Changing graphics based upon variables

In this forum you can share tips and tricks on how to use Cinemar products with some program or a task that you want it to do. So no one has to reinvent the wheel if you already did! (No questions in this forum only solutions, questions will be deleted without hesitation.)

User avatar
DavidL
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 11071
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact:

Postby DavidL » Mon May 24, 2004 12:22 pm

Wysocki - excellent! thanx

User avatar
BraveSirRobbin
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 244
Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 1:47 am
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Contact:

Did this a little different.

Postby BraveSirRobbin » Tue May 25, 2004 1:05 am

Wysocki:

Thanks for your reply! I have 22 devices I wanted to do this with to monitor my Caddx security system. I did this in a little different way after talking to Krumpy (thanks K).

I used Doo Motion (plugin with my Homeseer) to control the font I wanted for a device's Off and On (in this case a 'Key' symbol for a secured device and just a period for an unsecured one). I used green for the text and placed it on a red button. When using the 'period' for the on condition, the red button itself is mostly shown. When the devices are secured the Key or "N" font value is shown.

Attached image is below.

Thanks again for all the help! Learned a lot from your examples!
-----------------------------
**** Do You Cocoon? ****

User avatar
DavidL
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 11071
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact:

Postby DavidL » Tue May 25, 2004 9:33 am

BSR,
Looks great.
Clean and functional.
Nicer than a webpage - eh?

User avatar
Krumpy
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1228
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 10:17 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Mn
Contact:

Postby Krumpy » Tue May 25, 2004 2:02 pm

Ok,

I can add a command in the MLHSPlugin to redefine HS status ON/OFF/DIM to specific characters in a MLS variable. Simple to do.

User avatar
fungun
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 298
Joined: Wed May 19, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: usa,ia
Contact:

Postby fungun » Mon Aug 30, 2004 9:18 am

how would you code this for a light that you want to know if its on or off?
real newbi here :)

User avatar
DavidL
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 11071
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact:

Postby DavidL » Mon Aug 30, 2004 8:12 pm

fungun,
did you purchase or are you still on demo? If purchased, there is a demo.mls (not the exact name) that provides several examples of what you ask.

19rookie83
Member
Member
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 3:11 pm
Contact:

Postby 19rookie83 » Tue Sep 12, 2006 4:15 pm

Not to put a damper on the colored wingding idea, but has anyone come up with how to change graphics for real based on a variable? Can I write the filename into a variable and try that... Hmm... idea I will get back to this thread later.

User avatar
lathanm
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 372
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 2:27 pm
Location: Aurora, IL
Contact:

Postby lathanm » Wed Nov 29, 2006 12:33 am

It can be done with jpg images and custom swf files. Take a look at ml2.75_newfeatures.mls.
Hacker /n./ One who enjoys the intellectual challenge of creatively overcoming or circumventing limitations.

Pass the popcorn, the movie is starting!

http://project2501.tzo.com/gallery/automation
http://project2501.tumblr.com

User avatar
mcascio
Founder
Founder
Posts: 8270
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Kenosha, Wi
Contact:

Postby mcascio » Wed Nov 29, 2006 2:38 am

I'm looking into ways to support Flash developers who need more elaborate rollover effects. It would require flash though and you'd have to use your own graphics.
Mario Cascio
Cinemar, Inc.
http://www.cinemaronline.com


Return to “Tips, Tricks and Tutorials”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest