alternative open screen for dvdlobby

Tell others how you're using DVDLobby
mtntrx
New Member
New Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 7:35 pm
Contact:

alternative open screen for dvdlobby

Postby mtntrx » Wed Apr 21, 2004 8:14 pm

I got a little tired of seeing Adaptation every time I pulled
up dvdlobby. Here is my alternative.

User avatar
jrfuda
Expert
Expert
Posts: 943
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 5:59 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX, USA
Contact:

Postby jrfuda » Wed Apr 21, 2004 8:42 pm

Great idea!

How did you get it to show a different thumbnail and image?

User avatar
mcascio
Founder
Founder
Posts: 8270
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Kenosha, Wi
Contact:

Postby mcascio » Wed Apr 21, 2004 8:42 pm

Nice Idea mtntrx!

Way to think out of the box. :)
Mario Cascio
Cinemar, Inc.
http://www.cinemaronline.com

User avatar
DavidL
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 11071
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact:

Postby DavidL » Wed Apr 21, 2004 8:51 pm

Possibly by creating a "movie" called "A"? and using the navigation image as the coverart?

User avatar
jrfuda
Expert
Expert
Posts: 943
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 5:59 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX, USA
Contact:

Postby jrfuda » Wed Apr 21, 2004 8:56 pm

Smooth, I figured that much :) , but was curious how he got the thumbnail and coverart to be different... All my DVDs show the same coverart and thumbnail. Are the thumbs a seperate file?

mtntrx
New Member
New Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 7:35 pm
Contact:

Postby mtntrx » Wed Apr 21, 2004 9:37 pm

What I did:

1) while adding a movie called Welcome (sort title: A), did the normal "click the movie cover to change the image", added image.
2) made sure something was in the ID field; 123456789 should work
3) saved it
4) went to MLServer/plugins/dvdimages, found the thumbnail for the image. it was under 123456789f.ppc.jpg
5) edited the image in a graphic program, making sure to leave it the same exact size

User avatar
jrfuda
Expert
Expert
Posts: 943
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 5:59 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX, USA
Contact:

Postby jrfuda » Wed Apr 21, 2004 11:45 pm

Thanks! I never realized that the thumbnail and coverart were two different images.

User avatar
gregoryx
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 6599
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2003 10:15 pm
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Contact:

Postby gregoryx » Thu Apr 22, 2004 1:17 am

On a different question: where are you getting the temp info?

ktkkf
Member
Member
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2004 2:53 pm
Location: (NH) Live Free Or Die (NH)
Contact:

Postby ktkkf » Thu Apr 22, 2004 8:03 am

Nice idea mtntrx!

I had the same problem. I have an AC/DC DVD so everytime I loaded DVDLobby I had a picture of Angus Young with horns on the TV. Not exactly what everyone needs to see. I "solved" the problem by having my remote issue a cursor down after DVDLobby loads but your idea is much nicer.

By the way, it looks like you have not loaded the new version of DVDLobby TV software. The new version is "skin-able" and there were a few genres added like recently added, most viewed, etc.

Thanks again.
My name is Kevin. I am a Lobby addict.

mtntrx
New Member
New Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 7:35 pm
Contact:

Temperature info

Postby mtntrx » Thu Apr 22, 2004 9:24 am

gregoryx wrote:On a different question: where are you getting the temp info?


It's pretty ugly. Basically it is a perl script that hits a local website
and grabs the data. Then, it makes one big jpg from a bunch of
digit jpgs. I thought the moon phase was kinda cool. In that image
the moon is new so you can barely see it.

User avatar
DavidL
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 11071
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact:

Postby DavidL » Thu Apr 22, 2004 6:01 pm

gregoryx,
don't worry, the MLHS 2 way plugin lets you show the weather in MainLobby that Homeseer grabs from any one of several weather scripts, or from your own weather station.

User avatar
gregoryx
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 6599
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2003 10:15 pm
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Contact:

Postby gregoryx » Thu Apr 22, 2004 6:17 pm

Bring it!

dbarker
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 183
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 1:07 pm
Contact:

Postby dbarker » Fri Dec 10, 2004 10:13 pm

ok i have to ask this question here because mtntrx got it started.

i have a deep need to seperate the two image files
i need to be able to use one image file for the cover and a different one for the thumbnail.
i know that dvdlobby changes the name of the cover file and creates a new thumbnail file based on the cover file. i need to be able to specify the thumbnail file and keep it from changing automaticaly when i change the cover file.
i want to use a different type of file for the cover, not jpg

anybody have any ideas?

User avatar
gregoryx
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 6599
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2003 10:15 pm
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Contact:

Postby gregoryx » Sat Dec 11, 2004 12:56 am

For this same view? or another DVD Lobby view? Or another purpose?

dbarker
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 183
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 1:07 pm
Contact:

Postby dbarker » Sat Dec 11, 2004 7:40 am

been trying for months to change the dvdlobby layout to appear and function the way i want it to. using a flash file for the large image and a jpg or other type for the thumbnail would help do some of it. but dvdlobby uses the front image file to create the thumbnail and therefore the thumbnail takes on the same properties.


Return to “How are you using DVDLobby?”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest