Insteon Automation

chuck99z28
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 346
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 2:10 pm
Contact:

Insteon Automation

Postby chuck99z28 » Thu Jan 03, 2013 6:36 pm

So I take it there currently is no way to watch for an Insteon event, then use it to trigger a command or macro right?

For example, if I get an event from a motion detector, I want to mlspeak something.

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Insteon Automation

Postby CinemarDave » Thu Jan 03, 2013 6:39 pm

If the event sets a server variable you can do it. What event is it? Can you capture the event in the Insteon driver event log?

chuck99z28
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 346
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 2:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Insteon Automation

Postby chuck99z28 » Thu Jan 03, 2013 7:05 pm

Insteon-1-3-2013.log


Attached is a log from MLServer showing the motion detector -- detecting some motion.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Insteon Automation

Postby CinemarDave » Thu Jan 03, 2013 7:32 pm

Try the version of the Insteon driver I just released. If it works correctly you should see a Lighting_X_Trigger server variable toggle between 0 and 1. If you see this event then you can write an automation rule against it.

chuck99z28
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 346
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 2:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Insteon Automation

Postby chuck99z28 » Fri Jan 04, 2013 6:44 am

Thanks Dave,
The first time I brought up the server I got 12 trigger variables out of the 45 Insteon devices.
So I restarted the server and got another one. So I have 13 now.
There doesn't seem to be any specific device which is receiving triggers over another type.
Its rather random.

On the second restart the front motion detector got a trigger variable so I'll gave it a try and it works.
When it detects motion the variable goes from 1 to 0 and the trigger fires off fine.

Addition
At some point the trigger changed to 0 and went from 0 to 1 instead of 1 to 0.
So I had to change the trigger.

I think the trigger should default to 0 and change to 1 when it triggers.

Is it possible to get a event where if a specific insteon command is received from the PLM?
Seems more flexible. BUt I'm not sure how you'd do that. It would just about have to be in the Device Driver screen.

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Insteon Automation

Postby CinemarDave » Fri Jan 04, 2013 11:03 am

I was seeing two events from the event log your posted. One was setting the value to 0 and the other setting it to a 1. Those are the two events that are used to set the variable. I'm not sure of the order they will come in.

chuck99z28
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 346
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 2:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Insteon Automation

Postby chuck99z28 » Fri Jan 04, 2013 2:30 pm

I'll play with it this weekend.

chuck99z28
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 346
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 2:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Insteon Automation

Postby chuck99z28 » Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:12 am

I'm not 100% sure, but I think it broke the status monitoring.

I'm no longer getting the status changes when I toggle a light manually.

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Insteon Automation

Postby CinemarDave » Sat Jan 05, 2013 10:42 am

It should not have effected that. All I did was add two lines of code to create the new variables. Need to see the Insteon event log as you turn lights off an on.

chuck99z28
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 346
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 2:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Insteon Automation

Postby chuck99z28 » Sat Jan 05, 2013 11:18 am

Ok.

Attached is a log of turning on an Insteon SwitchLinc (wall Switch) called Main in the Theater.
Insteon-1-5-2013.log


Here is a snapshot of the Server Varibles for that Switch which show the switch as being Off.

insteonpic2.jpg


By the way, evetually allt he trigger fields showed up.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

chuck99z28
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 346
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 2:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Insteon Automation

Postby chuck99z28 » Wed Jan 09, 2013 3:24 pm

Is there a way to revert to the previous version of the driver?

It still isn't working.

chuck99z28
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 346
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 2:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Insteon Automation

Postby chuck99z28 » Tue Jan 22, 2013 4:13 pm

I decided to just dump this driver for now.

So never mind. You may want to remove that tracking command for others.
I couldn't get it to work.


Return to “Insteon”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest