Sony CX777ES Connection Trouble

User avatar
DavidL
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 11071
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact:

Postby DavidL » Fri Aug 31, 2007 5:21 pm

California, go to www.logmein.com and create an account from that Machine. Then, PM me with a login link and password. Let me know when you are available and I will connect to your machine and fix.

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Postby CinemarDave » Fri Aug 31, 2007 5:23 pm

Set all you changers in the CX777ES plugin to not used. That way when MLServer starts the plugin will not attempt to connect to the serial port.

Then restart MLServer. Connect your cable to the Sony. Go into the plugin. Turn on event logging. Then go to the changers tab. Select changer 1, set it to COM1 from the drop down. And then click the power on test button. What happens in the CX77ES event log?

Also, you do not want to put the power on command for the changer into the power on trigger. It will sort of get you into an infinite loop. Delete all the triggers you have configured.

California
Member
Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 6:40 am
Contact:

Postby California » Fri Aug 31, 2007 6:56 pm

I will set up the remote access and make the changes tomorrow afternoon when I get home from work then send you a PM with the login info.

User avatar
bhiga
Expert
Expert
Posts: 854
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 10:28 pm
Location: San Jose, CA
Contact:

Postby bhiga » Sun Sep 02, 2007 2:46 am

Interesting, it definitely sounds like some application or service is thinking that the computer needs to be shut down, so at least we know it's not an electrical short causing the power supply to totally knock out.

I need to leave on a long trip, so I hope you're all fixed up by the time I get back!

Brandon
- Brandon
My MainLobby stuff (plug-ins, screenshots, etc)

California
Member
Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 6:40 am
Contact:

Postby California » Tue Sep 04, 2007 2:42 pm

I have one of my friends over here looking at my computer right now. So far he can not get anything working off the serial port properly so we may wipe the entire drive and reinstall everything to see if we can get any device on the serial port working.

The logmein shut off the free trial saying I used my maximum allowed time only after the first day when my friend was checking my system. I don't think it gave more than an hour or so...

I will keep you posted.
System: MainLobby 3, ML Server 3, DVDLobby, WeatherLobby, MusicLobby, 2 Sony 777es, Samsung UMPC, RCA 5.1 ch sound, HomeSeer 2, ZWave, HD LCD TV-Monitor, Component switcher, Custom quad AMD processor PC with Radeon EAH3850 dual monitor/HDTV graphics card.

California
Member
Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 6:40 am
Contact:

Postby California » Tue Sep 04, 2007 3:49 pm

It looks like the Dell serial port is not working properly since the Hard Drive was replaced and Windows XP Pro was installed. We could not get any other devices to communicate through the serial port.

My friend is going to wipe the entire drive, reinstall the operating system and drivers to see if the port will work. All the patches and upgrades will be in place before anything is connected.

I will have to reinstall ML Server and the DVD Pro plugin once he gets the serial port working and I will let you know if I am still having trouble.

Thanks for the help.
System: MainLobby 3, ML Server 3, DVDLobby, WeatherLobby, MusicLobby, 2 Sony 777es, Samsung UMPC, RCA 5.1 ch sound, HomeSeer 2, ZWave, HD LCD TV-Monitor, Component switcher, Custom quad AMD processor PC with Radeon EAH3850 dual monitor/HDTV graphics card.

User avatar
DavidL
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 11071
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact:

Postby DavidL » Tue Sep 04, 2007 7:19 pm

California, there is a Logmein pay account that times out, and a freee one that doesn't. The free one is all that is needed.

California
Member
Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 6:40 am
Contact:

Postby California » Thu Sep 06, 2007 10:37 pm

smoothtlk wrote:California, there is a Logmein pay account that times out, and a freee one that doesn't. The free one is all that is needed.


I got my computer back today. It had a complete rebuild of the system, all updates etc. I installed the latest version of MLServer and DVD pro.

The computer no longer shuts down when the cable is connected to the Sony. It still does not pass the power on test of the Sony. I tried the basic troubleshooting stuff and things listed here but can not enter "COM1" for the port, only select a number from the drop down menu.

I will set up a logmein free account tonight and I will be around Friday morning if you are available. I will send you my login info and phone number via PM.
System: MainLobby 3, ML Server 3, DVDLobby, WeatherLobby, MusicLobby, 2 Sony 777es, Samsung UMPC, RCA 5.1 ch sound, HomeSeer 2, ZWave, HD LCD TV-Monitor, Component switcher, Custom quad AMD processor PC with Radeon EAH3850 dual monitor/HDTV graphics card.

California
Member
Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 6:40 am
Contact:

Postby California » Fri Sep 07, 2007 6:06 pm

All fixed and working well on the main computer. Thanks for the help.
System: MainLobby 3, ML Server 3, DVDLobby, WeatherLobby, MusicLobby, 2 Sony 777es, Samsung UMPC, RCA 5.1 ch sound, HomeSeer 2, ZWave, HD LCD TV-Monitor, Component switcher, Custom quad AMD processor PC with Radeon EAH3850 dual monitor/HDTV graphics card.

User avatar
DavidL
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 11071
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact:

Postby DavidL » Fri Sep 07, 2007 7:00 pm

No prob. glad it's working for you.

California
Member
Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 6:40 am
Contact:

Postby California » Wed May 27, 2009 1:37 am

Everything has been working great until my computer gave out so I am starting from square 1 again on a new computer. My backup (ghost) did not work for the new computer so I had to salvage what I could.

I have everything hooked up, movie database imported and previous versions of ML, ML Server software installed with plugins. Samsung handheld is connecting and power test for changer 1 is working.

I can not find my MLCX777ES.pdf file that came with the plugin for the commands. I have tried all play commands that I can find on the forum and none work.

Here are my software and plugin versions:
ML Server 3.0.500
ML 3.00.85
MLCX777ES plugin 3.0.31
MLDVDLobby 3.5.968

I see the command showing up in the ML log file but nothing happens with the DVD player.

Here is the last command that I tried MLServeCmd.MLCX777ES|DiscDirect~<<CHANGERLOCATION>>~1~1~<<CHANGERNUMBER>>

What should I try or change next?
System: MainLobby 3, ML Server 3, DVDLobby, WeatherLobby, MusicLobby, 2 Sony 777es, Samsung UMPC, RCA 5.1 ch sound, HomeSeer 2, ZWave, HD LCD TV-Monitor, Component switcher, Custom quad AMD processor PC with Radeon EAH3850 dual monitor/HDTV graphics card.

California
Member
Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 6:40 am
Contact:

Postby California » Wed May 27, 2009 2:46 am

Here is my DVDLobby event log:

ProcessPlayCommand - MLServeCmd.MLCX777ES|DiscDirect~<<CHANGERLOCATION>>~1~1~<<CHANGERNUMBER>> from DVD 340
ServerCommand - MLServeCmd.MLCX777ES|DiscDirect~102~1~1~1
PlayMovie - 340 from
ProcessPlayCommand - MLServeCmd.MLCX777ES|DiscDirect~<<CHANGERLOCATION>>~1~1~<<CHANGERNUMBER>> from DVD 340
ServerCommand - MLServeCmd.MLCX777ES|DiscDirect~102~1~1~1
ProcessCommand - Cmd=[setClient] Param=[Handheld] Client=[192.168.1.72] Index=[0]
ProcessCommand - Cmd=[getMovies] Param=[] Client=[Handheld] Index=[0]
ProcessCommand - Cmd=[getmovie] Param=[405] Client=[Handheld] Index=[0]
ProcessCommand - Cmd=[getGenres] Param=[] Client=[Handheld] Index=[0]
ProcessCommand - Cmd=[getGenre] Param=[999] Client=[Handheld] Index=[0]
ProcessCommand - Cmd=[playMovie] Param=[405~Handheld] Client=[Handheld] Index=[0]
PlayMovie - 405 from Handheld
ProcessPlayCommand - MLServeCmd.MLCX777ES|DiscDirect~<<CHANGERLOCATION>>~1~1~<<CHANGERNUMBER>> from Handheld DVD 405
ServerCommand - MLServeCmd.MLCX777ES|DiscDirect~309~1~1~1
PlayMovie - 340 from
ProcessPlayCommand - MLServeCmd.MLCX777ES|DiscDirect~<<CHANGERLOCATION>>~1~1~<<CHANGERNUMBER>> from DVD 340
ServerCommand - MLServeCmd.MLCX777ES|DiscDirect~102~1~1~1
Updating - dvdNumber is 340
Updating - Genres
Updating - Studios
Updating - SubTitles
Updating - Regions
Updating - Actors
Updating - Directors
Updating - Audio Formats
ProcessCommand - Cmd=[searchLetter] Param=[S] Client=[Handheld] Index=[0]
ProcessCommand - Cmd=[getMovie] Param=[340] Client=[Handheld] Index=[0]
ProcessCommand - Cmd=[playMovie] Param=[340~Handheld] Client=[Handheld] Index=[0]
PlayMovie - 340 from Handheld
ProcessPlayCommand - MLServeCmd.MLCX777ES|DiscDirect~<<CHANGERLOCATION>>~1~1~<<CHANGERNUMBER>> from Handheld DVD 340
ServerCommand - MLServeCmd.MLCX777ES|DiscDirect~102~1~1~1
ProcessCommand - Cmd=[playMovie] Param=[340~Handheld] Client=[Handheld] Index=[0]
PlayMovie - 340 from Handheld
ProcessPlayCommand - MLServeCmd.MLCX777ES|DiscDirect~<<CHANGERLOCATION>>~1~1~<<CHANGERNUMBER>> from Handheld DVD 340
ServerCommand - MLServeCmd.MLCX777ES|DiscDirect~102~1~1~1





My CX777ES Event log:
Rcvd: [13 bytes]
Rcvd: [02 0A D8 82 FF FF FF FF FF FF 10 28 6A]
Rcvd: [13 bytes]
Rcvd: [02 0A D8 82 FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 28 7A]
Got [PowerOn~1]
Comm Port Sending 6 bytes [02 03 D0 60 01 CC]
Comm Port Sending 6 bytes [02 03 D0 60 01 CC]
Comm Port Sending 6 bytes [02 03 D0 60 01 CC]
Comm Port Sending 6 bytes [02 03 D0 60 01 CC]
Comm Port Sending 6 bytes [02 03 D0 60 01 CC]
Comm Port Sending 6 bytes [02 03 D0 62 02 C9]
Rcvd: [13 bytes]
Rcvd: [02 0A D8 82 FF FF FF FF FF FF 10 28 6A]
Rcvd: [93 bytes]
Rcvd: [02 5A D8 8B 01 02 01 00 00 30 46 00 01 68 34 00 00 37 75 00 00 49 95 00 01 31 25 00 01 32 65 00 01 10 85 00 01 04 51 00 00 38 74 00 00 53 70 00 00 88 76 00 01 02 35 00 00 58 39 00 01 35 90 00 01 30 10 00 00 27 15 00 01 23 50 00 01 38 85 00 00 49 50 00 00 90 75 00 00 00 15 FF 6A]
Rcvd: [13 bytes]
Rcvd: [02 0A D8 8A 01 02 03 00 01 00 01 00 8C]
Rcvd: [14 bytes]
Rcvd: [02 0B D8 90 01 02 00 00 00 00 10 00 00 7A]
Rcvd: [13 bytes]
Rcvd: [02 0A D8 82 01 02 00 00 00 00 10 28 61]
Rcvd: [13 bytes]
Rcvd: [02 0A D8 82 01 02 00 01 00 17 10 28 49]
System: MainLobby 3, ML Server 3, DVDLobby, WeatherLobby, MusicLobby, 2 Sony 777es, Samsung UMPC, RCA 5.1 ch sound, HomeSeer 2, ZWave, HD LCD TV-Monitor, Component switcher, Custom quad AMD processor PC with Radeon EAH3850 dual monitor/HDTV graphics card.


Return to “Sony”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest