GC v4 App relay command

donaldeweaver
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 9:03 am
Location: Indiana
Contact:

GC v4 App relay command

Postby donaldeweaver » Sun Nov 16, 2014 1:39 pm

I am attempting to move to the V4 GC app. However, I currently am having two concerns.

First, I cannot control the relays. I'm using the command: Control|4~On

The logs shows.
11/16/2014 11:08:19 AM ProcessCommand 4~On from MyClient1
11/16/2014 11:08:19 AM TX: GC1.1.3:setstate,1:3,1
11/16/2014 11:08:19 AM ProcessResponse From 192.168.1.70 [unknowncommand 11]

Secondly, I have a GC-100-18. The v4 driver only shows one serial port. Although not critical for the conversion, I am considering moving my CX-777 Changers to the GC. I'm trying to get away from the serial card for when I can purchase a new server.

GlobalCache.jpg


thank you,
Don
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: GC v4 App relay command

Postby CinemarDave » Sun Nov 16, 2014 3:28 pm

The log events you show the correct command for turning on the relay. It is the GC that is rejecting the command. It is being rejected because an invalid module:port combination has been sent. The command is telling module #1 port #3 to close. If you have a GC-100-18 then module #1 is the first serial port and that is why it fails. You should be targeting the relays on module #3.

Does your GC-100 have new firmware or is it an older model? It sounds like the driver did not properly discover it. You should completely delete it from the Control Family and let the driver make a new attempt at discovery.

As for the two serial ports. Those are always independent of what the driver discovers. When using the GC serial ports each driver has its own independent control over the port.

donaldeweaver
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 9:03 am
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Re: GC v4 App relay command

Postby donaldeweaver » Mon Nov 17, 2014 7:03 pm

My current firmware is 3.2-12. From what I can tell, it appears to be latest version.

I have deleted the GC-100-18 from the listed, rebooted, and let it be rediscovered. It loaded exactly the same as previously.
I've now manually manipulated the driver to show 3:3 instead of 1:3 as shown below. The command Control|4~On now closes and opens the contacts properly.

I'm going to manually change the other two relays. However, will they be switched back at some point if it gets "rediscovered" incorrectly?


GC Relay3.jpg


Thanks,
Don
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: GC v4 App relay command

Postby CinemarDave » Mon Nov 17, 2014 8:22 pm

It only goes through the full discovery process when a new device comes online so you are safe to make the edits.


Return to “Global Cache”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest