“Error accessing the OLE registry” on ML Start

Post in this thread issues and solution you find with the MainLobby 3 Client
kingdaddy
Expert
Expert
Posts: 708
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 2:06 pm
Contact:

“Error accessing the OLE registry” on ML Start

Postby kingdaddy » Mon Aug 15, 2011 8:06 pm

Every time I try to open Main Lobby I get the “Error accessing the OLE registry” pop-up and ML will not start, this came out of the blue, one day it works fine then next day I get this error and nothing I’ve tried will open ML. Any ideas of what I can do? Will reinstalling ML lose all my custom screens? I think my version is ML3.0.557


Verbose + tracing (don’t know what this means, ..Tracing)=
8/15/2011 7:59:17 PM System SetVariable CurrentDate=8/15/2011 7:59:17 PM
8/15/2011 7:59:17 PM System SetVariable CurrentDaySecs=71957
8/15/2011 7:59:17 PM System SetVariable CurrentSecond=17
8/15/2011 7:59:17 PM System SetVariable CurrentHMSMil=19:59:17
8/15/2011 7:59:17 PM System SetVariable CurrentHMS=07:59:17
8/15/2011 7:59:17 PM System SetVariable CurrentHMSMilAlt=19:59:17
8/15/2011 7:59:17 PM System SetVariable CurrentHMSAlt=7:59:17
8/15/2011 7:59:32 PM System SetVariable CurrentDate=8/15/2011 7:59:32 PM
8/15/2011 7:59:32 PM System SetVariable CurrentDaySecs=71972
8/15/2011 7:59:32 PM System SetVariable CurrentSecond=32
8/15/2011 7:59:32 PM System SetVariable CurrentHMSMil=19:59:32
8/15/2011 7:59:32 PM System SetVariable CurrentHMS=07:59:32
8/15/2011 7:59:32 PM System SetVariable CurrentHMSMilAlt=19:59:32
8/15/2011 7:59:32 PM System SetVariable CurrentHMSAlt=7:59:32
8/15/2011 7:59:47 PM System SetVariable CurrentDate=8/15/2011 7:59:47 PM
8/15/2011 7:59:47 PM System SetVariable CurrentDaySecs=71987
8/15/2011 7:59:47 PM System SetVariable CurrentSecond=47
8/15/2011 7:59:47 PM System SetVariable CurrentHMSMil=19:59:47
8/15/2011 7:59:47 PM System SetVariable CurrentHMS=07:59:47
8/15/2011 7:59:47 PM System SetVariable CurrentHMSMilAlt=19:59:47
8/15/2011 7:59:47 PM System SetVariable CurrentHMSAlt=7:59:47
8/15/2011 8:00:02 PM System SetVariable CurrentDate=8/15/2011 8:00:02 PM
8/15/2011 8:00:02 PM System SetVariable CurrentDaySecs=72002

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: “Error accessing the OLE registry” on ML Start

Postby CinemarDave » Mon Aug 15, 2011 10:55 pm

If you get the ole error every time you start it suggest the UAC is turned on and the MainLobby exe cannot write to the windows\system32\macromed\flash folder. UAC must be turned off.

kingdaddy
Expert
Expert
Posts: 708
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 2:06 pm
Contact:

Re: “Error accessing the OLE registry” on ML Start

Postby kingdaddy » Tue Aug 16, 2011 7:46 am

What is UAC and how do I turn it off?

kingdaddy
Expert
Expert
Posts: 708
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 2:06 pm
Contact:

Re: “Error accessing the OLE registry” on ML Start

Postby kingdaddy » Tue Aug 16, 2011 10:26 am

OK, looked it up UAC is User Account Control, my next question is do i turn it off from the registry or just locally from the properties of ML.

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: “Error accessing the OLE registry” on ML Start

Postby CinemarDave » Tue Aug 16, 2011 10:41 am

Go into the control panel and you will see a "User Accounts" applet. From there you will see a "Change User Account Control Settings" option. From there you'll see a slider. Slide it all the way to the bottom to "Never Notify" to turn off UAC.

kingdaddy
Expert
Expert
Posts: 708
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 2:06 pm
Contact:

Re: “Error accessing the OLE registry” on ML Start

Postby kingdaddy » Tue Aug 16, 2011 12:04 pm

I'm running XP-Pro and there is no slider or anything other then my account log-In name that is already set to Admin.

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: “Error accessing the OLE registry” on ML Start

Postby CinemarDave » Tue Aug 16, 2011 12:07 pm

Then UAC is not an issue for you. However, I still believe the issue is that you cannot write to the system32\macromed\flash folder. Can you copy files there manually? Can you delete the flash.ocx file that is there?

kingdaddy
Expert
Expert
Posts: 708
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 2:06 pm
Contact:

Re: “Error accessing the OLE registry” on ML Start

Postby kingdaddy » Tue Aug 16, 2011 12:22 pm

I'll try that when I get home, however I think you are right about UAC. My air panel will not log-on or even recognize my desktop anymore and this all happened at the same time. I think there was a Windows security update that I installed last week but I did not notice the problem for a few days after it was installed, strange. If I Google the Error I posted all the responses are about UAC in some form or another.

kingdaddy
Expert
Expert
Posts: 708
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 2:06 pm
Contact:

Re: “Error accessing the OLE registry” on ML Start

Postby kingdaddy » Tue Aug 16, 2011 6:56 pm

I can cut and past to the macromed\flash folder. I cut the Flash/ocx file and pasted it to my desktop then verified it was missing from the orignal folder, then pasted it back.

I'm out of ideas, I've tried everyting I can withUAC, only thing is that I cant get access to local security settings in admin tools, says its not there, screen shot below.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: “Error accessing the OLE registry” on ML Start

Postby CinemarDave » Tue Aug 16, 2011 7:02 pm

Certainly a permissions issue. Are you logged in as a member of the "Administrators" group? Do you have a local copy of XP SP3? You could try re-installing SP3.

kingdaddy
Expert
Expert
Posts: 708
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 2:06 pm
Contact:

Re: “Error accessing the OLE registry” on ML Start

Postby kingdaddy » Tue Aug 16, 2011 7:07 pm

I'm running SP2, removed SP3 a long time ago due to it killing my RDP hack. The Secpol.msc file is there in system 32 folder and full access is checked but it still wont work.

kingdaddy
Expert
Expert
Posts: 708
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 2:06 pm
Contact:

Re: “Error accessing the OLE registry” on ML Start

Postby kingdaddy » Thu Aug 18, 2011 11:00 am

Had to reinstall ML3 in a new folder to get it to work, but still dont have the RDP (concurrent sessions) working. Cant get into secpol.msc like I used to since Ml stoped working.

kingdaddy
Expert
Expert
Posts: 708
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 2:06 pm
Contact:

Re: “Error accessing the OLE registry” on ML Start

Postby kingdaddy » Sun Aug 21, 2011 11:40 am

The old termsrv.dll file for the RDP hack (concurrent sessions) for some reason no longer works, I had to download a new termsrv.dll designed to work with XP-SP3 for some reason but all works now.

The new file can be found here if anyone else has this problem.
http://www.howtechnews.com/files/termsrv_sp3.htm


Return to “MainLobby 3 Client”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest