VIDEO STORM COMMANDS

User avatar
mcascio
Founder
Founder
Posts: 8270
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Kenosha, Wi
Contact:

Postby mcascio » Mon Feb 26, 2007 2:59 pm

No prob. The latest documentation should now be up to date so hopefully no one else will run into the same problem.
Mario Cascio
Cinemar, Inc.
http://www.cinemaronline.com

User avatar
VinceC
Member
Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 8:25 am
Contact:

Postby VinceC » Fri May 25, 2007 10:54 am

Hi,

I am having a new problem with the Videostorm plugin on a fresh installation of mainlobby.

MLServer 3.0.224
MLMatrixSwitcher version 1.0.42
MLVideoStorm 1.0.0.65

I keep getting back garbage when i request status. When i send a command to switch, it works sometimes, but not all the time. and the received commands that you see in the logs below are from me pressing the buttons on the front panel.

Any ideas what might be wrong? I tried several different serial cables, but had the same results.

[code]
1 5/24/2007 6:15:02 PM S STAT
1 5/24/2007 6:15:03 PM R ÓÔÁÔ

User avatar
mcascio
Founder
Founder
Posts: 8270
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Kenosha, Wi
Contact:

Postby mcascio » Fri May 25, 2007 10:58 am

Vince,

We'll look into.. Which videostorm are you using?
Mario Cascio

Cinemar, Inc.

http://www.cinemaronline.com

User avatar
VinceC
Member
Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 8:25 am
Contact:

Postby VinceC » Fri May 25, 2007 1:14 pm

crm84 with the hd card.

normally when junk comes back like that i would suspect a baud rate problem, but feedback is working from the frontpanel buttons, and it recieves my switching commands sometimes.

I am using a USB to Serial adapter which may be the problem, however other serial devices, such as the elo touchscreen work fine on it. The same videostorm unit was working previously on a different mainlobby server. Very strange. I will continue to troubleshoot it, if you have any ideas, let me know. Thanks!

-Vince

User avatar
mcascio
Founder
Founder
Posts: 8270
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Kenosha, Wi
Contact:

Postby mcascio » Fri May 25, 2007 1:40 pm

Perhaps you need to configure the baud rate for your usb > serial adapter?
Mario Cascio

Cinemar, Inc.

http://www.cinemaronline.com

User avatar
VinceC
Member
Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 8:25 am
Contact:

Postby VinceC » Tue Jun 05, 2007 12:53 pm

Just wanted to post an update in case anyone else has this problem in the future.

After not having any luck with thi sbrand of USB -> serial we switched to a different model.

We picked up a Radioshack USB -> serial adapter to test with. The is the exact same one we are using on a different project to control the same model video storm.

Now both hardware configurations are the same, but we were still having issues.

The Plugin works most of the time. On a successful command I will see this in the log:

Code: Select all

1   6/5/2007 1:16:29 PM   S   V14
1   6/5/2007 1:16:29 PM   R   V14
1   6/5/2007 1:16:29 PM   R   OK
1   6/5/2007 1:16:33 PM   S   V15
1   6/5/2007 1:16:33 PM   R   V15
1   6/5/2007 1:16:33 PM   R   OK
1   6/5/2007 1:16:42 PM   S   V16
1   6/5/2007 1:16:42 PM   R   V16
1   6/5/2007 1:16:42 PM   R   OK



But on times when the switcher does not switch (but I see all of the commands in the MLServer logs) this is what is in the videostorm log:

Code: Select all

1   6/5/2007 1:16:14 PM   S   V14
1   6/5/2007 1:16:14 PM   R   AAV14
1   6/5/2007 1:16:14 PM   R   Video Storm LLC CRM switch

1   6/5/2007 1:16:14 PM   R   
1   6/5/2007 1:16:14 PM   R   V21
1   6/5/2007 1:16:14 PM   R   V31
1   6/5/2007 1:16:14 PM   R   V41
1   6/5/2007 1:16:14 PM   R   A11D
1   6/5/2007 1:16:14 PM   R   A21D
1   6/5/2007 1:16:14 PM   R   A31D
1   6/5/2007 1:16:14 PM   R   A41D
1   6/5/2007 1:16:14 PM   R   H1
1   6/5/2007 1:16:14 PM   R   C2F
1   6/5/2007 1:16:14 PM   R   C3T
1   6/5/2007 1:16:14 PM   R   C4F
1   6/5/2007 1:16:14 PM   R   C5F


To make the problem even stranger, When I switch inputs from within the plugin properties panel, it works perfectly every time.

After trying all sorts of things to get it work I finally figured out a solution.

The solution was to put:
MLServeCmd.MLPause|.2
between the serial commands. (I was sending 3 serial commands in my macro, one to change input on the tv, one for VS video switch, and one for VS audio switch.
When I tried to send the commands all in a row it would fail, but with just a slight delay between them it works fine.

As a general rule of thumb should I always be adding small pauses to my macros, or are the plugins and command queue supposed to account for this automatically?

User avatar
bhiga
Expert
Expert
Posts: 854
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 10:28 pm
Location: San Jose, CA
Contact:

Postby bhiga » Tue Jun 05, 2007 1:46 pm

You should add your own pauses when they're necessary.
Generally speaking the plug-ins don't "block" until next-ready.
In practice, that's actually a good thing, because if a particular device had a long "turnaround time" then it'd slow everything down.

It's mostly a problem with one-way control, as the plug-in doesn't know whether the previous command was successful.

In my macros, I try to "round-robin" wherever possible. This gives each device a little bit of time to finish without adding manual waits that slow down the entire process.

For example, I'll do something like (these are mostly macros)

Code: Select all

Projector.PowerOn
Receiver.PowerOn
Scaler.PowerOn
Projector.Component
Receiver.VDP
Scaler.Component1


which is far faster than handling things one-by-one and waiting (the following "wastes" a total of 3 seconds)

Code: Select all

Projector.PowerOn
MLPause|2
Projector.Component
Receiver.PowerOn
MLPause|0.5
Receiver.VDP
Scaler.PowerOn
MLPause|0.5
Scaler.Component1
- Brandon
My MainLobby stuff (plug-ins, screenshots, etc)

User avatar
mcascio
Founder
Founder
Posts: 8270
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Kenosha, Wi
Contact:

Postby mcascio » Wed Jun 06, 2007 11:06 am

We just posted an update to the Videostorm driver that adds a que. So should the commands come in to fast they will automatically be delayed to prevent any issues for the user.
Mario Cascio

Cinemar, Inc.

http://www.cinemaronline.com

User avatar
bhiga
Expert
Expert
Posts: 854
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 10:28 pm
Location: San Jose, CA
Contact:

Postby bhiga » Wed Jun 06, 2007 6:23 pm

Excellent! That strategy works best, because it won't slow things down if it doesn't need to, but it will if it has to. :)
- Brandon

My MainLobby stuff (plug-ins, screenshots, etc)


Return to “Video Storm”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest