Cinemar Automates ESPN Studio 1

Cinemar News & Announcements

Cinemar Automates ESPN Studio 1

Postby mcascio » Tue Oct 19, 2010 2:13 pm

Cinemar Automates ESPN Studio 1

Kenosha, Wisconsin, United States, 10/19/2010
– Cinemar, Inc., a leading provider of affordable home automation and media management solutions since 2002, recently finished up a project for ESPN which incorporated Cinemar's flagship products: MainLobby and MLServer in conjunction with custom hardware and programming. ESPN had used Cinemar inhouse in the past for another project but was looking to automate a much bigger Studio that was nearing construction completion.

Image

Automating Studio 1
ESPN staff can now operate all the studio, set and talent montiors from a central 15" Cinemar touch screen. 18 monitors are being controlled by Cinemar's user interface including a 103" Panasonic Plasma and a 70" touch screen. "This eliminates the need for ESPN staff to grab remotes for every monitor when it's time to power on or off all of them. A single click turns everything on or off," stated Cinemar President, Mario Cascio.

Other features include 99 favorites displayed on a single-screen for quick access to all channels. This screen is especially important during live productions. A remote control screen operates channel, volume and menu operations for all capable monitors. Cinemar was informed that most shows on ESPNU are filmed in Studio 1. Cinemar and ESPN are discussing other automation projects for the near future.

Image

For more information about this project and Cinemar products, please visit the Cinemar website or call them directly at 262-859-2666.


About Cinemar, Inc.
Cinemar, Inc. offers home automation and media management solutions to the budget conscious. Cinemar's affordable and easy-to-use Windows based products control multiple systems from a single customizable interface. Visit www.cinemaronline.com for more information.
Mario Cascio
Cinemar, Inc.
http://www.cinemaronline.com
User avatar
mcascio
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 8262
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Kenosha, Wi

Re: Cinemar Automates ESPN Studio 1

Postby shakey » Tue Oct 19, 2010 7:58 pm

You all have been busy. Congrats

Shakey
shakey
Intermediate
Intermediate
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2008 9:55 pm

Re: Cinemar Automates ESPN Studio 1

Postby DaveB » Tue Oct 19, 2010 8:41 pm

All I can say is great work and congratulations! Keep up the progress into new endeavors!!
User avatar
DaveB
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
 
Posts: 2760
Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 10:57 pm
Location: Mays Landing, NJ

Re: Cinemar Automates ESPN Studio 1

Postby jjjukebox » Wed Oct 20, 2010 9:27 am

Excellent work!!
Good to see you are getting some great opportunities and exposure.
User avatar
jjjukebox
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
 
Posts: 1024
Joined: Sat May 22, 2004 9:54 pm
Location: Toronto

Re: Cinemar Automates ESPN Studio 1

Postby rpalori » Wed Oct 20, 2010 10:14 pm

Are you controlling all those monitors by IR, Serial, or TCP/IP control? Just wondering thats a lot of emitters or serial cards. It would be nice to control each monitor with HDMI 1.4 which has network built into the cable. Plug and Play? Just connect everything thru a HDMI switcher that can handle 1.4 and BAAAMM you have instant communications and HD audio/video. The days of running multiple wires per device are going away. Its like comparing the 8 track to the CD.

Nice Work Cinemar!!

Ryan
User avatar
rpalori
Member
Member
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2005 10:13 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Cinemar Automates ESPN Studio 1

Postby mcascio » Thu Oct 21, 2010 8:07 am

Thanks guys. This was a fun project for us similar to our Air Force Super Car project. http://forum.cinemaronline.com/viewtopic.php?f=40&t=15743

For this project, every monitor was controlled by IR. There were 3 instances where the monitors didn't have IR as an option. So we used an IP based product and relays to turn them on/off.

We would have preferred to go the serial route, but we weren't consulted early enough on the project.

I haven't seen any control happening through HDMI yet. We will have to see how that pans out.
Mario Cascio
Cinemar, Inc.
http://www.cinemaronline.com
User avatar
mcascio
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 8262
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Kenosha, Wi

Re: Cinemar Automates ESPN Studio 1

Postby rpalori » Thu Oct 21, 2010 9:48 am

Mario, you would have to go to the China factories to see the latest and greatest HDMI cables, baluns, and switchers. My brother has his own OEM company that deals with factories over there. So I always get the early scoop on new technology.


Ryan
User avatar
rpalori
Member
Member
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2005 10:13 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Re: Cinemar Automates ESPN Studio 1

Postby mcascio » Sat Oct 23, 2010 8:21 am

Yeah - we always seem to lag behind here in the US. All in good time. We're excited to see the shift happening somewhere though.
Until then, we'll control components any way we can. :)
Mario Cascio
Cinemar, Inc.
http://www.cinemaronline.com
User avatar
mcascio
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 8262
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Kenosha, Wi

Re: Cinemar Automates ESPN Studio 1

Postby MurrayW » Tue Oct 26, 2010 5:32 pm

So, in working with ESPN, did they give you permission to use the ESPN logos for the TV Logo library?
MurrayW
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
 
Posts: 1195
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 1:05 pm
Location: Austin, TX

Re: Cinemar Automates ESPN Studio 1

Postby mcascio » Tue Oct 26, 2010 6:29 pm

Unfortunately not. :)
Mario Cascio
Cinemar, Inc.
http://www.cinemaronline.com
User avatar
mcascio
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 8262
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Kenosha, Wi


Return to News & Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron