How to wake up a monitor in power save mode remotely?

Post in this thread issues and solution you find with the MainLobby 3 Client
User avatar
simonmason
Expert
Expert
Posts: 855
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 9:06 pm
Contact:

How to wake up a monitor in power save mode remotely?

Postby simonmason » Thu Nov 19, 2009 3:57 pm

My touchscreens are connected to PC's running Windows XP. I have them setup to activate the screensaver and then after a while go into powersave mode. I was wondering if anyone had any ideas how to wake them remotely from ML Server? I tried sending a scene change but that doesn't do it. I would need to simulate a mouse or keyboard action on the PC? Perhaps a small utility that performs a mouse click and then call it from ML Server?
Simon D. S. Mason

User avatar
jjjukebox
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1024
Joined: Sat May 22, 2004 9:54 pm
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Re: How to wake up a monitor in power save mode remotely?

Postby jjjukebox » Thu Nov 19, 2009 4:03 pm

Try the MLWindowsFunction commands or Girder
J.J. Jukebox
Member

User avatar
DavidL
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 11071
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact:

Re: How to wake up a monitor in power save mode remotely?

Postby DavidL » Thu Nov 19, 2009 6:44 pm

MLWMI

User avatar
simonmason
Expert
Expert
Posts: 855
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 9:06 pm
Contact:

Re: How to wake up a monitor in power save mode remotely?

Postby simonmason » Thu Nov 19, 2009 7:27 pm

How do you install the MLWindows Functions? The Installation Assistant tells me I have to go to the registered user web site to download it? Thanks.
Simon D. S. Mason

User avatar
jjjukebox
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1024
Joined: Sat May 22, 2004 9:54 pm
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Re: How to wake up a monitor in power save mode remotely?

Postby jjjukebox » Thu Nov 19, 2009 10:25 pm

I believe MLWindowsFunction comes with MLServer. Check your plugin tab in MLServer.
J.J. Jukebox

Member

User avatar
simonmason
Expert
Expert
Posts: 855
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 9:06 pm
Contact:

Re: How to wake up a monitor in power save mode remotely?

Postby simonmason » Wed Nov 25, 2009 7:31 pm

Is MLWindowsFunction a client only command? I can't see anyway to specify a clientname so I assume you cannot run it from the server? I am trying to get the server to wake up the client on another machine and turn the monitor on. Thanks.
Simon D. S. Mason

User avatar
simonmason
Expert
Expert
Posts: 855
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 9:06 pm
Contact:

Re: How to wake up a monitor in power save mode remotely?

Postby simonmason » Sat Nov 20, 2010 1:14 pm

I have just come back to this issue - wanting to wake up my touchscreens from the powersave mode remotely. I am triggering this by motion detectors in the area of the touchscreen. MLWindowsFunction clearly only works on the server. So I downloaded Girder and I see that there is an extension called monitor APM that appears to wake up the monitor from the powersave mode. I am trying to figure out how to use Girder but if anyone has any pointers on how to trigger Girder from MainLobby it would be appreciated. Thanks.
Simon D. S. Mason

User avatar
mcascio
Founder
Founder
Posts: 8270
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Kenosha, Wi
Contact:

Re: How to wake up a monitor in power save mode remotely?

Postby mcascio » Mon Nov 22, 2010 10:55 am

Try passing command line options to Girder.exe using MLFileOpen.
Mario Cascio
Cinemar, Inc.
http://www.cinemaronline.com

User avatar
simonmason
Expert
Expert
Posts: 855
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 9:06 pm
Contact:

Re: How to wake up a monitor in power save mode remotely?

Postby simonmason » Mon Nov 22, 2010 9:22 pm

Thanks for the pointer. I created a Girder script and also enabled it from the command line. In order to run a girder event you have to use the event.exe in the girder directory. I can run the command "event monitoroff" on the touchscreen and it works.

However, when I issue the following command I get an error message (below) on the target computer. This message means it is not getting the command "monitoroff" as a parameter - it is the message you get when running event.exe with no parameters. I also tried making "C:\Program Files\Promixis\Girder5\event monitoroff" a variable but this didn't make any difference. I also tried with event.exe instead of event and this did not work either.

What am I missing? Thanks.

MLServeCmd.MLCmd|MLCommand~laptop~MLFileOpen|C:\Program Files\Promixis\Girder5\event~monitoroff

Girder 5 Event Client 1.0b
Copyright 2002,2003,2004,2005 (c) Promixis, LLC

-[Usage]------------------------------------------------------------------------

event <eventstring> [device=18] [payload1] [payload2] [payload3] [-verbose]

-[Example]----------------------------------------------------------------------

To simply send an event without any windows opening do this:

event hello

Note: Event.exe will only work when used from the same user account as Girder.
if you need to trigger events in Girder from a different account use ievent.exe









Press [enter] to exit.
Simon D. S. Mason

User avatar
simonmason
Expert
Expert
Posts: 855
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 9:06 pm
Contact:

Re: How to wake up a monitor in power save mode remotely?

Postby simonmason » Thu Nov 25, 2010 7:29 am

Bump - I tried creating a batch file and calling it this way but this didn't work either. The batch file runs locally but not when called by MainLobby. How do you pass parameters to an application you are calling through MLFileOpen? Thanks
Simon D. S. Mason

User avatar
DavidL
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 11071
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact:

Re: How to wake up a monitor in power save mode remotely?

Postby DavidL » Thu Nov 25, 2010 8:17 am

Have you tried MLWMI plugin? It was designed to do this. Some PCs don't respond well though, from what I have seen.

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: How to wake up a monitor in power save mode remotely?

Postby CinemarDave » Thu Nov 25, 2010 5:00 pm

If you were to install the latest version of the ClientSvc Plugin and Agents you would then be able to issue the following commands

Sys.<<Alias>>|Send~Monitor~Off

and

Sys.<<Alias>>|Send~Monitor~On

User avatar
simonmason
Expert
Expert
Posts: 855
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 9:06 pm
Contact:

Re: How to wake up a monitor in power save mode remotely?

Postby simonmason » Fri Nov 26, 2010 7:54 am

Thanks, I will try these out. Am I to assume that MLFileOpen does not support parameters?
Simon D. S. Mason

User avatar
simonmason
Expert
Expert
Posts: 855
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 9:06 pm
Contact:

Re: How to wake up a monitor in power save mode remotely?

Postby simonmason » Sat Dec 04, 2010 9:41 am

I have been playing with the mlwmi plugin and it appears to work. I have noticed that the screensaver off command does crash the MainLobby client and the mlwmi client. So I have stopped using this command! The monitor on and off command seems to work but I am still testing this. Any thoughts on the screensaver off command? Thanks.

P.S. I can't test mlclientsvc as I have previously played with this plugin under trial and now it is expired. As I have to license either mlwmi or mlclientsvc - perhaps you can recommend which approach is better? Thanks.
Simon D. S. Mason

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: How to wake up a monitor in power save mode remotely?

Postby CinemarDave » Sat Dec 04, 2010 12:06 pm

If, and this holds true for everyone, you ever time out on a 30 day evaluation of our software but want to continue to test it after the timeout all you have to do is send me an email asking for an extension. I'll send you back a license key that, once activated, will extend your eval period. It is as simple as that.

I would suggest giving the MLClientSvc plugin a try because that plugin is guaranteed to be fully upgraded to the 4.0 MLServer. I'm not sure how much of the WMI plugin will or can be upgraded.


Return to “MainLobby 3 Client”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest