Panel Scroll Issue

Discuss topics related to the plugins and uses for MLServer beta
User avatar
DaveB
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 3143
Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 10:57 pm
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Contact:

Panel Scroll Issue

Postby DaveB » Sat Nov 06, 2010 9:15 am

Under windows 7 and MLS, I am having a scrolling issue. I thought is was a fluke at first, but the issue seems to be getting worse. For no reason at all, I loose the ability to scroll the sub-panels inside of the MLS interface. I can grab and move the scroll bars or use the arrows, but the contents of the panels do not scroll. If I position a panel outside of the visible MLS window, I can still scroll the entire MLS space, just not the sub-panels. If I close just the sub-panel and then re-open, the problem still exists. An mls restart always solves the problem. All other programs that I run on the same machine are fine.

I can post screen shots, but in this case, it will not help much. Ideas? Anyone else experiencing this?
Thanks!

Dave Bruner
:shock:

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Panel Scroll Issue

Postby CinemarDave » Sat Nov 06, 2010 10:14 am

What is a sub-panel? A scrollable text box? In this case a screenshot may help.

User avatar
DaveB
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 3143
Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 10:57 pm
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Contact:

Re: Panel Scroll Issue

Postby DaveB » Sat Nov 06, 2010 10:26 am

Any of the panels that you can bring up inside of the main MLS window
Thanks!

Dave Bruner
:shock:

User avatar
DavidL
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 11071
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact:

Re: Panel Scroll Issue

Postby DavidL » Sat Nov 06, 2010 11:03 am

DaveB,
Are you seeing this when RDP'd into the Server? I have noticed what sounds like same you are describing for years.
Since I am almost always RDP connected, I attribute the issue to that.
Seems when MLServer / or it's Server OS is taxed is when I see it most.
I notice that the scroll bar gets a big "arrow" that isn't drawn well by the graphics engine when it occurs.

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: Panel Scroll Issue

Postby CinemarDave » Sat Nov 06, 2010 11:18 am

Oh MLServer. If you are indeed RDPing into the server then this can be an issue since the grid control I am using is a bit touchy when you try to scroll during remote sessions. You should still be able to scroll the windows using the cursor keys. The scroll bars are the problem. This gets resolved in MLServer 4 since I'm using a new grid control there.

User avatar
DaveB
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 3143
Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 10:57 pm
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Contact:

Re: Panel Scroll Issue

Postby DaveB » Sat Nov 06, 2010 11:49 am

Both Daves;

Yes - Large arrow at times, but I do not typically RDP into the server. I do notice this issue when all of my screens (5 total via TCP/IP and two web connections (iphone and ipad) are all connected. The MLS machine is crusing along, but as Dave P said, the grid GUI has some small issues.

I just wanted to be sure it was not something on my end. I am still al little gun shy after two machine crashes in a month!

FWIW: between us three we have 17,584 posts! I know, who cares!
Thanks!

Dave Bruner
:shock:

User avatar
ronsatter
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1304
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 1:40 am
Location: San Leandro, CA
Contact:

Re: Panel Scroll Issue

Postby ronsatter » Sat Nov 06, 2010 5:09 pm

FWIW: between us three we have 17,584 posts! I know, who cares!


Who ya gonna call ... 8)

Ron
If it ain't broke ... don't fix it!


Return to “MLServer Questions & Answers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest