Blu-Ray or HD-DVD in TheaterTek?

Wysocki
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 403
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2003 10:50 pm
Location: Los Angeles Area
Contact:

Blu-Ray or HD-DVD in TheaterTek?

Postby Wysocki » Wed Dec 19, 2007 6:53 pm

I'm considering buying an LG player that supports both Blu-Ray and HD-DVD formats. It's only $299 but I'm wondering if TheaterTek (and the ML plugin) will be able to work with it. I've browsed this and and the TT forums, but I don't see a definitive guide to what's happening with the new HD format disks. Some posts over at TT imply that even the last version would play them, but others indicate only PowerDVD would be able to play them (and not from a network drive at that)!

Bottom line: Can anyone confirm that with TT and the ML plugin, I will or won't be able to play HD disks on the new player?

User avatar
DavidL
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 11071
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact:

Postby DavidL » Wed Dec 19, 2007 7:19 pm

TT does not render HD DVD or BluRay.

PowerDVD does, ArcSoft does.

There already is a one way plugin for PowerDVD and the ArcSoft one is in process.

You should be able to continue to use TT with original DVDs with 2 way interaction with your new LG optical drive.

DVDLobby can orchestrate which you want to launch. Create a HDDVDPlay command and a TTDVDPlay command with the appropriate player launch commands.

Ranger Home Automation
Expert
Expert
Posts: 652
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 10:31 pm
Location: Temple, central Texas
Contact:

Postby Ranger Home Automation » Wed Dec 19, 2007 7:54 pm

Which dual player is $299? Thanks

Wysocki
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 403
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2003 10:50 pm
Location: Los Angeles Area
Contact:

Postby Wysocki » Wed Dec 19, 2007 8:08 pm

It's a new "LG" model which plays both HD formats and also reads AND burns regular dvd's. A computer store near me has a few available so I guess I'll pick one up. I suppose since only PowerDVD can play the HD content, I'd be best off by just trashing TT. If my wife puts a disk in to play, I don't want to have her figuring out which scene to bring up to run a different player software. Too bad since PowerDVD doesn't look very nice and it's not very command line friendly. I don't know if there'll be a charge for the new plugin nor do I know if it's going to be able to play from a network drive either. I'll post back when I get to play with it.

Ranger Home Automation
Expert
Expert
Posts: 652
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 10:31 pm
Location: Temple, central Texas
Contact:

Postby Ranger Home Automation » Wed Dec 19, 2007 8:13 pm

wys, thanks bud

User avatar
DavidL
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 11071
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact:

Postby DavidL » Wed Dec 19, 2007 8:20 pm

Your wife wont' need to know what player is being used.

Only DVDLobby needs to know.

She just picks where she wants to watch a movie, and what movie to watch and MainLobby suite takes it from there.

Wysocki
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 403
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2003 10:50 pm
Location: Los Angeles Area
Contact:

Postby Wysocki » Thu Dec 20, 2007 8:02 pm

Well, I decided I'm going to upgrade my projector before I jump in on the Blu-Ray stuff. I have a Sanyo XP21N and it barely qualifies for HD.

BTW, the player is the "LG Black LG GGC-H20L BLU-RAY+HD DVD+LIGHTSCRIBE+16X DVD±RW SATA"
$295 w/free shipping at http://www.egoodz.com/product.asp?pf_id=LG%5FGGC%5FH20L

Ranger Home Automation
Expert
Expert
Posts: 652
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 10:31 pm
Location: Temple, central Texas
Contact:

Postby Ranger Home Automation » Thu Dec 20, 2007 8:12 pm

ah! ok, its a disk drive. Thanks!

User avatar
DavidL
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 11071
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact:

Postby DavidL » Thu Dec 20, 2007 10:24 pm

Optical drive.


Return to “TheaterTek”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest