Roku Player

Discuss topics related to the plugins and uses for MLServer beta
User avatar
bobbym
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2004 5:30 pm
Location: Old Bridge, New Jersey
Contact:

Roku Player

Postby bobbym » Sun Feb 28, 2010 9:13 pm

I am trying to control my Roku Player using the MLTCP plugin. It would seem to be straightforward put in the ip address and port# and correct command and should work. Below is the log file. It looks like it has connected to the box. Tried some of the commands none worked.
Thanks Bob M.


Got [Send~Roku~press home]
Opening connection to 192.168.1.105 on port 8080
Roku Connecting...
Roku Connected...
TCP Sending [press home]
Rcvd: [20F87N004304\x0D\x0A]
Rcvd: [ETHMAC 00:0d:4b:36:69:28\x0D\x0AWIFIMAC 00:0d:4b:36:69:29\x0D\x0A>]
Got [Send~Roku~press right]
TCP Sending [press right]
Got [Send~Roku~press left]
TCP Sending [press left]

User avatar
DavidL
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 11071
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact:

Re: Roku Player

Postby DavidL » Sun Feb 28, 2010 11:07 pm

Do you have the protocol that the roku responds to?

You might want to check MLComDevice which is two way TCP / Serial.

donburkard
Expert
Expert
Posts: 595
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 7:06 pm
Location: Downingtown, PA
Contact:

Re: Roku Player

Postby donburkard » Mon Apr 12, 2010 7:15 pm

what ever happened with this. I to have a roku but am controlling it with a usburit and the roku remote on my iphone. I guess i never realized i could control it with another plugin. anything new?
Hooked on HighDef

User avatar
DavidL
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 11071
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact:

Re: Roku Player

Postby DavidL » Mon Apr 12, 2010 9:28 pm

Looking quick at the Roku protocol...should be able to use MLComDevice with it.
Looks like the device supports lots of commands and data queries. Ideally it would be a custom plugin. But, you can probably go as far as you want to with MLComDevice. It will be work though!

User avatar
bobbym
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2004 5:30 pm
Location: Old Bridge, New Jersey
Contact:

Re: Roku Player

Postby bobbym » Tue Apr 13, 2010 1:01 pm

donburkard
I did got mine working with the MLTCP plugin, the only problem I have is with the Roku Player itself. It will stop responding to TCP/IP commends after a day or so, let me point out it still responds to ir remote commends and has no problem streaming any content. I have to reboot the play to get it working again. I posted this on the Roku Forum but got no feed back, so I don't know if this is isolated to my player or if this is by design. donburkard If you do set this up with your Roku Player using the MLTCP plugin I would be curious to hear back from you if you have the same problem. If you need any help let me know.
Bob M.

User avatar
Fonceur
Expert
Expert
Posts: 583
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 10:18 am
Contact:

Re: Roku Player

Postby Fonceur » Tue Apr 13, 2010 3:44 pm

bobbym wrote:It will stop responding to TCP/IP commends after a day or so, let me point out it still responds to ir remote commends and has no problem streaming any content.

Have you checked the settings to make sure it's not a "feature" that you can switch off? Alternatively, maybe you just need to send some kind of keep alive command every few hours.
MLComDevice: Control serial/TCP device (ASCII/hex) - MLSchedule: Alternative to MLScheduler
MLBeyondTV and MLSageTV: PVR support - TChanger: Sony BDP-CX7000ES 400 disc Bluray changer
TRadio: Sirius/HD/XM radio - TChart: Chart from variable Wiki

donburkard
Expert
Expert
Posts: 595
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 7:06 pm
Location: Downingtown, PA
Contact:

Re: Roku Player

Postby donburkard » Wed Apr 21, 2010 8:18 pm

any idea how to set the ip address on the roku so it stops changing every three days?
Hooked on HighDef

User avatar
DavidL
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 11071
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact:

Re: Roku Player

Postby DavidL » Wed Apr 21, 2010 8:29 pm

sounds like you have a dynamic assigned IP from your router. You could either change the roku to static addressing or change the router configuration to extend the lease period longer than a few days.

donburkard
Expert
Expert
Posts: 595
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 7:06 pm
Location: Downingtown, PA
Contact:

Re: Roku Player

Postby donburkard » Thu Apr 22, 2010 5:21 pm

any idea how to assign a dynamic ip on the roku?
Hooked on HighDef

MurrayW
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1198
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 1:05 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: Roku Player

Postby MurrayW » Thu Apr 22, 2010 5:40 pm

DavidL wrote:sounds like you have a dynamic assigned IP from your router. You could either change the roku to static addressing or change the router configuration to extend the lease period longer than a few days.
Unfortunately, you cannot assign a static ip to the roku. Can't you also assign force a device to receive a given dynamic address based on its mac address with a router?

donburkard
Expert
Expert
Posts: 595
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 7:06 pm
Location: Downingtown, PA
Contact:

Re: Roku Player

Postby donburkard » Thu Apr 22, 2010 5:59 pm

dont know? im really bad with routers but ill poke around and see how it goes.
Hooked on HighDef

User avatar
jjjukebox
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1024
Joined: Sat May 22, 2004 9:54 pm
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Re: Roku Player

Postby jjjukebox » Fri Apr 23, 2010 7:52 am

Or you can assign a reserved address within the DHCP range in the router setup.
J.J. Jukebox
Member


Return to “MLServer Questions & Answers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest