RS232 question

Place to post your ideas and questions on how to integrate Cinemar's software in a Home Automation System (lighting, security, hvac, etc.)
kgingerich
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 312
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2007 9:11 am
Contact:

RS232 question

Postby kgingerich » Mon Jan 28, 2013 8:57 pm

I was just about to add the Avatrix V4 driver to my setup but I then realized I already have a URC MSC-400 controlling the avatrix via RS232.

Is it possible to somehow have two peices of equipment using the same rs232 port on the avatrix?

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: RS232 question

Postby CinemarDave » Tue Jan 29, 2013 11:51 am

Devices to exist that would allow two devices to control the same serial device. I've never used one so I cannot say how well they will work. It is not just a simple Y adapter. It required electronics in the middle to buffer the two controlling devices and merge it into one output.


Return to “Home Automation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest