iHeart Radio

Please post general questions about WebLobby here
bpet
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 225
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 2:35 pm
Contact:

iHeart Radio

Postby bpet » Sat May 25, 2013 4:11 pm

Since iHeart radio stations have to play using their own application, I cannot simply get the URL of the radio stream and enter it into the Internet Radio App.. so I was thinking that I could open the iHeart website, www.iheart.com - or my local channel: http://www.iheart.com/live/WiLD-955-713/ in the weblobby window. When I try to load the website in weblobby, it does not work. Any tips on how to get this to work?

Thanks again,
Brett

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: iHeart Radio

Postby CinemarDave » Sun May 26, 2013 11:04 am

I could not find any way to extract the real url for the stream. iHeart goes out of their way to make it difficult to access those streams outside of the browser because of all the ads they have to throw at you. The site doesn't work in WebLobby because it is programmed to not load in an iFrame object and WebLobby loads all its web pages using an iFrame (not something we can change). I was able to get it to play in WebLobby by loading the Google Frame plugin and then using http://www.iheart.com/live/713/?autoplay=true as the URL.

chuck99z28
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 346
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 2:10 pm
Contact:

Re: iHeart Radio

Postby chuck99z28 » Sun May 26, 2013 3:12 pm

How do you load a goggle frame plugin?

UPDATE: I set a weblobby windows to www.google.com then googled "chrome frame" and installed it.

bpet
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 225
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 2:35 pm
Contact:

Re: iHeart Radio

Postby bpet » Mon May 27, 2013 5:34 pm

I loaded google frame, and google verifies that its already installed on the browser in the weblobby window...but when I try to open the weblobby window when I have the http://www.iheart.com/live/713/?autoplay=true as the URL, I see the spinning icon like something is loading, but nothing appears on the screen...do you have to put that URL in quotes or something?

I'm using IE 9.0 on Vista...

Thanks again,
Brett

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: iHeart Radio

Postby CinemarDave » Mon May 27, 2013 5:48 pm

No quotes needed. The embedded browse in WebLobby on Vista is probably running in IE 6 compatibility mode. iHeart most likely doesn't play well with IE 6. Do you have any other PCs running a newer OS to test the theory on?

bpet
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 225
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 2:35 pm
Contact:

Re: iHeart Radio

Postby bpet » Tue May 28, 2013 5:43 am

I was able to get Mainlobby working on a windows7 PC and your method works. So, your theory is correct which I fear is bad news for me since all three of my Mainlobby PCs are running Vista and I know that some of the programs on them are not compatible with windows 7 and so I'm not really looking forward to having to upgrade them. Is there any other method to get this working on Vista, besides a system upgrade to windows 7?

Thanks again!

bpet
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 225
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 2:35 pm
Contact:

Re: iHeart Radio

Postby bpet » Tue May 28, 2013 10:10 am

Dave,
If I switched the comaptability mode from XP to Windows Server 2003 (Service Pack 1), then it works, except MainLobby keeps crashing as its playing the stream....Windows shows the following error:

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: MainLobby.exe
Application Version: 4.0.45.0
Application Timestamp: 4cfc911d
Fault Module Name: StackHash_7486
Fault Module Version: 0.0.0.0
Fault Module Timestamp: 00000000
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 00740063
OS Version: 6.0.6002.2.2.0.768.3
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 7486
Additional Information 2: e2622a8e32c990e5621376fd20ff2a57
Additional Information 3: 98fc
Additional Information 4: cdb01f8b49e7a81c677616d17b43a1d8

Is this because I'm running in Windows Server 2003 compatibility mode? Any other work around that you can think?

Thanks,
Brett

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: iHeart Radio

Postby CinemarDave » Tue May 28, 2013 11:24 am

Other than experimenting to see if other compatibility modes are more compatible I'm not sure what else to try.

bpet
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 225
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2007 2:35 pm
Contact:

Re: iHeart Radio

Postby bpet » Tue May 28, 2013 11:37 am

Looks like as long as I make sure that the webwindow is closed after leaving the .mls page, I do not get the hash error...so its working fine using compatibility mode Windows Server 2003 (service pack 1). Thanks for your help!


Return to “WebLobby Questions & Answers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest