HD Video Distribution via UTP: Netstreams Panorama Product

Discuss with other members how to distribute and setup whole house audio and video. Let everyone know what combination of products you are using to accomplish this.
User avatar
egamez
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 152
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2004 8:58 am
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Contact:

HD Video Distribution via UTP: Netstreams Panorama Product

Postby egamez » Wed Aug 09, 2006 12:04 pm

Hi All

I do not know how many of you are aware or have any experience with this product from NetStreams: http://www.netstreams.com/Products.aspx?ID=4.

Its called Panorama and its basically a High Definition Video Distribution/Switching device accepting 4 sources and 6 zones expandable to more zones. It distribute video over Cat5 UTP and requires a wallplate Video Port which support HD component, composite, S-Video as well Input/Output IR. Please look at the Netstreams site for more details.

Since Panorama is controllable via RS232 ( confirmed to me by Netstreams) using HEX code ( in fact I have received the RS232 integration guide), I am wondering how easy could be to integrate it with MLserver/ML.

By the way I have looked at the MLRS323Send Plugin in MLS 3.0.61 to figure out how it works but settings submenu its not working ( not showed up).

If anyone has tried this product either standalone or integrated with ML please let me know

P.D. Look at the attached Panorama wiring diagram
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
mcascio
Founder
Founder
Posts: 8270
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Kenosha, Wi
Contact:

Postby mcascio » Wed Aug 09, 2006 1:05 pm

egamez,

Not sure what the PAN6400 unit costs, but you could do the same thing with the following hardware that we do support already:

http://www.cinemaronline.com/hdtv_switches_crm84.html
or
http://www.cinemaronline.com/hdtv_switches_crm62.html

We have a bidirectional plugin for the VideoStorm switchers.

And these baluns:
http://www.cinemaronline.com/products.500050.html
Mario Cascio
Cinemar, Inc.
http://www.cinemaronline.com

neils
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2003 11:19 pm
Contact:

Postby neils » Thu Jan 25, 2007 6:59 pm

Ummm, egamez, just to give you a heads up on this product you were suggesting above. At first glance, I wanted this system too, very clean concept, nice wallplates, incorporating all video and audio connectors together, all over 1 Cat5 cable. 4X6 matrix switching, the works, the dream solution for audio/video distribution in the house...

Except the price is not that nice.....$8250 ouch !!

http://www.avguide.com/products/product-3669/

http://www.netstreams.com/prodcatres.aspx?ID=4

Cheaper to pick up a 6X4 Channel Plus at $700, and buy/make your own wall plates and baluns...

User avatar
lathanm
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 372
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 2:27 pm
Location: Aurora, IL
Contact:

Postby lathanm » Thu Jan 25, 2007 7:52 pm

What is the model number on the Channel Plus switch? The only ones I have been able to find only support s-video and composite so no HD video.
Hacker /n./ One who enjoys the intellectual challenge of creatively overcoming or circumventing limitations.

Pass the popcorn, the movie is starting!

http://project2501.tzo.com/gallery/automation
http://project2501.tumblr.com

T.Wells
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 379
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 8:19 pm
Location: Philadelphia Suburbs
Contact:

Postby T.Wells » Thu Jan 25, 2007 9:13 pm

mcascio wrote:egamez,

Not sure what the PAN6400 unit costs, but you could do the same thing with the following hardware that we do support already:

http://www.cinemaronline.com/hdtv_switches_crm84.html


Mario,

If you add the digital video board onto the CRM84, does the new digital video output count as a 5th independently controllable output? If so, this unit will fit my needs perfectly.

Thanks,
T.Wells

User avatar
bhiga
Expert
Expert
Posts: 854
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 10:28 pm
Location: San Jose, CA
Contact:

Postby bhiga » Fri Jan 26, 2007 3:22 am

The Digital board is pretty much separate, so the Digital out is a separate output from the 4 analog outputs.

Note that there is no analog/digital transcoding, meaning the Digital output can only select from the Digital inputs, and the Analog output can only select from the Analog inputs.

Brandon
- Brandon
My MainLobby stuff (plug-ins, screenshots, etc)

neils
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2003 11:19 pm
Contact:

Postby neils » Fri Jan 26, 2007 2:54 pm

My apologies, I keep saying Channel Plus (I have a modulator from them), it's actually Channel Vision, model is P-1420. It is a 6X4 model, and it does switch component HD as well as analog stereo audio. It's the cheapest I have found out there for such a configuration. Be warned, Cinemar does not have a plugin for this unit if you wish to control it via RS232, but like everything else I have that is IR, connecting it to your IR bus via Slinke, USBIRT, or GC will work just fine.

http://www.channelvision.com/pdf/produc ... 20-ins.pdf

It sucks that there is no transcoding done by the matrix switcher menioned above. All receivers are transcoding now, and it's affordable circuitry, so why not incorporate it into these type of switches. The other disappointment is that folks will want to send HDMI out to several displays, so I would hope that someone is working on a 6X4 or 8X4 HDMI matrix switcher. The limitation will then be in affording those VERY expensive HDMI to Cat5 baluns, selling right now on eBay for about $450 each....

I like the CV matrix switcher a lot, nice and compact, only 1U high, very easy front end and understandable IR remote.

This online retailer sells it for $638 US
http://www.dsmiller.com/html/Electronic ... P-1420.htm

Neil

User avatar
gstone
Expert
Expert
Posts: 582
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 9:42 am
Contact:

Postby gstone » Fri Jan 26, 2007 3:27 pm

Don't mean to bust in but I read the post above about the CRM84.

Are you saying that if I plug in my dvd and xbox through HDMI then these out puts are not switchable to the component out puts?

And same goes if the device is plugged in through component then they can't be viewed from the HDMI ouput?

If this is true are there any controllable switchers that will do this?
Always ask! You can't stay dumb forever!

User avatar
lathanm
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 372
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 2:27 pm
Location: Aurora, IL
Contact:

Postby lathanm » Fri Jan 26, 2007 6:16 pm

The CV switch looks ok but I see one major problem, no digital audio. You can kind of loop it through the analog audio ports but them you are limited to coax sources and you can't pass audio to zones that don't have digital audio. This is a major step backward if you are running a full surround speaker set in multiple rooms.

Transcoding analog video to digital is not standard on most receivers. Most will only do it for analog signals (composite and s-video). HDMI switching is even tougher because the standard is so screwed up thanks to Hollywood's grubby little hands. Here is what Trent from Audio Authority had to say about switching problems with HDMI on AVS Forums:

What I've found through personal experience, testing for our company, and listening on this forum is that there are two main reasons HDMI switchers fail to work:
1) Improper implementation of HDCP on the source or display device, or
2) Improper implementation of HDCP on the switcher itself

The first problem isn't the switcher's fault. It's the fault of the HDMI devices connected through it. Many early cable boxes, for example, didn't recognize "repeater" devices, which is what a switcher is considered in the HDCP world. Therefore, when connected directly to a display, the source worked fine, but when run through a switcher, it didn't work because that unit's HDCP programming throught the switcher was some sort of illegal black box, and therefore wouldn't work.

The second problem can be easily remedied or prevented by the manufacturer building an HDCP compliant product, then putting the switcher through both HDMI and HDCP compliance testing. Many low cost switches (and even some high-cost ones, surprisingly) aren't compliance tested because it's expensive and would raise their cost. It also means that problems are sometimes common with those switchers (this varies from brand to brand, build to build). You see, HDMI compliance testing is required currently for HDMI products, but HDCP compliance testing isn't required.

So it's important to buy an HDMI and HDCP compliance tested switcher so you can have reasonable confidence that it will work both now and in the future.

That's my informational blurb for the day

Trent

__________________
Trent Davis - tdavis@audioauthority.com
Audio Authority Corp.
Expert Manufacturers of Signal Distribution Equipment, Demonstration Systems, and A/V Switching Products
Hacker /n./ One who enjoys the intellectual challenge of creatively overcoming or circumventing limitations.



Pass the popcorn, the movie is starting!



http://project2501.tzo.com/gallery/automation

http://project2501.tumblr.com


Return to “Whole House Audio/Video Distribution”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest