Update MainLobby with Status from HomeSeer

Place to post your ideas and questions on how to integrate Cinemar's software in a Home Automation System (lighting, security, hvac, etc.)
Funboy
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 294
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2003 9:54 pm
Contact:

Update MainLobby with Status from HomeSeer

Postby Funboy » Fri Jul 18, 2003 12:34 am

I'm using MainLobby running on ProGear tablets that I have embedded into walls throughout my house. I control lights and equipment using Girder and HomeSeer. Everything works amazingly well.

I have one more thing I need to get working.

How can I have MainLobby refresh or update a scene when a devices status changes from within HomeSeer (e.g. when an event fires off in HomeSeer and turns something on or off)?

I thought of modifying every event that I have in HomeSeer to send a message to Girder which could then send a message to my ProGear. But how do I get MainLobby to respond to the Girder message? How do I tell it to refresh it's current scene and update status'?

Any thoughts you may have on how to do this would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
- Funboy

User avatar
DavidL
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 11071
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact:

ML / HS integration

Postby DavidL » Fri Jul 18, 2003 7:19 am

Funboy,
I have badgered Mario (and Rich of Homeseer) about this one many times. Mario advises he is working on something but it will be a while. Till then, you can send commands to HS, not recieve status updates. Have you looked at HSFlash of Gary's in the HS plugin directory? I have tested it in WebLobby and it looks good. Gary continues to add more functionality to HSFlash. Gary is missing the user development environment that ML supports (you have to keep Gary's UI, not create your own as in ML).

User avatar
mcascio
Founder
Founder
Posts: 8270
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Kenosha, Wi
Contact:

Postby mcascio » Fri Jul 18, 2003 9:42 am

Hi Funboy,

The current version of MainLobby doesn't accept command line paramenters...we're working on this for Version 3. So you'll be able to trigger events from applications like HomeSeer. Although in your situation, the communication with HomeSeer will be much more integrated and you won't have to do any of that.

Although I could forsee the following, you might have a motion detector in your theater. Homeseer detects the motion and then sends a command line parameter to MainLobby to open a particular scene in your theater.

We're working on some ideas for communication with HS, but we're still in the early testing phases. Like everything produced thus far, we want to make sure it stands up to the quality and standards of our other products.
Mario Cascio
Cinemar, Inc.
http://www.cinemaronline.com

Guest

Postby Guest » Sat Jul 26, 2003 8:52 pm

Funboy,

Would you be willing to post some pics of your embedded Progears? I did the same thing, just want to see what you came up with.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/attachme ... fullpage=1

Dan

Funboy
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 294
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2003 9:54 pm
Contact:

Pics of Web Pad installation

Postby Funboy » Wed Aug 06, 2003 7:52 pm

You can see pics of my installation here: http://www.dhunay.com/projects.html
- Funboy

User avatar
mcascio
Founder
Founder
Posts: 8270
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Kenosha, Wi
Contact:

Postby mcascio » Thu Aug 07, 2003 11:08 am

Cool stuff Funboy.

Nice documenation and a great resource.

One recommendation from a web design perspective is to use smaller sized images for the thumbnails of your screenshots. The images are quite large and slow to load even on a high-speed connection. :)
Mario Cascio

Cinemar, Inc.

http://www.cinemaronline.com


Return to “Home Automation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest