Reloading MLServer machine with Windows 7

Post here issues and solutions that relate to MainLobby Server 3
Blade
Expert
Expert
Posts: 760
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2004 9:38 pm
Location: Lucan, Ontario
Contact:

Reloading MLServer machine with Windows 7

Postby Blade » Sat Sep 11, 2010 11:42 am

I am planning to reload my MLServer machine with Windows 7 this week.
I would like to hear from anyone that has done this and what steps need to be taken to not lose any information.

I am wondering if I can take a complete backup of my MLServer folder and then once Windows 7 is loaded, install MLServer and then replace the MLServer folder with my backup and everything would be back to normal.

I would appreciate some feedback on this.
Thx

User avatar
mcascio
Founder
Founder
Posts: 8270
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Kenosha, Wi
Contact:

Re: Reloading MLServer machine with Windows 7

Postby mcascio » Sat Sep 11, 2010 1:35 pm

You'll also want to run the Registry backup from MLServer's menu. That'll help restore licensing and any registry settings that the plugins have stored.
Mario Cascio
Cinemar, Inc.
http://www.cinemaronline.com

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Reloading MLServer machine with Windows 7

Postby CinemarDave » Sat Sep 11, 2010 2:46 pm

Like Mario said. Also remember that before you install any Cinemar software you turn off UAC in the Control Panel and reboot the PC. As long as you do that you will not have any problems. Make a complete backup of your old MLServer folder so that you do not lose any data or images. A lot of people forget to save the images folder and then they lose all their music and movies cover art.

Blade
Expert
Expert
Posts: 760
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2004 9:38 pm
Location: Lucan, Ontario
Contact:

Re: Reloading MLServer machine with Windows 7

Postby Blade » Sun Sep 12, 2010 9:26 am

Thx guys.
I did not know about the registry backup :)

I always turn off UAC. It is so annoying

Blade
Expert
Expert
Posts: 760
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2004 9:38 pm
Location: Lucan, Ontario
Contact:

Re: Reloading MLServer machine with Windows 7

Postby Blade » Sat Sep 18, 2010 9:17 pm

I reloaded my machine with Windows 7.
Everything went fine except for the Registry export in MLServer. It seems to not format some things correctly and therefore will not correctly import into the registry because of it.
It took some time to play with it in order to get all of the info back in the registry correctly and get things working.

User avatar
DaveB
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 3143
Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 10:57 pm
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Contact:

Re: Reloading MLServer machine with Windows 7

Postby DaveB » Sun Sep 19, 2010 10:38 am

Blade - I went down that path as well, and in the end, I reloaded everything then restored just the interfaces and dataset. I was having major issues with DLL registration, which caused very strange issues with Cinemar. I had to (with the assisrance of Dave) restore all of my licensing. My system has been rock solid ever since.
Thanks!

Dave Bruner
:shock:

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Reloading MLServer machine with Windows 7

Postby CinemarDave » Sun Sep 19, 2010 12:24 pm

Blade can you elaborate? As long as UAC is turned off there should be no issues importing the registry.

Blade
Expert
Expert
Posts: 760
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2004 9:38 pm
Location: Lucan, Ontario
Contact:

Re: Reloading MLServer machine with Windows 7

Postby Blade » Sun Sep 19, 2010 2:19 pm

UAC is turned off.
It was the export that did not look right. It imported some things but others did not import.
I put some of the entries into a separate .reg file and then they imported ok. I think some of the exported entries were not formatted correctly.

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Reloading MLServer machine with Windows 7

Postby CinemarDave » Sun Sep 19, 2010 2:21 pm

Interesting since the export happens via a RegEdit /e command.


Return to “MLServer 3”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest