Multiple Edgeports???

Place to post your ideas and questions on how to integrate Cinemar's software in a Home Automation System (lighting, security, hvac, etc.)
Big Bob
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 289
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2004 1:01 pm
Contact:

Multiple Edgeports???

Postby Big Bob » Tue Aug 15, 2006 8:03 pm

I'm running out of serial ports on my Edgeport 416, but before I buy a second one, do you guys know if I'll have any issues with 2 Edgeports on one PC?

The PC getting confused over the devices, the OS (Win XP) not recognizing all 32 ports, etc., etc???

I couldn't find anything on the Digi website saying this wouldn't work and the owners manual implies that it can, but I figured I'd check here to see if anyone has actually done this before I spent the cash.

Thanks in advance

Joe

User avatar
mcascio
Founder
Founder
Posts: 8270
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Kenosha, Wi
Contact:

Postby mcascio » Wed Aug 16, 2006 9:43 am

Joe,

No problems here with multiple edgeports. Just keep in mind, the current limitation is 16 com ports by Windows. There's discussion here of trying to expand MLServer to support more than 16 simultaneous ports.
Mario Cascio
Cinemar, Inc.
http://www.cinemaronline.com


Return to “Home Automation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest