The CX777ES AutoPlay bug is your FRIEND (really!)

Tell others how you're using DVDLobby
User avatar
mosleyh
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 413
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 11:55 am
Location: Charlotte, NC
Contact:

The CX777ES AutoPlay bug is your FRIEND (really!)

Postby mosleyh » Tue Aug 30, 2005 5:56 pm

I've found a way to use the autoplay bug as part of my system start routine.

Here's what I did:

1. Recorded how long it takes the CX777es to go from POWER OFF to playing disc #1

2. Recorded how long it takes my projector to go from POWER OFF, past the startup screen to actually projecting video

3. Set up my power-up macro with delays so that the dvd in slot 1 starts just as the projector becomes active

4. Got a copy of the THX demo disc from ebay ( it appears to be one that they gave out at CES (?))

5. Using DVD Shrink, reauthored the disc, stripping out all menus and all content except my favorite THX trailer (jetpack - you know the one :) ), and stripped out the Dolby Digital soundtrack, leaving only DTS. Burned a DVD and put it in slot #1

6. Timed the whole process including the trailer, and put in the appropriate MLPause and CX777ES stop command so that it stops right after "The Audience is Listening" shows on the screen.

So now, when my system is powered up, the THX trailer plays (with DTS sound), and then the 777 stops. ( and the dvdLobby scene comes up on the tablet PC along the way, of course)

It occurs to me that you could (with the proper authoring software) add a STOP to the end of the DVD to eliminate the last PAUSE/STOP, or create a DVD that loops - of anything - slides, clips, etc. so that there's something being shown while you're choosing a DVD. Either of those would be preferable, since, as it stands, if I (or my wife, more likely) get sick of that trailer, I'll have to re-time the last part.

rmcclain
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2004 11:36 am
Contact:

Postby rmcclain » Thu Dec 15, 2005 2:41 pm

What software do you use to burn the dvd's? Any special features you need to activate for the changer to play them? I have the changer loaded with my kids dvd's and a friend of mine tried to burn some copies as backups (kids are 2, 5 and 7, enough said huh) using DVDXcopy platnum. The copies will not play in anything other than a computer. The dvd changer does not recognize them, nor does an older apex player upstairs. I want copies that play so they can use them upstairs or in the van, and as backups for when the 2 year old gets in the changer and ruins more discs. He has already ruined several. Any help on how to burn a disc readable in the CX777es would be great! Thanks!

Rance

User avatar
jjjukebox
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1024
Joined: Sat May 22, 2004 9:54 pm
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Postby jjjukebox » Fri Dec 16, 2005 12:33 am

DVDShrink & AnyDVD
J.J. Jukebox
Member

windrockwater
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 193
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 11:01 am
Contact:

Postby windrockwater » Mon Jul 07, 2008 1:05 pm

Mosley, thats very cool and creative. Makes great sense. It may slow up the Dvd lobby startup a little as it loads and plays the first DVD? But i love the idea. You can pretty much make a DVD of anything now...slides, music, DTS animated logo with the loud piano, etc.

The Metal Gear Solid PS3 game has a nice Dolby Digital intro animation with good surround sound....that could make a nice dvd loading screen.


Return to “How are you using DVDLobby?”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest