Problems communicating with rx-v2500

jlp-cinemar
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 7:46 pm
Contact:

Problems communicating with rx-v2500

Postby jlp-cinemar » Sat Dec 18, 2010 3:30 pm

I am have problems trying to communicate to the rx-v2500. I have done this successfully in the past on a previous configuration of Mainlobby, which I have since changed awhile ago. I have recently upgraded to dvdlobby 3.90 and am working with the Ipad interface. All my modules are the latest revision according to the mainlobby installer. I have set up the serial interface on port 6 with the appropriate baud rate, parity, etc. When I issue the following command through the send command interface

MLYamaha|Z1Power~On~1

I get the following in the MLYamaha log:

MLYamaha Plugin Initialization Complete
CMD: Z1Power~On~1 FROM: myclient1
Entering SendViaCommPort Routine
Entering BinaryStr Routine
Comm Port Sending 7 bytes [02 30 37 45 37 45 03]
Opening Comm Port 0
Entering SendViaCommPort Routine
Entering BinaryStr Routine
Comm Port Sending 7 bytes [02 30 37 45 37 45 03]
Entering SendViaCommPort Routine
Entering BinaryStr Routine
Comm Port Sending 7 bytes [02 30 37 45 37 45 03]

It appears MLYamaha is trying to open serial port 0 - not 6 as is set in the plugin.

Any thoughts or things I can try to fix this?

Thanks

John

jlp-cinemar
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 7:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Problems communicating with rx-v2500

Postby jlp-cinemar » Thu Dec 23, 2010 4:30 pm

Ok, I have tried other serial ports which work fine with the mlcx777es plugin. No success. The mlyamaha log file still says the same thing - opening comm port 0 no matter which comm port I set in the plugin.

Am I chasing up the wrong tree with this log file entry or is it the problem?

Can someone with a yamaha receiver and the mlyamaha plugin report what their log file says about what comm port is being opened, so I can see if this is the real issue?

Thanks for the help.

John

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Problems communicating with rx-v2500

Postby CinemarDave » Mon Dec 27, 2010 10:43 am

The 0 being referenced translates to the first serial port as defined on the "Serial Ports" tab. So if the first combo box is set to 6 then it is using COM 6. What you are seeing in the log appears to bee normal. Except there is no data coming back from the receiver.

jlp-cinemar
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 7:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Problems communicating with rx-v2500

Postby jlp-cinemar » Sun Jan 02, 2011 8:33 am

Dave

Thanks for your response. It put me on the right track of fixing my problem. Turned out to be a combination of cable and communication parameters.

Thanks

John


Return to “Yamaha”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest