CMX1616V Help

rkerdza
New Member
New Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 1:19 pm
Contact:

CMX1616V Help

Postby rkerdza » Mon Mar 08, 2010 3:19 pm

Does the PlugIn for the CRM88 also work with the CMX1616? I have been trying to get it to work in the PlugIns section of MLServer, but it doesn't seem to do anything other than turn the unit or the front panel on or off.

I also keep getting runtime errors 13 and 440.

Any suggestions?

User avatar
mcascio
Founder
Founder
Posts: 8270
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Kenosha, Wi
Contact:

Re: CMX1616V Help

Postby mcascio » Mon Mar 08, 2010 5:38 pm

There is a newer MLMatrixSwitcher family and drivers for the CMX1616V that are available through the Installation Assistant or if you purchased the drivers they would be available from the shopping cart.

The newer version specifically allows you to select the CMX1616v.
Mario Cascio
Cinemar, Inc.
http://www.cinemaronline.com

rkerdza
New Member
New Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 1:19 pm
Contact:

Re: CMX1616V Help

Postby rkerdza » Tue Mar 23, 2010 2:44 pm

OK. Got it. No more runtime errors, on/off works, but when trying to use a switch command, I receive a "failed to translate command into a valid switch command" error in MLServer. I am using the syntax that is illustrated in the MLMatrixSwitcher Plugin help file, but it doesn't seem to want to issue the right command. I can control the unit through HyperTerminal and it works OK, but it doesn't like my switch commands within ML.

This is an example of what I use:

MLServeCmd.MLMatrixSwitcher|1~Switch~All~12~1


Any ideas?

User avatar
mcascio
Founder
Founder
Posts: 8270
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Kenosha, Wi
Contact:

Re: CMX1616V Help

Postby mcascio » Tue Mar 23, 2010 5:39 pm

Can you post your log files from the MatrixSwitcher plugin? I'm sure Dave will want to see that.
Mario Cascio

Cinemar, Inc.

http://www.cinemaronline.com

rkerdza
New Member
New Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 1:19 pm
Contact:

Re: CMX1616V Help

Postby rkerdza » Wed Mar 24, 2010 12:13 pm

Did a reboot and found that the MLMatrix Log was completely different in what it was showing. I noticed the commands were being sent differently than the commands I was inputting into HyperTerminal. I figured out that when putting in a source or output less than 10, you still have to use a 2-digit number, so 1, 2, 3 etc. need to be entered as 01, 02, 03 etc. (maybe the wiki for MLMatrixSwitcher should be modified to indicate that?) I tried this new approach and now it is working beautifully! As far as why a reboot changed what was being shown in the log, I can't answer that question. I don't think posting a log would be helpful because it's working fine now.

One other question while I'm here:

Is there a syntax for using the CMX1616A's volume controls? If you have commands for that or can point me to where they may be, that would be helpful.

Thanks!

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10549
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: CMX1616V Help

Postby CinemarDave » Mon Mar 29, 2010 12:57 pm

Version 3.75.46 of the Videostorm matrix switcher driver should resolve the issue of having to insert leading zeros for channels less than 10. I also added the volume commands to the wiki. Volume and mute are controlled using

MLMatrixSwitcher|<<alias>>~Switch~Vol~<<channel>>~<<volume>> Should be 0..100
MLMatrixSwitcher|<<alias>>~Switch~VolUp~<<channel>>
MLMatrixSwitcher|<<alias>>~Switch~VolDown~<<channel>>
MLMatrixSwitcher|<<alias>>~Switch~MuteOn~<<channel>>
MLMatrixSwitcher|<<alias>>~Switch~MuteOff~<<channel>>
MLMatrixSwitcher|<<alias>>~Switch~MuteToggle~<<channel>>

Test these when you have a chance. I do not have a switch to test with here. If they do not work for some reason I'd like to remote into your system to test with your hardware.

rkerdza
New Member
New Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 1:19 pm
Contact:

Re: CMX1616V Help

Postby rkerdza » Mon Mar 29, 2010 8:35 pm

Thank you so much for all your help. It will be a few days until I have a chance to test everything out. I will let you know ASAP how it goes.

rkerdza
New Member
New Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 1:19 pm
Contact:

Re: CMX1616V Help

Postby rkerdza » Wed Mar 31, 2010 10:33 am

What is the proper "board" variable to use to switch Audio on the CMX1616A? I have been trying the "All" command and it is sending a command like "V0101" and saying it is not valid. I think it is looking for an "A0101" command. What should I do?

User avatar
mcascio
Founder
Founder
Posts: 8270
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Kenosha, Wi
Contact:

Re: CMX1616V Help

Postby mcascio » Thu Apr 01, 2010 9:38 am

rkerdza,

Take a look at this section of the wiki, perhaps AUD is what you are looking for:
http://wiki.cinemaronline.com/index.php ... torm_CRM88
Mario Cascio

Cinemar, Inc.

http://www.cinemaronline.com

rkerdza
New Member
New Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 1:19 pm
Contact:

Re: CMX1616V Help

Postby rkerdza » Sat Apr 03, 2010 3:09 pm

Tried the commands above, also the AUD command. No dice on any. It does not convert the command into a proper serial command. If I use "MLMatrixSwitcher|2~Switch~All~01~01", it sends a V0101 serial command to the 1616A. I was reading VideoStorm's RS-232 programming guide and it says that the 1616A will not recognize "Vxxyy"-type switch commands. It only recognizes "Cxxyy" "Oxxyy" or "Axxyy" as switch commands. All the other commands listed in the FAQ (i.e. AUD, VOLUP, VOLDOWN, MUTEON, etc.) return a "Failed to translate command into a valid switch command" error. I know it's not a communication error because I can control the unit perfectly using HyperTerminal. If you'd like to do a remote dial-in, I can maybe set something up for next week.

BTW: My VideoStorm Drivers are listed as version 3.75.40 and the Matrix Switcher Family program is version 3.75.14. I used Installation Assistant to try to install the latest drivers. Are these the correct ones?

Again, thanks for your help!

rkerdza
New Member
New Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 1:19 pm
Contact:

Re: CMX1616V Help

Postby rkerdza » Fri Apr 09, 2010 3:07 pm

Hey everyone. I was just wondering if anyone had any other ideas or suggestions for trying to get this 1616A to work properly. I am still up to doing a dial-in if you are able.

Thanks!

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10549
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: CMX1616V Help

Postby CinemarDave » Fri Apr 09, 2010 3:37 pm

I will work on this over the weekend. Please set up a LogMeIn account and send me an email describing how I can log into your PC.

rkerdza
New Member
New Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 1:19 pm
Contact:

Re: CMX1616V Help

Postby rkerdza » Thu Apr 15, 2010 1:47 pm

Dave, can you PM me your email so I can get the info to you for my LogMeIn acct? Thanks!

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10549
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: CMX1616V Help

Postby CinemarDave » Mon Apr 19, 2010 5:25 pm

Yes - I'll work on this on Tuesday (tomorrow).

rkerdza
New Member
New Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 1:19 pm
Contact:

Re: CMX1616V Help

Postby rkerdza » Wed Apr 28, 2010 2:55 pm

Dave, check your email box. I re-sent a LogMeIn Remote Control invite.

Thanks!


Return to “Video Storm”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest