Global Cache to Matrix Switch

chuck99z28
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 346
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 2:10 pm
Contact:

Global Cache to Matrix Switch

Postby chuck99z28 » Mon Mar 18, 2013 2:54 pm

I have a Global Cache GC-100-12 connected to a Matrix Switch using Serial 1.

I can change the switch by sending commands to the serial 1 port using the Global Cache iTest program.

I want to send serial commands to control the matrix.
The commands look like

To Switch Inputs to Outputs
SBI0XO0Y - Where X is Input Number (1-8) and Y is Output Number (1-8)

Unit will respond with
SBUD0XOY - Where X is Input Number (1-8) and Y is Output Number (1-8)

Example : Send Input 4 to Output 3
SBI04O03 - Send
SBUD04O3 - Rcvd

I'm confused which Global Cache plugin I should use, there are three.

And can I send commands based on server vars such as SBI0{{sourcenum}}O0{{destnum}}

Can you push me in the right direction like you've done before?

chuck99z28
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 346
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 2:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Global Cache to Matrix Switch

Postby chuck99z28 » Mon Mar 18, 2013 3:12 pm

I tried command builder and the MLGC plugin.

This is from the logs.

3/18/2013 4:11:08 PM CMD: [SendIO~GC3~SBI04O04]
3/18/2013 4:11:08 PM Unsupported command [SendIO~GC3~SBI04O04]

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Global Cache to Matrix Switch

Postby CinemarDave » Mon Mar 18, 2013 6:52 pm

The MLGC plugin is only for sending IR and sensor / relay commands. The MLGC100 plugin does have a SendIO command but I don't know if it was ever tested. The command string looks like ShinyBow protocol. Is that what kind of switch it is? You can use the ShinyBow driver for control. The Shinybow driver does not have any two-way feedback at this point in time because the one Shinybow switch I was able to test on refused to send any meaningful data back to MLServer on the comm port. I suspect the switch I was testing on was faulty. However it was accepting the switching commands. If you switch works then I can re-enable two way control and test on your system.

chuck99z28
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 346
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 2:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Global Cache to Matrix Switch

Postby chuck99z28 » Tue Mar 19, 2013 2:04 am

Yes it is a ShineyBow.

But it is in a different room then the MLServer. Thats why I got the Global Cache.

THe only way I could use the ShinyBow driver is to get a serial-over-ip solution.

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Global Cache to Matrix Switch

Postby CinemarDave » Tue Mar 19, 2013 11:03 am

The Shinybow driver supports the GC. In Family Manager configure the switches address to the IP Address of the GC and then select the GC Port from the Port drop down.

chuck99z28
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 346
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 2:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Global Cache to Matrix Switch

Postby chuck99z28 » Tue Mar 19, 2013 2:51 pm

Cool, thanks.

I have it set for
Driver ShineyBow
Model Serial Switch
Port CG100 Module 1

I send switch command 4 to 4. and I get

3/19/2013 3:48:24 PM ProcessCommand Cmd=[2~Switch~4~4] Client=[MyClient1]
3/19/2013 3:48:24 PM SendCommand TX: SWITCHING1|SBI04O04
3/19/2013 3:48:24 PM OpenNetwork Attempting to connect to remote device at 192.168.1.70
3/19/2013 3:48:24 PM Connect Connection to 192.168.1.70:4999
3/19/2013 3:48:25 PM ProcessCommand Cmd=[2~Switch~4~4] Client=[MyClient1]
3/19/2013 3:48:25 PM SendCommand TX: SWITCHING1|SBI04O04
3/19/2013 3:48:25 PM OpenNetwork Attempting to connect to remote device at 192.168.1.70
3/19/2013 3:48:25 PM Connect Connection to 192.168.1.70:4999
3/19/2013 3:48:26 PM tcp_Connect Error at tcp_Connect at line #460 - The requested name is valid, but no data of the requested type was found
3/19/2013 3:48:28 PM tcp_Connect Error at tcp_Connect at line #460 - The requested name is valid, but no data of the requested type was foun

When I use the iTest, port 4999 it works with SBI04O04


Any clues?

chuck99z28
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 346
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 2:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Global Cache to Matrix Switch

Postby chuck99z28 » Wed Mar 20, 2013 1:24 pm

If it is any help.
I set up a wiresharp capture between MLServer and the Global Cache.
Then used command building as above.

And there was no IP traffic at all.

I tried ping between mlserver and the Global Cache and did get the ICMP traffic. So the sniffer is working.

The driver logs are the same as above.

Addition
I also tried running iTest from the MLServer machine and capture that transaction, successfully switching the Matrix.

So for some reason the switching driver isn't working on IP.

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Global Cache to Matrix Switch

Postby CinemarDave » Wed Mar 20, 2013 4:06 pm

Set up LogMeIn and email me your LogMeIn info. I'll remote in and debug the driver. I'm sure it is something simple. I want to experiment with the 2 way feedback too.

chuck99z28
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 346
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 2:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Global Cache to Matrix Switch

Postby chuck99z28 » Wed Mar 20, 2013 4:23 pm

I'll have to figure out how to do that and do it tomorrow or later this week.

Dinner time then bed.

Thanks though!

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Global Cache to Matrix Switch

Postby CinemarDave » Wed Mar 20, 2013 4:28 pm

Go to LogMeIn.com. Create an account. Install the free LogMeIn client on the MLServer PC. Then send me an email with your LogMeIn username and password along with the username/password or access code for the MLServer PC.

chuck99z28
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 346
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 2:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Global Cache to Matrix Switch

Postby chuck99z28 » Sat Mar 23, 2013 5:58 am

Dave,
I was sniffing the network and instead of watching connections between MLServer and the Global Cache, I opened it up to everything to and from the MLServer.

I noticed when I fired the command Switching1|1~Switch~4~4 the server does a NetBios query for "GC100 MODULE 1".
Which never gets a response.

Attached is the Driver configuration and the Wireshark capture.

Do I have the driver configured wrong?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

chuck99z28
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 346
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 2:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Global Cache to Matrix Switch

Postby chuck99z28 » Sat Mar 23, 2013 1:43 pm

This is fixed now! :D :P

pete_auto
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 387
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 6:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Global Cache to Matrix Switch

Postby pete_auto » Fri Apr 05, 2013 8:15 am

Chuck,

Are you getting a full response from the Shineybow unit? Is it full 2 way RS232 communication? Any anomalies you may think of?

I am thinking of purchasing this unit, and my set up will also be via GC-100. Appreciate any insight.

Thanks

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Global Cache to Matrix Switch

Postby CinemarDave » Fri Apr 05, 2013 2:09 pm

The latest driver has two-way feedback with the switch. If you get one and for some reason it doesn't get the two-way response I can remote in and look at it.

pete_auto
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 387
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 6:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Global Cache to Matrix Switch

Postby pete_auto » Fri Apr 05, 2013 6:09 pm

Thanks Dave...I just placed the order.


Return to “Global Cache”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest