CAM 6.6 - Adding two more sets of speakers to one zone ??

chrismd77
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 308
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 3:04 pm
Location: Shrewsbury, PA
Contact:

CAM 6.6 - Adding two more sets of speakers to one zone ??

Postby chrismd77 » Thu Jul 17, 2008 9:34 am

I currently have a CAM 6.6 and I want to add two more pairs of speakers to my basement zone. I am afraid that the impedance will not match and I will burn the amp up. Is there a proper way to add two more sets of speakers to one zone? I assume I will need some sort of impedance matcher from russound. I also do understand that I will lose a bit of volume but I am not worried.

Any help or info would be great.

Thanks, Chris

User avatar
Scott
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 145
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2008 5:21 pm
Location: Orlando, FL
Contact:

Postby Scott » Thu Jul 17, 2008 10:07 am

Use a volume control with impedience matching and adjust its impedience to the amount of speakers you are planning on using. Remember volume output will be reduced
Scott
InControl

bigDvette
Expert
Expert
Posts: 718
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 12:19 pm
Contact:

Postby bigDvette » Thu Jul 17, 2008 11:52 am

You could move that zone to zone 1 or 2 and use a cheap 2 channel amp to drive those speakers.

or you could buy the 235ls amp from russound which will allow you to hook up 2 pairs of 8 ohm speakers (it can handle 4 ohm load) and you won't loose any volume.

Just another thought so you won't loose quality of sound. Depending on how good your speakers are (efficient and such), they may not sound good at a lower power level.


Return to “Russound”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests