Slider control for dimming lighting?

windrockwater
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 193
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 11:01 am
Contact:

Slider control for dimming lighting?

Postby windrockwater » Thu Dec 25, 2008 3:56 pm

I would like to try and use a slider on a scene to control the light level of a light. From OFF all the way to 100% brightness.

Is this possible? Can anyone point me in the right direction? I am using an ISY.

Thanks and happy christmas.

windrockwater
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 193
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 11:01 am
Contact:

Postby windrockwater » Tue Jan 13, 2009 10:19 am

*BUMP*

Anyone?

bpwwer
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 10:58 am
Contact:

Postby bpwwer » Tue Jan 13, 2009 11:53 am

Windrocker,

Sorry, I missed your post.

For a slider to control a dimmer. I use button id Slider01_release
In the label field I put {{mlisy_42_value}}
In the MLServeCmd field I put MLISY|mlisy_42~On~{{value}}
--
Bob

mwebster
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 10:38 pm
Contact:

Postby mwebster » Tue Jan 13, 2009 4:31 pm

Correct me if I'm wrong, but this won't work for scenes/groups will it? I didn't think you could send an on command with level to an isy scene.

If you just use the loaded device, then the levels of the slave devices would go out of sync. Maybe's there's a workaround or some server rules that could be implemented to keep things correct?

windrockwater
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 193
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 11:01 am
Contact:

Postby windrockwater » Wed Jan 14, 2009 4:47 pm

Thanks for posting. But it is not quite working for me:

For some reason the slider shows the status level of the light but sliding the slider does not change or control the light? The slider quickly slides back to the original light level without actually controlling the light?

windrockwater
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 193
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 11:01 am
Contact:

Postby windrockwater » Wed Jan 14, 2009 4:48 pm

Got it! *Funny how an extra character can be hard to spot. *
Thanks again!

windrockwater
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 193
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 11:01 am
Contact:

Postby windrockwater » Wed Jan 14, 2009 4:51 pm

One more quickie:

If i slide the slider all the way to 0, its sends a ISY zero level command but the light simply goes to the preset light level (in this case 40%).


Is that expected? Sending MLISY|mlisy_21~ON~0 does NOT turn the light off...?

bpwwer
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 10:58 am
Contact:

Postby bpwwer » Wed Jan 14, 2009 5:32 pm

windrockwater wrote:One more quickie:

If i slide the slider all the way to 0, its sends a ISY zero level command but the light simply goes to the preset light level (in this case 40%).


Is that expected? Sending MLISY|mlisy_21~ON~0 does NOT turn the light off...?


I think that's a bug. I'll look into it. I'm probably interpreting 0 the same as no value so it just sends an ON to the ISY. It could also be that the ISY isn't allowing a zero on value.

I'm not sure ON to level 0 is the same as OFF. I seem to recall that Insteon devices don't completely shut off at level 0, but the level is so low that that it is effectively off. For my scenes that controlled individual lights, I had a button in addition to the slider, the button used the toggle command to toggle the light on or off and used the status to show if the light was on or off. The slider would just be used to adjust the dim level.
--

Bob

windrockwater
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 193
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 11:01 am
Contact:

Postby windrockwater » Thu Jan 15, 2009 2:53 pm

Thanks for the comments. That all makes sense. Let me know if you do try the slider for value 0 and what you think. My issue is that if a user slides the slider to 0, the light goes on to preset level. Seems unexpected.

Can i put some kind of IF/THEN statement in the ML command line for the slider so that if the slider value is 0 then it should send ISY~Off (or just ignore sending anything)?

mwebster
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 10:38 pm
Contact:

Postby mwebster » Fri Jan 16, 2009 12:22 am

I've had a similar experience with dim/bright commands. Dimming seemed to work, but one bright command put the light at the preset on level. Subsequent bright commands didn't increase the level past the preset on level.

User avatar
gregoryx
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 6599
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2003 10:15 pm
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Contact:

Postby gregoryx » Wed Jan 21, 2009 2:57 am

mwebster wrote:I've had a similar experience with dim/bright commands. Dimming seemed to work, but one bright command put the light at the preset on level. Subsequent bright commands didn't increase the level past the preset on level.


That's what I'm seeing. too. :cry:

bpwwer
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 10:58 am
Contact:

Postby bpwwer » Wed Jan 21, 2009 10:57 am

I just uploaded a new version of the MLISY plug-in to my site. It has fixes for the issue where the bright command wasn't working and also for the issue where sending an "On 0" would go to the default on-level instead of off.

http://www.bobsplace.com/mlisy/
--

Bob

User avatar
gregoryx
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 6599
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2003 10:15 pm
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Contact:

Postby gregoryx » Wed Jan 21, 2009 4:36 pm

kool. thanx! =D>

windrockwater
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 193
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 11:01 am
Contact:

Postby windrockwater » Wed Jan 21, 2009 6:54 pm

Great. Seems to work nice now.


Return to “Insteon”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest