Support for home weather stations

Please post general questions about WeatherLobby here
User avatar
lathanm
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 372
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 2:27 pm
Location: Aurora, IL
Contact:

Support for home weather stations

Postby lathanm » Mon Mar 10, 2008 1:38 pm

Will support be added for home weather stations. I am looking at getting one that has a serial output and wanted to know if this is even on the radar?

Here is the one I was looking at. It says it comes with it own software already and can export data to spreadsheets for graphing.
http://www.weatherkeeper.com/Wireless_P ... 308twc.htm
Hacker /n./ One who enjoys the intellectual challenge of creatively overcoming or circumventing limitations.

Pass the popcorn, the movie is starting!

http://project2501.tzo.com/gallery/automation
http://project2501.tumblr.com

User avatar
DavidL
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 11071
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact:

Postby DavidL » Mon Mar 10, 2008 1:40 pm

There is a 1-Wire plugin that can be used with a compatible weather station. Not sure to what degree the plugin currently supports ie: which sensors.

There was some passing discussion of a building a serial driver for a "pro" level unit (WeatherHawk comes to mind), but that priority came and went with the dealer that originally brought up the need.

If the unit you mention sends data to a spreadsheet, then you might be able to reuse MLDatabase with an ODBC connection to the spreadsheet. MLDatabase can then create Vars in MLServer and do graphing.

User avatar
lathanm
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 372
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 2:27 pm
Location: Aurora, IL
Contact:

Postby lathanm » Mon Mar 10, 2008 1:56 pm

Well if the sale makes it past he finance committee I will let you know what the thing is capable of.
Hacker /n./ One who enjoys the intellectual challenge of creatively overcoming or circumventing limitations.



Pass the popcorn, the movie is starting!



http://project2501.tzo.com/gallery/automation

http://project2501.tumblr.com

michael(fl)
Member
Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 6:38 pm
Location: Largo, FL
Contact:

Re: Support for home weather stations

Postby michael(fl) » Tue Feb 02, 2010 7:57 pm

Did anything ever happen with adding ML support for a weather station?

thanks,
michael

bigDvette
Expert
Expert
Posts: 718
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 12:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Support for home weather stations

Postby bigDvette » Tue Feb 02, 2010 8:18 pm

I've written a program that pulls all the data from a davis weather station and populates variables in MLServer via the web interface. I've tried a few times to get the base modules to build a plugin for this that would exist in MLServer, but haven't gotten support for this. I've been running it for over a year without problems. It pushes data to Mainlobby whenever a variable changes and pushes the historical data every 5 minutes so you get weekly, monthly, yearly hi/lo data.

Your welcome to a copy of the program if you are planning to use a Davis Vantage Pro 2

I populate all these variables -

davis_current_barometer = 25.20
davis_current_barometer_trend = Steady
davis_current_inside_humidity = 33
davis_current_inside_temp = 70
davis_current_outside_humidity = 72
davis_current_outside_temp = 44
davis_current_rain_day = 0
davis_current_rain_month = .01
davis_current_rain_rate = 0
davis_current_rain_year = 1.76
davis_current_wind_avg = 0
davis_current_wind_direction = 40
davis_current_wind_direction_text = NE
davis_current_wind_speed = 0
davis_daily_hi_barometer = 31.37
davis_daily_hi_inside_humidity = 35
davis_daily_hi_inside_humidity_time = 11:51 am
davis_daily_hi_inside_temp = 70
davis_daily_hi_inside_temp_time = 5:37 pm
davis_daily_hi_outside_humidity = 88
davis_daily_hi_outside_humidity_time = 3:50 am
davis_daily_hi_outside_temp = 52
davis_daily_hi_outside_temp_time = 3:30 pm
davis_daily_hi_wind_speed = 12
davis_daily_hi_wind_time = 11:36 am
davis_daily_low_barometer = 18.95
davis_daily_low_inside_humidity = 33
davis_daily_low_inside_humidity_time = 12:0 am
davis_daily_low_inside_temp = 66
davis_daily_low_inside_temp_time = 12:0 am
davis_daily_low_outside_humidity = 52
davis_daily_low_outside_humidity_time = 3:32 pm
davis_daily_low_outside_temp = 39
davis_daily_low_outside_temp_time = 1:27 am
davis_monthly_hi_inside_humidity = 38
davis_monthly_hi_inside_temp = 70
davis_monthly_hi_outside_humidity = 92
davis_monthly_hi_outside_temp = 52
davis_monthly_low_inside_humidity = 32
davis_monthly_low_inside_temp = 63
davis_monthly_low_outside_humidity = 52
davis_monthly_low_outside_temp = 29
davis_status = ON

I was going to use the Serial plugin from Tallus, but everything is HEX and requires a lot of math, plus I can cache the results in my program and only send updates to MLServer when something changes so I keep the traffic to the server low.

MurrayW
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1198
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 1:05 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: Support for home weather stations

Postby MurrayW » Tue Feb 02, 2010 10:05 pm

bigDvette wrote:I've written a program that pulls all the data from a davis weather station and populates variables in MLServer via the web interface. I've tried a few times to get the base modules to build a plugin for this that would exist in MLServer, but haven't gotten support for this. I've been running it for over a year without problems. It pushes data to Mainlobby whenever a variable changes and pushes the historical data every 5 minutes so you get weekly, monthly, yearly hi/lo data.

Your welcome to a copy of the program if you are planning to use a Davis Vantage Pro 2

I was going to use the Serial plugin from Tallus, but everything is HEX and requires a lot of math, plus I can cache the results in my program and only send updates to MLServer when something changes so I keep the traffic to the server low.
I don't know if this would help or not, but the Tallus serial plugin has a built in Hex converter. I have a Davis Vantage Pro 2 and would be interested in trying to use this if you want to share.

thanks,
Murray

bigDvette
Expert
Expert
Posts: 718
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 12:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Support for home weather stations

Postby bigDvette » Tue Feb 02, 2010 11:25 pm

Sure I have your e-mail from the iphone stuff.

What I do is I have a script I execute after MLServer has started up.

The command to start the program is

[path to where you put the exe]\vantagepro.exe" [serial port] [mlserver ip or name]

so mine is
"c:\program files\MLServer\vantagepro\vantagepro.exe" COM4 192.168.3.160

I'll compile it with an installer and send it to you. You know you need the datalogger (either usb or serial will work) installed in your vantagepro

MurrayW
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1198
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 1:05 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: Support for home weather stations

Postby MurrayW » Wed Feb 03, 2010 12:31 am

bigDvette wrote:Sure I have your e-mail from the iphone stuff.

What I do is I have a script I execute after MLServer has started up.

The command to start the program is

[path to where you put the exe]\vantagepro.exe" [serial port] [mlserver ip or name]

so mine is
"c:\program files\MLServer\vantagepro\vantagepro.exe" COM4 192.168.3.160

I'll compile it with an installer and send it to you. You know you need the datalogger (either usb or serial will work) installed in your vantagepro
I have the usb datalogger installed, but the vantage pro is in the kitchen and the MLServer computer is in an equipment closet 30 or 40 feet away. I have never connected them, so don't go to any trouble getting me the script as it will be a while until I am ready for it. This is another one of those things that I have never gotten around to doing. :oops:

So i have to do 1 of three things before I am ready.
1. Run a usb connection from my kitchen to the equipment closet.
2. Get a Wireless Weather Envoy and connect it to my MLServer PC.
3. Put my vantage pro 2 next to my MLServer PC and just rely on an MLServer scene to replace what is displayed on the vantage pro 2.

thanks,
Murray

Texsun
Member
Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2008 6:28 pm
Location: DFW, Texas
Contact:

Re: Support for home weather stations

Postby Texsun » Sun Apr 04, 2010 1:31 pm

I'm using a bit more round-about method, but it's reliable. My Davis Vantage Pro2 feeds VWS, which in turn shares it's data with a HomeSeer plugin, which then supplies ML through the MLHS plugin. No issues in many months.

dgruehn
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 1:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Support for home weather stations

Postby dgruehn » Thu Apr 15, 2010 1:57 pm

I would really appreciate access to this program to interface my Vantage Pro 2. Is it still availble? Much appreciated.


Return to “WeatherLobby Questions & Answers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest