Rain8 Net RS232 and rain sensor

english_1969
Member
Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 10:06 pm
Contact:

Rain8 Net RS232 and rain sensor

Postby english_1969 » Sun Jun 22, 2008 6:53 pm

Hi,

I just got my Rain8 up and working - wife is very happy with touchscreen interface to run system.

However, I am having trouble figuring out how to use the sensor.

I have a sensor hooked up, but not quite sure how to enable it.

I see that I can add a zone as a sensor, but not sure how this works.

Any enlightenment or where I should read would be great.

Thanks,
W

User avatar
DaveB
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 3143
Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 10:57 pm
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Contact:

Postby DaveB » Mon Jun 23, 2008 9:43 pm

If you use the RAIN8 configuration software, you can enable the input feature on the RAIN8. Once enabled, you must select a zone that the sensor is connect to. Once you do this, the RAIN8 looks for an open between the 2 connection points of that zone. As ling as the connection points are not shorted, the RAIN8 will operate normally. If they are shorted, the RAIN8 opens the common to all valves and thus, they close or turn off.
Thanks!

Dave Bruner
:shock:

english_1969
Member
Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 10:06 pm
Contact:

Postby english_1969 » Tue Jun 24, 2008 7:05 am

Great!

Thanks for the guidance. So, basically, I don't necessarily need to do anything and the sensor will stop the unit when it's wet enough.

But, to get this feedback, I can create a zone in the rain8 software.

Cool!
Thanks,
W

User avatar
DaveB
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 3143
Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 10:57 pm
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Contact:

Postby DaveB » Tue Jun 24, 2008 7:53 am

Yes - just use one of your zones on the Rain8. Monitor that Zone in ML for screen indication or other triggers.
Thanks!

Dave Bruner
:shock:

User avatar
cborod
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1208
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 5:26 pm
Location: Mount Gretna, PA
Contact:

Postby cborod » Tue Jun 24, 2008 3:19 pm

Now i have to go hook up my sensors to the rain 8 just to see.

They should appear just like any other variable, and like security zones could be used to set flags, triggers, commands, etc.

Give me a day to make the swap.....
ChrisB


___________________________________
"Round up the usual suspects."

english_1969
Member
Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 10:06 pm
Contact:

Postby english_1969 » Wed Jun 25, 2008 10:38 pm

Okay - probably obvious, but when I'm looking at the Rain8 software I downloaded from their site, there is not obvious way to tell it that the sensor is on Zone X.

The software I have is simple and seems to only allow setup of a watering programs.

What might I be missing?

Thanks,
W

User avatar
cborod
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1208
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 5:26 pm
Location: Mount Gretna, PA
Contact:

Postby cborod » Thu Jun 26, 2008 12:18 am

There are two programs available from the Rain8 folks.

1 as you describe it is a timer.
The other is more full-featured configuration

You need neither one if you're using MLIrrigation. MLIRR handles zone names, setup, designation and all the scheduling you could want.

btw, the rain 8 programs run in the background and may interfere with MLIRR. You can have the software on the same machine, but make sure it isn't running (windows task bar, processes). It's sneaky that way.
ChrisB





___________________________________

"Round up the usual suspects."

english_1969
Member
Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 10:06 pm
Contact:

Postby english_1969 » Fri Jun 27, 2008 12:44 pm

So I downloaded the Rain8 and Relay8 configuration from here:
http://www.wgldesigns.com/rain8pc.html

(Scroll down to bottom and see button/link for config program)

Is this the program you are referring to?

It seems like I can set default watering times and a couple of other items.

It does offer a check box for enabling the sensor, but it's not clear if there is a zone # associated with it or not.

User avatar
mcascio
Founder
Founder
Posts: 8270
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Kenosha, Wi
Contact:

Postby mcascio » Fri Jun 27, 2008 1:41 pm

english_1969,

If you are using our Rain8 plugin, you just have to specify which zone has the Rain8Sensor connected by selecting it from the TYPE dropdown for that zone. Once that sensor is tripped, it will shutdown your sprinkler system.
Mario Cascio
Cinemar, Inc.
http://www.cinemaronline.com

MurrayW
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1198
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 1:05 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Postby MurrayW » Fri Jun 27, 2008 1:49 pm

I know that this may be a hard question to answer since I can't supply many details at the moment. With that said, I have a rain sensor (I am sure it is not Rain8) that is installed with my sprinkling system that stops the system from running if it is raining using the standard controls that came with the system. One of these days I am going to get around to using ML to control my sprinkler system.

Would I need to buy and install the Rain8 sensor, or might it be possible to use the rain sensor that is already installed.

thanks,
Murray
Last edited by MurrayW on Fri Jun 27, 2008 2:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
DavidL
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 11071
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact:

Postby DavidL » Fri Jun 27, 2008 1:58 pm

Without knowing specifics, my guess is that these rain sensors are really just electrical switches. Which would then mean one can use one or another. As long as the switch State is tracked, (open vs. closed) then the software should be able to use it.

User avatar
mcascio
Founder
Founder
Posts: 8270
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Kenosha, Wi
Contact:

Postby mcascio » Fri Jun 27, 2008 2:01 pm

Yes - any rain sensor should work. To use, wire in series with common wire to valves.
Mario Cascio

Cinemar, Inc.

http://www.cinemaronline.com

MurrayW
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1198
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 1:05 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Postby MurrayW » Fri Jun 27, 2008 2:11 pm

mcascio wrote:Yes - any rain sensor should work. To use, wire in series with common wire to valves.
Thanks...so I guess it must already be wired in series with common wire to valves since it is working with the standard controller. :)

User avatar
DaveB
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 3143
Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 10:57 pm
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Contact:

Postby DaveB » Fri Jun 27, 2008 6:19 pm

You have 2 options - wire it in series with common and loose the ability to see the sensor status in ML, or make the zone in WGL a sensor type, wire the sensor to that zone, and then see the atatus in ML. Both methods work, but the second method gets the status of the sensor on the touchscreen and provides the ability to use the status as a trigger for other items.

What I do is different. My rain sensor is a zone connected to my HAI Omni Pro II panel. I monitor that zone via the MLHAI plugin and use it as a trigger in MLIRR to enable and disable the sprinklers.
Thanks!

Dave Bruner
:shock:

english_1969
Member
Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 10:06 pm
Contact:

Postby english_1969 » Fri Jun 27, 2008 9:30 pm

If you are using our Rain8 plugin, you just have to specify which zone has the Rain8Sensor connected by selecting it from the TYPE dropdown for that zone. Once that sensor is tripped, it will shutdown your sprinkler system.


Mario,

I wired the rain sensor from the input to the common per the Rain8 instructions. It does work as it rained yesterday and sure enough the sprinklers stopped once the sensor was wet. Should I have wired this differently? I only have 1 Rain8, but I have all 8 zones in use.

I'm feeling dense.....


Return to “WGL Designs”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest