HomeTroller

mwebster
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 10:38 pm
Contact:

HomeTroller

Postby mwebster » Fri May 11, 2007 11:27 am

Anyone using this with ML & MLServer yet? I'm interested in how stable it is.

Any development for similar hardware at a similar price for ML only?

Matt

User avatar
DavidL
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 11071
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact:

Postby DavidL » Fri May 11, 2007 11:47 am

Matt,
Cinemar has had a line of servers.
We build our servers with much more perfomance than the HomeTroller unit.
These servers handle both the automation function needs of MLServer3 plus media storage needs to better map what Cinemar customers typically do (media management and automation).
www.cinemaronline.com/hardware.servers.html

mwebster
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 271
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 10:38 pm
Contact:

Postby mwebster » Fri May 11, 2007 10:19 pm

Thanks, the cinemar products look nice. Kind of apples and oranges. Still be interested to hear how the hometroller works out for any ML users. I'd like to know how helpful the use of xpembedded is in making systems more reliable. Seems like a product like this would make development of stable software easier as well.

Matt

User avatar
Krumpy
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1228
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 10:17 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Mn
Contact:

Postby Krumpy » Fri May 11, 2007 10:46 pm

If there is enough interest, then I can work with HomeSeer Technologies to test it. MLHSPlugin should work but have not tested it. MLHSPlugin does appear to work with the HSPro XP embeded solution as demonstrated by HST at CEDIA a few years ago.

User avatar
DavidL
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 11071
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact:

Postby DavidL » Sat May 12, 2007 12:46 am

There is no reason why MLServer / MLHSPlugin wouldn't work on XPEmbedded (it does). XPe is XP. Think of XPe as a stripped down and then built up version of XP for a specific hardware and software platform. In other words, you are only loading drivers and services that you need to get the job done with less bloat. XP is just as reliable as XPe. If yours isn't, then you have something wrong with your installation or use of the OS as an automation controller. Lock it down, put it on a reliable hardware platform and don't mess with it and it will run a LONG time trouble free.

wrbrower
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 9:41 pm
Contact:

Postby wrbrower » Sat Jan 05, 2008 12:19 am

It works just fine.

It is better to install MLServer on the D: drive though.

Bill


Return to “Homeseer”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest