mlisy & HS ISY Insteon (co-exist?)

jeffdoo
Intermediate
Intermediate

mlisy & HS ISY Insteon (co-exist?)

Postby jeffdoo » Thu Jan 07, 2010 10:01 pm

Okay, here is the story..... Everyone in our house has an iTouch so I started playing with the Cinemar provided web pages and got control of the Insteon devices working using MLServer -> MLHSPlugin -> HomeSeer -> ISY Insteon -> ISY. And the response time is actually very good. I showed the prototype setup to the family and everyone got excited. Of course I only had a couple issues to resolve and figured it wouldn't take too long. But, alas, the MLHSPlugin replicates the device names from HS2 directly in MLS, which makes complete sense except that MLS serves the variable names through the "GETVAR?" style web service. HomeSeer uses funky characters (ie; `, \, #, ^, etc) within the variable name... Lucky me those characters are not legal tag names within XML, so I don't get status updates.

I've downloaded the MLISY plugin from Bob's site (.19 link doesn't work, so I grabbed .18) and installed it on the same host w/HomeSeer. My question is, will both HS2 and MLISY properly co-exist communicating with the ISY-99? I think it should work fine, the ISY has generally struck me as a rather robust device but I thought I would ask just the same.

I'm currently using ISY-99 firmware 2.7.7 because I have too many devices for 2.7.8...

Thanks

- Jeff

bpwwer

Re: mlisy & HS ISY Insteon (co-exist?)

Postby bpwwer » Fri Jan 08, 2010 11:21 am

jeffdoo wrote:I've downloaded the MLISY plugin from Bob's site (.19 link doesn't work, so I grabbed .18) and installed it on the same host w/HomeSeer. My question is, will both HS2 and MLISY properly co-exist communicating with the ISY-99? I think it should work fine, the ISY has generally struck me as a rather robust device but I thought I would ask just the same.

I'm currently using ISY-99 firmware 2.7.7 because I have too many devices for 2.7.8...

Thanks

- Jeff

Hi Jeff,