Setup RS232 with GC-100

bpet
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 225
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 2:35 pm
Contact:

Setup RS232 with GC-100

Postby bpet » Tue Dec 09, 2014 1:18 pm

I have used the GC-100-12 for years with IR out and Sensors. Currently, I'm trying to configure the RS232 to send commands to a Somfy Universal RTS Interface. The Somfy is connected to the 2nd serial port on the GC-100, so that is Module 2, Port 1. I am not able to get the GC-100 to blink the activity light to even indicate it is getting the serial command when I use the Test Serial Command function on the GC-100 Database Tab. I have tried many different settings, here are the latest:

GC100 Plug-In Configuration
Added new Device called Somfy
Module 2, Port # 1 (I have tried with and without repeat count - should I have a value there?
Added Command called Shade1Up
Somfy Command Syntax is:
Inteface Address Motor Channel Direction and so my command Data is:
0101U
I tried both ASCII and Hex - which one should it be?

I went into the GC-100 Web Interface and changed both Serial 1 and Serial 2 to:
9600, Left Flow Control at none, Parity at none
Somfy documentation indicates: 9600 Baud, 8 Data Bits, 1 Stop Bit, No Parity

Should I be getting an Activity Blink on the GC-100 with serial control? The window shade is not moving and so I'm assuming no blink means the command is not getting sent to the GC-100. Also, nothing in the event log. What am I doing wrong? Thanks in advance for your help! :)

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Setup RS232 with GC-100

Postby CinemarDave » Tue Dec 09, 2014 3:05 pm

Add the somfy device as a new Shades device in Family Manager. Then in the Address field put in the IP address of the GC it is connected to and in the Port column specify GC Module #2. Make sure the settings get saved then restart MLServer.

If it doesn't work then show me what is being written to the Somfy driver event log.

bpet
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 225
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 2:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Setup RS232 with GC-100

Postby bpet » Tue Dec 09, 2014 3:36 pm

I was able to add the IP , but the port drop down only shows Com 3 or Com 4, it does not show the GC Module #2?

Just realized that I had not installed the Global Cache Family Manager Driver...I will work on it some more and post the results...

Thx

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Setup RS232 with GC-100

Postby CinemarDave » Tue Dec 09, 2014 4:39 pm

Just type in "GC100 Module 2" as the port name (no quotes). I'll need to modify MLServer so that it shows the GC serial ports as an option. You do not have to install the V4 Global Cache device driver to use the serial ports. Each individual driver is responsible for communicating with the GC's serial ports.

Now, the biggest issue you will have is that the V4 Somfy driver DOES NOT know how to communicate with the GC serial port. I will have to update the driver to support that. I'll do that later today and upload the new driver.

bpet
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 225
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 2:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Setup RS232 with GC-100

Postby bpet » Tue Dec 09, 2014 4:55 pm

Ok, I'll watch for the update...I guess I was thinking that the shouldn't the legacy MLGC100 would work sending a serial command just like it sends IR commands? or was that designed only for IR and Sensors etc...

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Setup RS232 with GC-100

Postby CinemarDave » Tue Dec 09, 2014 5:11 pm

V4 GC device driver is only for IR, Sensors and Relays.

bpet
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 225
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 2:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Setup RS232 with GC-100

Postby bpet » Tue Dec 09, 2014 5:22 pm

Ok, so will I still be setting up a device and commands on the legacy MLGC100 database tab or would I just be using the family shade tab?

Thanks again!

bpet
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 225
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 2:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Setup RS232 with GC-100

Postby bpet » Tue Dec 09, 2014 9:46 pm

***Got It Working *** I will post the settings for anyone else looking at this in the future:

DownLoad and Install Latest Somfy Driver and MLServer 4
Open the Family Manager in MLServer and "Add" a new Device using the following settings:
Your Alias, Somfy for Driver, RTSII for Model, enter the IP of the GC-100 in the Controller Address and select GC100 Model 2 for the Serial Port/GC Module/IP Port field.

Check in the Family Device Drivers to be sure the Somfy driver is loaded. When you open it, you should see that your data is populated from what you entered in the Family Manager.

MLGC100 Legacy Plug-in
Database Tab, under the GC-100 with the Somfy Universal Adapter attached to its Serial Port
Add a Device, ie Somfy
Module #: enter "1" if using the first Serial Connection on the GC-100 or "2" for the second Serial Connection on GC-100
IR Repeat Count: leave blank
Port #: 1
Save, then add Commands following the Somfy Universal Adapter Protocol:
Interface #, Channel #, command (U for Up, S for Stop, D for Down)
Example: Name: Shade1Up, Select ASCII, Data 0101U, then Save
Right Click on the Command in the List on the Left Side of the screen and select Test Serial Command. It should send the Up command to the shade on channel 1. (per the Somfy instructions, the Somfy Universal Adapter needs to be programmed with your shade channel numbers and then set to channel #1 on the circle selector on the Somfy Universal Adapter.

You can call the commands via ML syntax such as:
MLGC100|SendIO~Somfy~Shade1Up

bpet
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 225
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 2:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Setup RS232 with GC-100

Postby bpet » Wed Dec 10, 2014 11:44 am

I set up a Macro to Raise Shade 1, wait 3 seconds, Raise Shade 2, wait 3 seconds....then Stop Shade 1, wait 3 seconds, Stop shade 2 etc...

It works very sporadically. I checked the antennas on the motors and moved the Somfy Universal Adapter to insure nothing was blocking reception, but this still occurs. There is no pattern to which shade decides to not go up or down - The MLServer event log and the MLGC100 log show all the commands are sent. When I watch the GC100, I see that it blinks each time a command is sent and so that part seems to be working.

From working with the Somfy shades in the past, and my current set, I have noticed that when using a remote or a wall switch, if I give the button a quick push it sometimes does not work, but if I hold the button down for a second - it works nearly all of the time. If I enter values in the IR repeat field, will that lengthen the time that the command is being sent from the Somfy Universal Adapter to the shades? or is there something in the driver that can produce a longer time frame for the sending each command? It seems like the Somfy shades sometimes take a little more time to lock on to the RTS signal and understand the command than just a quick press of a button.

Thanks,
Brett

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Setup RS232 with GC-100

Postby CinemarDave » Wed Dec 10, 2014 3:05 pm

You're doing everything through the legacy MLGC100 plugin which is fine but it is not using the Family Manager, V4 Somfy driver or the V4 GlobalCache driver.

Both MLServer and the V4 Somfy driver were updated today. If you want to use the V4 Somfy driver then you would install the driver then go into Family Manager and add a new Shades Family device.

Set the Address like <<GC IP Address>>:<<RTS Device #>> like 192.168.1.70:1
Set the Port to GC Module #1 or Module #2 if applicable

Then you can use the native commands
Shades|<<id>>~Up,Down,Stop

bpet
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 225
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 2:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Setup RS232 with GC-100

Postby bpet » Wed Dec 10, 2014 3:56 pm

I will try the new drivers...the Somfy driver is still showing yesterday's version, not an updated version today...

Thanks,
Brett

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Setup RS232 with GC-100

Postby CinemarDave » Wed Dec 10, 2014 4:07 pm

Because I complied that driver yesterday. It is the version you want to use.

bpet
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 225
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 2:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Setup RS232 with GC-100

Postby bpet » Wed Dec 10, 2014 4:28 pm

Ok, installed both but not working...

Family Manager Device:
1, Shades1, Somfy, RTSII, blank, blank, 192.168.1.70:1, GC100 Module 2

Somfy Driver Shows Device:
1, Shades1, RTSII, Dev Address 1, 192.168.1.70, GC100 Module 2

Created Macro with command:
Shades|1~Up

Somfy Driver Event Log
Network - Remote Device 0 has disconnected.
AddDevice - 192.168.1.70:0>>>connected
Network - Remote Device 0 has connected.
ProcessCommand - Cmd=[1~Up] Client=[MyClient1]
TX:1 - 01U

I also see this in the Somfy Driver Event Log:
SaveSettings - Error at SaveSettings at line #615 - Index was outside the bounds of the array.

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Setup RS232 with GC-100

Postby CinemarDave » Wed Dec 10, 2014 4:38 pm

It should have sent 0101U but it only sent 01U. You left off the motor channel to activate in the command.

Try Shades|1~Up~1 for the first shade, Shades|1~Up~2 for the second, etc.

bpet
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 225
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 2:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Setup RS232 with GC-100

Postby bpet » Wed Dec 10, 2014 4:51 pm

Thanks! That works. I will test the performance of Macros to open multiple shades and see if it is more consistent than the MLGC100 method and report back.


Return to “Global Cache”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest