Cinemar software and Windows 8

Cinemar News & Announcements
User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Cinemar software and Windows 8

Postby CinemarDave » Wed Feb 29, 2012 11:18 am

We at Cinemar are not planing on supporting any public release of Windows 8 at this time. We strongly urge you not to try to run our software on any beta version of Windows 8. If you are the daring type and like bleeding edge go for it. However, if something doesn't work our response will be to go back to Windows 7.

User avatar
Mr. Spock
Member
Member
Posts: 92
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 12:33 pm
Location: San Diego
Contact:

Re: Cinemar software and Windows 8

Postby Mr. Spock » Thu Nov 15, 2012 9:47 pm

Hi Dave

Now that W8 is out I'm curious if your position has changed. I'm reading good things about using W8 pro as a server. I'm going to be buying a new PC for my ML and general purpose server soon. Seems like W7 will start fading at Dell and others.

To be clear, I'm referring to windows 8 desktop not Metro or RT.

Your thoughts?

sonypoolplr
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1490
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 8:48 am
Location: New Jersey
Contact:

Re: Cinemar software and Windows 8

Postby sonypoolplr » Fri Nov 16, 2012 7:16 am

I was wondering if the client portion will work on Win 8? Like the previous post says, Dell is offering most of their new laptops with Win 8, so it is going to get hard to find a laptop without 8 already on it.

Thanks.

greyt
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 448
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2005 7:26 am
Contact:

Re: Cinemar software and Windows 8

Postby greyt » Fri Nov 16, 2012 7:36 am

I use the client on a Windows 8 machine and also run the client in 4 sessions on Windows Server 2012 Terminal server without issue.....

It is best if you turn UAC off, or give the user full control permissions to the Cinemar folder, but this is no different from Windows 7.

sonypoolplr
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1490
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 8:48 am
Location: New Jersey
Contact:

Re: Cinemar software and Windows 8

Postby sonypoolplr » Fri Nov 16, 2012 8:30 am

Thanks that is good to know. How do you like Win 8? Sorry that it is a little off the original topic.

greyt
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 448
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2005 7:26 am
Contact:

Re: Cinemar software and Windows 8

Postby greyt » Fri Nov 16, 2012 8:54 am

I work in IT and specialise in Microsoft systems, so I see it from two sides :-

Technically, under the hood it is an improvement over Windows 7 with a number of improvements, but apart from faster boot I doubt the average user would notice them unless you have a touch screen.

Usability sucks in a mouse/keyboard environment and their "Metro" implementation is inconsistent where some apps use Metro, some use the desktop and you are forever switching in and out of two environments that have no real connection. Supporting machines remotely is also a pain trying to access the start bar via pixel perfect use of the mouse hovering in the bottom left corner.

Personally, my office run Windows 8 for familiarization and we have all ended up installing "Classic Start Menu" (A open source start bar).

My advice to our customers has been don't bother upgrading from win7 to win 8, but if you end up with a windows 8 machine then it will be fine and they can install a 3rd party start bar if they need to.

sonypoolplr
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1490
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 8:48 am
Location: New Jersey
Contact:

Re: Cinemar software and Windows 8

Postby sonypoolplr » Fri Nov 16, 2012 9:54 am

Thank you very much for that information.

User avatar
Mr. Spock
Member
Member
Posts: 92
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 12:33 pm
Location: San Diego
Contact:

Re: Cinemar software and Windows 8

Postby Mr. Spock » Fri Nov 16, 2012 12:26 pm

+1 on the 3rd party start SW. I'm considering using Start8 so It will boot to the desktop and not Metro. It also gives you the Start buttom back and allows you to change some of the look and feel to be more like 7 or XP, if you wish.

Has anyone used Win8 pro on the ML server side?
Last edited by Mr. Spock on Fri Nov 16, 2012 12:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Cinemar software and Windows 8

Postby CinemarDave » Fri Nov 16, 2012 12:28 pm

We have not tested MLServer on Windows 8 yet but there is no reason it shouldn't work. You will need to follow the same rules as in Windows 7. Turn off UAC and make sure the user is an administrator. MLServer will never be modified to conform as a "metro" app. It will remain a desktop app.

sbuckler
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 349
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2003 8:17 am
Location: Cape Cod
Contact:

Re: Cinemar software and Windows 8

Postby sbuckler » Fri Nov 16, 2012 2:28 pm

I installed the Installation Assistant the other day on a new laptop and when open I the program, I get the nag screen to turn off UAC. I have turned off UAC. I am the only user so am admin, did run as administrator, and changed permissions on the Cinemar folder. After several attempts, I gave up. Anyone else have a problem getting through the nag screen?
Stan

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Cinemar software and Windows 8

Postby CinemarDave » Fri Nov 16, 2012 2:54 pm

Put LogMeIn on that laptop and let me look at it.

sbuckler
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 349
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2003 8:17 am
Location: Cape Cod
Contact:

Re: Cinemar software and Windows 8

Postby sbuckler » Fri Nov 16, 2012 3:35 pm

PM Sent

sbuckler
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 349
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2003 8:17 am
Location: Cape Cod
Contact:

Re: Cinemar software and Windows 8

Postby sbuckler » Sat Nov 17, 2012 8:47 am

PM sent with new logmein credentials

sbuckler
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 349
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2003 8:17 am
Location: Cape Cod
Contact:

Re: Cinemar software and Windows 8

Postby sbuckler » Sat Nov 17, 2012 10:12 am

Got installation assistant to load. Apparently with Win8 turning off UAC with the slider does not completely turn it off. I had to edit the registry. For anyone else:
run regedit
Navigate to: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System

Double click the EnableLUA key and change its value from 1 to 0.

EDIT: Be warned that you can no longer open apps after changing this setting. Must turn on UAC again to use apps.

Stan

User avatar
Mr. Spock
Member
Member
Posts: 92
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 12:33 pm
Location: San Diego
Contact:

Re: Cinemar software and Windows 8

Postby Mr. Spock » Sat Nov 17, 2012 11:24 am

Interesting. I know nothing of this function, but I see its been around since Vista. Maybe disabling EnableInstallerDetection in the registry would have worked better?

Does anyone else experience this on win8?

http://www.rawcomputing.co.uk/vistatips36.html


Return to “News & Announcements”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests