I'm dying here :( Button States SOLVED :)

Place to post your creations and discuss them, attachments are currently limited to 512kb. Please notify administrator to post larger files.
User avatar
rtarver
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 118
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 6:51 pm
Contact:

I'm dying here :( Button States SOLVED :)

Postby rtarver » Sat Dec 06, 2008 9:14 pm

Had this figured out awhile back and deleted the scenes confident that I could reproduce the effect when I wanted to. But no luck. I'm sure this is something really simple, but I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong. And.. I've read through the Wiki' until I'm Wikied out.

Just want to use one button to control the state of another button.. you know, the old color change with tinting.

Button one has {{clientname}}_test as it's alias.

Button two has MLServeCmd.SetVariable|{{clientname}}_test~0 as it's command.

Clicking button two should set the state (and therefore the color) of button one.

What's wrong with my picture here?


TIA,

Russ
Last edited by rtarver on Sat Dec 13, 2008 4:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
mcascio
Founder
Founder
Posts: 8270
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Kenosha, Wi
Contact:

Postby mcascio » Sat Dec 06, 2008 9:31 pm

rtarver,

Your using ALIAS instead of the Label field. Move {{clientname}}_test to the label field.
Mario Cascio
Cinemar, Inc.
http://www.cinemaronline.com

User avatar
rtarver
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 118
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 6:51 pm
Contact:

Thanks Mario... but still not working

Postby rtarver » Sat Dec 06, 2008 9:47 pm

Mario,

Thanks for the quick reply. I made the change you suggested, but no luck. I even set the 'Local Off State' to Off as well.

My variable does update in MLServer. I seem to remember something about there being a _state tagged to the variable, but that may have just been a naming convention.


Any other thoughts?

Russ

User avatar
mcascio
Founder
Founder
Posts: 8270
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Kenosha, Wi
Contact:

Postby mcascio » Sat Dec 06, 2008 10:19 pm

Make sure you've adjusted the tint slider as well. Setting the color isn't enough unless you adjust the tint level in the Off state.
Mario Cascio

Cinemar, Inc.

http://www.cinemaronline.com

User avatar
rtarver
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 118
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 6:51 pm
Contact:

Yep

Postby rtarver » Sat Dec 06, 2008 10:39 pm

I've had On to green and Off to Red all day long. I'm learning to keep .mls files in my 'bin' for when I figure something out I can go back to them.

Still haven't figured out my problem though. If my variables are updating in MLServer, shouldn't things be updating in MLClient?

Russ

User avatar
mcascio
Founder
Founder
Posts: 8270
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Kenosha, Wi
Contact:

Postby mcascio » Sat Dec 06, 2008 10:53 pm

Without seeing everything its difficult to debug.

Make sure that you are really connected to MLServer from the client.

How about loading the sample scene that comes with MainLobby from a long time ago.

There is an On/Off button there that should work.

It's the file: CInemar\Content\Examples\ml270feature_demo.mls
Mario Cascio

Cinemar, Inc.

http://www.cinemaronline.com

User avatar
rtarver
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 118
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 6:51 pm
Contact:

Gotit!

Postby rtarver » Sat Dec 06, 2008 11:24 pm

Mario,

That did the trick...had to take the {{clientname}} out of the label in my page.

Thanks... the train is rolling again.

Russ


Return to “MLS files/Buttons/Icons/Backgrounds/SWF/3rd Party Apps/Device Files”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests