New Hardware Available : HDTV 4:2 Matrix Switcher

Discuss with other members how to distribute and setup whole house audio and video. Let everyone know what combination of products you are using to accomplish this.
User avatar
mcascio
Founder
Founder
Posts: 8270
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Kenosha, Wi
Contact:

New Hardware Available : HDTV 4:2 Matrix Switcher

Postby mcascio » Thu May 05, 2005 11:50 am

In our quest for an extremely affordable Component Matrix Switcher, we were excited to find this product by VideoStorm.

For pricing and more information visit:
http://www.cinemaronline.com/hdtv_switches.html

The CSM42 is the only product under $1000 on the market which can deliver full quality HDTV matrix switching! It is also the most feature rich matrix switch available, combining HDTV video, analog audio, coax & optical digital audio, digital audio transcoding, and distribution capable output drivers. Don't settle for an inferior product which will degrade your signals.

Accepts any remote control!

The CSM42 can support the following typical applications
> Switching 4 sets component video & analog audio to 2 displays/receivers/storage devices
> Switching 4 sets component video & digital coax audio to 2 displays/receivers/storage devices
> Switching 4 sets component video & digital optical audio to 2 displays/receivers/storage devices
> Transcoding/converting Digital audio between coax and optical

This unit delivers ultra clean noise performance and more bandwidth than needed for all high definition video standards. The CSM42 is also the easiest component switch on the market to setup and use, and it supports all HDTV video and audio formats Our proprietary ZeroKey technology allows switching to be performed by any key on any remote. No need for separate remotes or remote programming. The CSM42 is the optimal solution for all these applications, and the specs speak for themselves.

And if you're existing install doesn't already include the necessary cable for component, take a look at this fantastic product that distributes HDTV and Digital Audio over a single Cat5:
http://www.cinemaronlineforums.com/foru ... php?t=4504
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Mario Cascio
Cinemar, Inc.
http://www.cinemaronline.com

sfreiman
Expert
Expert
Posts: 868
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2003 12:39 pm
Location: Tucson, AZ
Contact:

Postby sfreiman » Fri Dec 16, 2005 8:03 am

Is this CSM42 able to be controlled with MainLobby/MLServer? I'm not clear on this.

rlindblad
Expert
Expert
Posts: 712
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2005 2:15 pm
Contact:

Postby rlindblad » Fri Dec 16, 2005 8:16 am

It is able to be controlled (very effectively) by any IR signal. I have one, works very well. I have it providing signals to my 2 plasma screens, one is remote via baluns.

To provide control, I am using my GC100 with IR transmitters. Since I already needed IR to provide control to other components (DISH, DVD) it was no big deal.

The kinda neat thing about the IR control is you choose what you want it to trigger on. I just picked a device I didn't ever plan on using and loaded that into the GC100.

HTH,

Bob

sfreiman
Expert
Expert
Posts: 868
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2003 12:39 pm
Location: Tucson, AZ
Contact:

Postby sfreiman » Fri Dec 16, 2005 9:02 pm

I use a slink-e in my set up. I'm not sure how I would use this.

sfreiman
Expert
Expert
Posts: 868
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2003 12:39 pm
Location: Tucson, AZ
Contact:

Postby sfreiman » Wed Dec 21, 2005 10:35 pm

I'm thinking of using this to switch 2 Sony DVD Players between my 2 receivers. I am totally lost on how the switching is controlled via IR. I don't really use much IR, only a Slink-e with control-s and control A1II etc. Any hints?

User avatar
mcascio
Founder
Founder
Posts: 8270
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Kenosha, Wi
Contact:

Postby mcascio » Wed Dec 21, 2005 10:41 pm

sfreiman,

You need to get IR from your Slinke to the CSM42. An IR command is assigned to switch each discrete source with an output.

You can add a Xantech Connecting block if you've maxed out your Slinke.

Or consider adding a Global Cache or USBUIRT to the mix.
Mario Cascio

Cinemar, Inc.

http://www.cinemaronline.com

sfreiman
Expert
Expert
Posts: 868
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2003 12:39 pm
Location: Tucson, AZ
Contact:

Postby sfreiman » Wed Dec 21, 2005 10:53 pm

Now things make more sense, thanks. Where can I get a Xantech Connecting block these days?

User avatar
mcascio
Founder
Founder
Posts: 8270
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Kenosha, Wi
Contact:

Postby mcascio » Wed Dec 21, 2005 10:58 pm

I've actually got a barely used one with the Power Supply - still in box.
#789-44PS

Make me an offer. :)
Mario Cascio

Cinemar, Inc.

http://www.cinemaronline.com


Return to “Whole House Audio/Video Distribution”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest