MLLighting UPB Import

Discuss topics related to the plugins and uses for MLServer beta
Clever1
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 220
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 10:31 am
Location: Huntsville, AL.
Contact:

MLLighting UPB Import

Postby Clever1 » Mon Dec 06, 2010 3:40 pm

I have attempted to import my UPE file from UPStart but I am getting an error that says EOF found prematurely any ideas?

Clever1
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 220
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 10:31 am
Location: Huntsville, AL.
Contact:

Re: MLLighting UPB Import

Postby Clever1 » Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:22 pm

Bump... Any ideas??

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: MLLighting UPB Import

Postby CinemarDave » Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:37 pm

You will have to send me your upe file so I can examine it.

Clever1
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 220
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 10:31 am
Location: Huntsville, AL.
Contact:

Re: MLLighting UPB Import

Postby Clever1 » Fri Dec 17, 2010 3:13 pm

Here ya go...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: MLLighting UPB Import

Postby CinemarDave » Sat Dec 18, 2010 1:18 pm

Can you exclude the camera from the upe export and see if that resolves the issue?

Clever1
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 220
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 10:31 am
Location: Huntsville, AL.
Contact:

Re: MLLighting UPB Import

Postby Clever1 » Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:13 pm

I will try that but can you tell me what you see in the file that makes you think that is the problem? Is there an EOF in there somewhere?

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: MLLighting UPB Import

Postby CinemarDave » Wed Dec 22, 2010 4:25 pm

The very last entry in the upe file is the camera. Since a camera is not part of MLLighting the plugin does not know how to parse the lines in the upe file correctly and gets itself out of sync. If you can exclude the camera from the export file everything should be fine. If not you'll have to wait until I update the upb driver so that it ignores the camera.

Clever1
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 220
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 10:31 am
Location: Huntsville, AL.
Contact:

Re: MLLighting UPB Import

Postby Clever1 » Wed Jan 26, 2011 9:59 am

I still have yet to be able to import a upe file... I even removed all devices but a single lamp module and still recieve the ERROR message stating the EOF was found early... Has anyone else successfully imported a UPE file??

Is there an option to where I can manual assign the UPB address to my devices?? Right now if I don't allow the plugin to automatically set the address of the UPB modules they can't control them... I have to have set UPB address as an HAI system also controls the devices...

I had another thought for the MLLighting Plugin. It would be nice if I could map an existing lighting control system to pseudo devices in the MLLighting Plugin... For example I create a device in MLLighting that isn't attached to a controller so that I have specify a map to another device... i.e. Device 001 in MLLighting Plug is Mapped to HAI_001_unit36 which then creates links between mllighting_001_status to hai_001_unit36_status and mllighting_001_value links to hai_001_unit36_value... Does that make sense??

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: MLLighting UPB Import

Postby CinemarDave » Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:44 pm

UPE files are imported all the time. When you have a UPB device that the plugin does not know about then there are issues. Version 1.0.971 of the UBP controller has been modified to import the UPE file you listed in a previous message.

Clever1
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 220
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 10:31 am
Location: Huntsville, AL.
Contact:

Re: MLLighting UPB Import

Postby Clever1 » Wed Jan 26, 2011 6:25 pm

Thank you... I'll update it and give it a try....


Return to “MLServer Questions & Answers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest