18 pm

Thanx Joe. I have updated the plugin in the Help / Additional Software downloads with your latest. I have deleted the plugin from the forum.

chrismd77
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 308
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 3:04 pm
Location: Shrewsbury, PA
Contact:

Postby chrismd77 » Sun Jan 28, 2007 6:35 pm

Thanks for the responses. I have downloaded the latest but I am still having problems with the volume. If there is only one version of the plug-in how does it determine if it should use a three digit format for the volume verses a two digit format. After looking into the serial commands for my 5800 I need the two digits. Thanks again and I am sorry but I am having a hard time understanding how one plug-in can control a number of different units that have slightly different serial protocols.

Chris

jmorris644
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 124
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 11:57 am
Contact:

Postby jmorris644 » Sun Jan 28, 2007 7:33 pm

chrismd77 wrote:Thanks for the responses. I have downloaded the latest but I am still having problems with the volume. If there is only one version of the plug-in how does it determine if it should use a three digit format for the volume verses a two digit format. After looking into the serial commands for my 5800 I need the two digits. Thanks again and I am sorry but I am having a hard time understanding how one plug-in can control a number of different units that have slightly different serial protocols.

Chris


Hi Chris,

I made the decision a while back to implement the 3 digit version. But this should work fine with the 2 digit version receivers also. It should just be more granular. For example, a 3 digit volume up sequence might look like 60, then 605, then 70. Your receiver will see the 60 and 70 and ignore the 605.

What kind of issues are you having with the 5800? Also, I cannot find the serial protocol for the 5800. If you ahve it can you attach it for me so I can look at it?

Thanks

Joe

chrismd77
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 308
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 3:04 pm
Location: Shrewsbury, PA
Contact:

Postby chrismd77 » Mon Jan 29, 2007 10:31 am

Joe,

I found the serial document here http://oldusa.denon.com/catalog/products.asp?l=1&c=5 it appears that thew 4802 is the same as the 5800. This is weird. the command "MLServeCmd.MLDenon|ZoneVolume~1~Down" works but not "MLServeCmd.MLDenon|ZoneVolume~1~UP". Humm? also if I send this command for a direct volume set is does nothing.

MLServeCmd.MLDenon|ZoneVolume~1~75

Anyone have any thoughts? Thanks again, Chris

jmorris644
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 124
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 11:57 am
Contact:

Postby jmorris644 » Mon Jan 29, 2007 11:42 am

chrismd77 wrote:Joe,

I found the serial document here http://oldusa.denon.com/catalog/products.asp?l=1&c=5 it appears that thew 4802 is the same as the 5800. This is weird. the command "MLServeCmd.MLDenon|ZoneVolume~1~Down" works but not "MLServeCmd.MLDenon|ZoneVolume~1~UP". Humm? also if I send this command for a direct volume set is does nothing.

MLServeCmd.MLDenon|ZoneVolume~1~75

Anyone have any thoughts? Thanks again, Chris


Hi Chris,

Thanks for the link. The 3 digit volumes should work fine for you.

I have not heard of any issues with the volume UP command. I am guessing it is working for everyone else ;)

Can you upload a log of this not working?

Thanks

Joe

chrismd77
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 308
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 3:04 pm
Location: Shrewsbury, PA
Contact:

Postby chrismd77 » Mon Jan 29, 2007 11:47 am

will do. I should be home around 7 or 8 night. I am on the east coast.

chrismd77
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 308
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 3:04 pm
Location: Shrewsbury, PA
Contact:

Postby chrismd77 » Tue Jan 30, 2007 1:32 pm

Sorry for the delay. Here is a my log for some of the basic commands.

1/30/2007 1:25:20 PM Rc: Power~on
1/30/2007 1:25:20 PM Sx: PWON
1/30/2007 1:25:21 PM Response not received from receiver within 1 second requirement.
1/30/2007 1:25:28 PM Rc: Power~Standby
1/30/2007 1:25:28 PM Sx: PWSTANDBY
1/30/2007 1:25:29 PM Response not received from receiver within 1 second requirement.
1/30/2007 1:25:43 PM Rc: Power~on
1/30/2007 1:25:43 PM Sx: PWON
1/30/2007 1:25:44 PM Response not received from receiver within 1 second requirement.
1/30/2007 1:26:04 PM Rc: ZoneVolume~1~Down
1/30/2007 1:26:04 PM Sx: MVDOWN
1/30/2007 1:26:05 PM Response not received from receiver within 1 second requirement.
1/30/2007 1:26:07 PM Rc: ZoneVolume~1~UP
1/30/2007 1:26:14 PM Rc: ZoneVolume~1~20
1/30/2007 1:26:14 PM Sx: MV16
1/30/2007 1:26:15 PM Response not received from receiver within 1 second requirement.

On the last command you see the sx: MV16 but the volume on the reciever never changed. Thanks for everyone's help, Chris

jmorris644
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 124
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 11:57 am
Contact:

Postby jmorris644 » Tue Jan 30, 2007 11:47 pm

Chris,

You are not receiving anything at all from the receiver. It looks like you might have a cable problem. Or the receiver is off and not in standby. Responses from the receiver wil start witx "rx" in the log.

Joe

chrismd77
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 308
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 3:04 pm
Location: Shrewsbury, PA
Contact:

Postby chrismd77 » Wed Jan 31, 2007 12:23 pm

Well some of the commands work fine like Volume down, power on and off? If I have a cable issue why will the unit turn on and off? Humm??

jmorris644
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 124
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 11:57 am
Contact:

Postby jmorris644 » Wed Jan 31, 2007 4:11 pm

chrismd77 wrote:Well some of the commands work fine like Volume down, power on and off? If I have a cable issue why will the unit turn on and off? Humm??


It looks like the cable is only working in one direction. Based on the receiver getting commands and not seeing any communication from the receiver back.

After you see a "Sx: PWON" in the log you should then very quickly see a "Rx: PWON" when the receiver communicates back.

With the cable only working in one direction the plugin will immediately get out of sync with the receiver and results will be unpredictable.

Joe

chrismd77
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 308
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 3:04 pm
Location: Shrewsbury, PA
Contact:

Postby chrismd77 » Tue Feb 13, 2007 1:23 pm

Here is the update. I finally got out to get some new serial cables. it looks like that was not the problem. I am not sure wha tthe problem is though. It appears that I am in the same place as before. I can send some commands to the 5800 but I have not communication back from the unit. Here is my log

2/13/2007 1:12:37 PM Rc: ZoneMute~1~On
2/13/2007 1:12:37 PM Sx: MUON
2/13/2007 1:12:38 PM Response not received from receiver within 1 second requirement.
2/13/2007 1:12:38 PM Rc: ZoneMute~1~Off
2/13/2007 1:12:38 PM Sx: MUOFF
2/13/2007 1:12:39 PM Response not received from receiver within 1 second requirement.
2/13/2007 1:15:49 PM Rc: ZoneMute~1~On
2/13/2007 1:15:49 PM Sx: MUON
2/13/2007 1:15:50 PM Response not received from receiver within 1 second requirement.
2/13/2007 1:15:50 PM Rc: ZoneMute~1~Off
2/13/2007 1:15:50 PM Sx: MUOFF
2/13/2007 1:15:51 PM Response not received from receiver within 1 second requirement.
2/13/2007 1:15:56 PM Rc: Power~on
2/13/2007 1:15:56 PM Sx: PWON
2/13/2007 1:15:57 PM Response not received from receiver within 1 second requirement.
2/13/2007 1:15:57 PM Rc: Power~Standby
2/13/2007 1:15:57 PM Sx: PWSTANDBY
2/13/2007 1:15:58 PM Response not received from receiver within 1 second requirement.
2/13/2007 1:16:11 PM Rc: Power~on
2/13/2007 1:16:11 PM Sx: PWON
2/13/2007 1:16:12 PM Response not received from receiver within 1 second requirement.


Does anyone else have a 5800 or any ideas? Am I the first to test this plug with a 5800? Thanks for everyone's help. I would realy like to get this plugin working.

Chris

jmorris644
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 124
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 11:57 am
Contact:

Postby jmorris644 » Thu Feb 15, 2007 11:28 am

Hi Chris,

No, you are not the only tester using a 5800 model. Mark P has a 5805 and the serial works very well for him.

I still have to believe something is just not right in your specific setup. Do you have the port speed under device manager set with the correct parameters?

Also, is anything happening on the receiver when you click any of the plugin buttons?

The other thing you might want to check out, I believe that the 5800 model has an enable and disable option for the ethernet connection. If this is enabled it might also disable the serial connection so commands are not received from two sources at the same time.

Joe

chrismd77
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 308
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 3:04 pm
Location: Shrewsbury, PA
Contact:

Postby chrismd77 » Mon Feb 19, 2007 2:57 pm

Thanks for the Response. What should my port settings be? I currently have that port set to;

Bits per second: 9600
Data bits: 8
Parity: None
Stop Bits: 1
Flow Control: None

Are these settings correct? Also the Denon 5800 does not have a ethernet connection just serial. Thanks and if you have any other ideas or my serial settings are incorrect please let me know.

Chris


Return to “Denon”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest