MLClientSvc Question

Discuss topics related to the plugins and uses for MLServer beta
sonypoolplr
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1490
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 8:48 am
Location: New Jersey
Contact:

MLClientSvc Question

Postby sonypoolplr » Sat Sep 19, 2009 9:36 am

I have the MLClientSvc plugin installed along with the client sides. I have the ports set up with access through the firewalls. When they connect, they work fine. What I don't understand is why doesn't the plugin show the clients as disconnected when the client side is shutdown. Because of them not coming up as disconnected, they don't try to reconnect. Is there something I need to look at to fix it?

Thanks.

sonypoolplr
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1490
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 8:48 am
Location: New Jersey
Contact:

Re: MLClientSvc Question

Postby sonypoolplr » Sun Sep 20, 2009 4:14 pm

Bump....Anyone?

I have one client computer shutdown now, and the plugin still shows that it is connected.

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: MLClientSvc Question

Postby CinemarDave » Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:17 pm

You know I have seen that happen from time to time. The MLClientSvc plugin does not get notified if a TCP connection is dropped. To get around this issue I'm adding a ping pulse into the software. The plugin will ping the remote clients every few seconds to make sure they are still there. I'll publish the release after it goes through a bit more testing.

sonypoolplr
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1490
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 8:48 am
Location: New Jersey
Contact:

Re: MLClientSvc Question

Postby sonypoolplr » Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:57 pm

Thank you Dave I appreciate that.

Ranger Home Automation
Expert
Expert
Posts: 652
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 10:31 pm
Location: Temple, central Texas
Contact:

Re: MLClientSvc Question

Postby Ranger Home Automation » Sat Mar 20, 2010 2:35 pm

I dont see a clientsvc.exe to execute on all clients. Where am I not looking? I am assuming that is why my mlserver says 0 of 5 client listening even though I have a client running.

Ok, nevermind the exe. I have the clientsvc plug in on the client. But im still not seeing the server listening to any clients.

Ranger Home Automation
Expert
Expert
Posts: 652
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 10:31 pm
Location: Temple, central Texas
Contact:

Re: MLClientSvc Question

Postby Ranger Home Automation » Sat Mar 20, 2010 3:21 pm

Ive installed the clientsvc plugin on the client. I beleive i am supposed to see it in my systray running. How do I start it once its installed? on the client, its running fine on mlserver.

However, that shouldnt be whats keeping mlserver from seeing the client. So much new stuff since I was last here. Im still scouring to see a fix or what Im doing wrong. not having much luck. Any suggestions would be mucho appreciated!

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: MLClientSvc Question

Postby CinemarDave » Sat Mar 20, 2010 3:36 pm

Do not install the MLClientSvc plugin on the Client PCs. You need to install the ClientSvc agent on the client PCs. Then you'll see it in the system tray.

Ranger Home Automation
Expert
Expert
Posts: 652
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 10:31 pm
Location: Temple, central Texas
Contact:

Re: MLClientSvc Question

Postby Ranger Home Automation » Sat Mar 20, 2010 4:37 pm

Ok, I give up looking, where the heck is the agent? LOL

THANKS!


added 5.368 CST: searched all wiki, all forums, all pcs. 'clientsvc agent' doesnt come up with much. Also, i dont think the client is required on every pc, if that is correct, then I likely have another issue of mlserver not seeing a client.

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: MLClientSvc Question

Postby CinemarDave » Sat Mar 20, 2010 7:45 pm

It is in MLInstaller right next to the MLClientSvc plugin.

Ranger Home Automation
Expert
Expert
Posts: 652
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 10:31 pm
Location: Temple, central Texas
Contact:

Re: MLClientSvc Question

Postby Ranger Home Automation » Sun Mar 21, 2010 11:49 am

Thanks Dave! Had that been a one liner in wiki, I would have saved 45 minutes. lol.

So simple too. I should have figured that out (or read it in wiki)


Return to “MLServer Questions & Answers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 1 guest