5308 with GC100

benny32
Member
Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 10:37 pm
Contact:

5308 with GC100

Postby benny32 » Tue Nov 17, 2009 11:54 pm

I have a 5308 receiver and have it hooked up via serial to a GC100 and also have a the Denon plugin. In the denon plugin I have Serial selected as my command type rather than tcp/ip is that the preferred method? Is it even possible to run it through the GC100? I'm a little hazy on the usage in the GC100 in combination with the Denon plugin but I would really like to get this to work with serial. I will also post this in the Global Cache forum just because I'm not where this should have gone.

Josh

benny32
Member
Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 10:37 pm
Contact:

Re: 5308 with GC100

Postby benny32 » Thu Nov 26, 2009 11:39 am

Anyone out there?

pete_auto
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 387
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 6:50 pm
Contact:

Re: 5308 with GC100

Postby pete_auto » Mon Nov 30, 2009 9:58 am

The way I understand is that if you want to use Denon receiver 5308 with GC-100, you have to use MLGenericDevice as a “bridge”. You will need to define Denon Receiver as one of the devices under “Global Cache” tab in MLGD. Then define RS232 commands and responses in the MLGD for it to work this way.

I think that you can use either the Denon plug-in (without GC-100), or GC-100 via MLGC – but not both. Why do you want to use GC-100 in between when either the TCP/IP or Serial plug-in work much better? I don’t think this is the efficient way of integrating Denon receiver with MainLobby.

That being said, if you still want to use the GC-100 with Denon receiver (via MLGD), let me know as I can send you the MLGD file for the Denon Receiver. I have one for the Denon 3808CI receiver (although still incomplete – but you can get going), but I think it is the same protocol for 5808.

benny32
Member
Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 10:37 pm
Contact:

Re: 5308 with GC100

Postby benny32 » Mon Nov 30, 2009 5:23 pm

I don't have an option to connect the receiver via serial to a Mlobby computer which is why I was going to use the GC100 and I'm not sure what settings I am using via the IP settings to make it work via tcp. In the denon plugin I assume you put in the IP of the receiver when using tcp but I am not sure what port it is using and do you have to enable anything in the receiver to accept commands via the network connector? I would be extremely happy to ditch the gc100 in favor of a direct control setup I'm just missing that first connection and need a bit of help getting that connection made and then I think I can take it from there.

pete_auto
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 387
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 6:50 pm
Contact:

Re: 5308 with GC100

Postby pete_auto » Thu Dec 03, 2009 11:07 pm

Here are the steps:

1. Connect your receiver to your router or switch. Then assign a static IP address to the receiver via reciever menu on yourTV screen
2. Open MLDenon plug-in and select TC/PIP option
3. Assign same IP address in plug-in that you assigned in step 1 above to the Denon receiver
4. Put IP Port = 23
5. Put IP Slot = 0
6. Shut down and Re-start ML Server

If you open the MLDenon plug-in now, you should see the variables (power etc) populate. If you don't your settings are not correct. Try using some ML commands to see if the receiver responds.

benny32
Member
Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 10:37 pm
Contact:

Re: 5308 with GC100

Postby benny32 » Thu Dec 03, 2009 11:46 pm

Bingo, had all of that set initially but missed the IP Slot setting. You sir, are a life saver.

Edit - Ok not quite there I guess. The variables seem to be populating but the only command I have been able to get to work so far is the Standby command. Here's a quick log output from when I try to change the Input from TV to DVD. It even seems to be successful but nothing happens on the 5308. The other weird thing is when I put it in Standby and power it back on manually the variable doesn't update in the plugin until I completely restart the server.


12/3/2009 11:08:35 PM System SetVariable MLDenon_001_Power=On
12/3/2009 11:08:35 PM System SetVariable MLDenon_001_Zone_Main_Volume=11
12/3/2009 11:08:35 PM System SetVariable MLDenon_001_Zone_Main_Volume_Max=81
12/3/2009 11:08:36 PM System SetVariable MLDenon_001_Zone_Main_Mute=Off
12/3/2009 11:08:36 PM System SetVariable MLDenon_001_Zone_1_InputSource=TV/CBL
12/3/2009 11:08:36 PM System SetVariable MLDenon_001_Zone_Main_InputSource=TV/CBL
12/3/2009 11:08:36 PM System SetVariable MLDenon_001_VideoSelectMode=SOURCE
12/3/2009 11:08:36 PM System SetVariable MLDenon_001_Zone_1_Power=On
12/3/2009 11:08:37 PM System SetVariable MLDenon_001_Zone_Main_Power=On
12/3/2009 11:08:37 PM System SetVariable MLDenon_001_FL_Volume=25
12/3/2009 11:08:37 PM System SetVariable MLDenon_001_FR_Volume=25
12/3/2009 11:08:37 PM System SetVariable MLDenon_001_FC_Volume=58
12/3/2009 11:08:37 PM System SetVariable MLDenon_001_SL_Volume=50
12/3/2009 11:08:37 PM System SetVariable MLDenon_001_SR_Volume=33
12/3/2009 11:08:37 PM System SetVariable MLDenon_001_RL_Volume=46
12/3/2009 11:08:37 PM System SetVariable MLDenon_001_RR_Volume=42
12/3/2009 11:08:37 PM System SetVariable MLDenon_001_RC_Volume=46
12/3/2009 11:08:37 PM System SetVariable MLDenon_001_Zone_Main_Volume_Max=81
12/3/2009 11:08:38 PM System SetVariable MLDenon_001_Zone_2_Mute=Off
12/3/2009 11:08:38 PM System SetVariable MLDenon_001_Zone_3_Volume=SOURCE
12/3/2009 11:08:38 PM System SetVariable MLDenon_001_Zone_3_Volume=34
12/3/2009 11:08:38 PM System SetVariable MLDenon_001_Zone_3_Power=Off
12/3/2009 11:08:38 PM System SetVariable MLDenon_001_VideoSelectMode=SOURCE
12/3/2009 11:08:38 PM System SetVariable MLDenon_001_Zone_3_Mute=Off
12/3/2009 11:08:39 PM System SetVariable MLDenon_001_Zone_3_Volume=SOURCE
12/3/2009 11:08:39 PM System SetVariable MLDenon_001_VideoSelectMode=SOURCE
12/3/2009 11:08:39 PM System SetVariable MLDenon_001_VideoSelectMode=SOURCE
12/3/2009 11:08:39 PM System SetVariable MLDenon_001_InputMode=AUTO
12/3/2009 11:08:40 PM System SetVariable MLDenon_001_SurroundMode=DOLBY DIGITAL
12/3/2009 11:08:40 PM System SetVariable MLDenon_001_PS_=CINEMA EQ.OFF
12/3/2009 11:08:41 PM System SetVariable CurrentDate=12/3/2009 11:08:41 PM
12/3/2009 11:09:20 PM Push [1] myClient1 AV.AVR001|VideoSelect~DVD
12/3/2009 11:09:20 PM Pop [1] myClient1 AV.AVR001|VideoSelect~DVD
12/3/2009 11:09:20 PM Processing (1) myClient1 AV.AVR001|VideoSelect~DVD
12/3/2009 11:09:20 PM Family myClient1 Family: AV
12/3/2009 11:09:20 PM Family myClient1 Alias: AVR001
12/3/2009 11:09:20 PM Family MLDenon Aliases: 001~AVR001
12/3/2009 11:09:20 PM Family myClient1 Family command: AV.AVR001
12/3/2009 11:09:20 PM Family myClient1 Translated to MLDenon|VideoSelect~DVD~AVR001

pete_auto
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 387
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 6:50 pm
Contact:

Re: 5308 with GC100

Postby pete_auto » Fri Dec 04, 2009 4:17 pm

If the variables are populating, then I am wondering if 5308 has different syntax (although i doubt). I have the model 3808, so not sure if anything else needs to be done for 5308.

You should try completely powering off the Denon Receiver (i.e. remove power from ooutlet), then re-start. This will reboot the receiver. i know I have solved such issues in the past by doing that.

benny32
Member
Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 10:37 pm
Contact:

Re: 5308 with GC100

Postby benny32 » Sat Dec 05, 2009 11:52 am

I unplugged the receiver and let it sit for about 30 minutes and then restarted the receiver and the Mainlobby server. Unfortunately I get the same thing, the variables for the main zone fill in correctly but when I try to change the input the command fires successfully but nothing happens on the receiver. Again, the standby command works so I know there is some kind of link going on but it's like these new 5308 (have the newest rev) just isn't compatible with the Denon plugin. Any dev's care to prove me wrong? Or anyone else out there that has the newest rev and has this working?


Return to “Denon”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest