jrfuda's Setup

No matter how large or how small, the area of Home Theater is what we all have in common. So...Let others know your configuration. List your components first and then if you care to, a small history. Be sure to come back and keep it updated!
User avatar
jrfuda
Expert
Expert
Posts: 943
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 5:59 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX, USA
Contact:

jrfuda's Setup

Postby jrfuda » Fri Jan 09, 2004 3:19 am

Here's my "portable" setup, actually an edited copy of a post I made over at the HomeSeer Forum . See, I'm in the military and have to move every few years, so I can't really build-in. So the pic below shows what I have. The list corresponds with what the numbers are:

    1. This entertainment center houses all the non-computer hardware. About 30 feet away are two PC's connected via serial, USB, CAT 5, RCA cables and DVI.
    2. Close-up of the entertainment center, #2 points to where all the non-home theater equipment is.
    3. X10 IR543 double-sided-taped to the "ceiling" of the entertainment center
    4. IR sensor for a StreamZap PC Remote.
    5. Ocelot
    6. SECU16
    7. SECU16IR hooked to my home theater equipment via Xantech Blink-IR emitters, I'm mostly using it as a distro block, with each zone being a piece of equipment, but I'll have reason to actualy use the zones as inteded when we move and I'll have multiple instances of same-
    type/brand equipment.
    8. SECU16 inputs wired to current sensors (for conditional power-on/off of components) via MOLEX connectors for easy disconnet when needed
    9. SECU16 outputs, currently 2 are in used and wired to my server's power and reset switches via CAT5, for use with a watchdog program, also using MOLEX connectors for quick disconnect
    10. This is the "all-in-one" component that I'm using while overseas. When we go back stateside next spring, we'll have all seperates centering around a Yamaha DSP-AX1 integrated amp.
    11. This is a piece of built-up cardboard with shelf paper on it. All the ADI equipment and MOLEX connector's are either bolted or glued to it. This "platform" is then velcroed to the ceiling of the entertainment center, fo easy "all at once" removal.

There's a small UPS not visible that provides backup power for the ADI equipment.

My PCs, are both PIII 800mHz. One has 384 MB RAM and is used for web surfing, emailing, photoshoping, balanceing the 'ole checkbook, etc. The other is my MainLobby/HomeSeer Server running HomeSeer and HomeSeer Phone with ADIOcelot, UltraLog, DooMotion, W800RF32, WebCam, UltraMon, Web Wrapper, Touchpad, Roc Outlook Interface and hsgirder plugins. I'm also using MainLobby, DVDLobby, WeatherLobby, WebLobby and MusicLobby. I'm running all this on a PIII 800 with 512MB RAM, a Rocketport-8, HS PCI Voice Modem, LinkSys NIC, Radeon 7500, Cheapo sound card and StreamZap PC remote (Yes, my system does crawl at times).

I use a CM11A for X10, an Ocelot and SECU16IR for IR (along with some X10 events via a PSC05 to take some responsibilities from HomeSeer), an SECU16 for input/output, and a W800 for RF. I have a half-a-dozen lamp modules, a couple of appliance modules and a bunch of security modules.

All the critical stuff on the PC side is hooked to another UPS.

The TV is a Panasonic PT50LC13 HDTV that is hooked to my nasty standard def cable, but also have it hooked to my MainLobby/HomeSeer server via DVI. I have the standard assortment of Home Theater gear, all able to be controlled via HomeSeer, MainLobby (through HomeSeer) or my Home theater Master MX-700 remote control. I use the IR543 for a few IR to X10 things that I don't need to route through HomeSeer or the Ocelot (local control of some lamps, but HS and/or the Ocelot can help when needed).

I plan on getting all of this integrated a little more tightly. I'm going adapt the entertainment center to accomidate rack-mountable equipment, move my server into a 3 or 4U case, and place the rest of my equipment onto rackmount shelves (there are some nice custom models available). So atleast one part of my system won't be velcro and double-sided taped-based. This will also make it easy to move the whole Home Entertainment/Automation unit at once when it's time to move.

We're moving back to the USA (San Antonio Texas to be exact) in May 2004, so I'll get to tear everything up and move it to a new location (and hope the ship carrying it doesn't run into any trouble). Plus, all my gear in storage in the states will get thrown into the mix![/url]

User avatar
jrfuda
Expert
Expert
Posts: 943
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 5:59 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX, USA
Contact:

Some of my Screenshots

Postby jrfuda » Sat Jan 31, 2004 3:33 am

Here are some shots of my MainLobby setup. Some of the ideas were inspired by pics of other users setups!

All the numbers on the buttons are shortcuts that can be pressed on the Keyboard or IR remote to save youthe hassle of mousing over.

All these shots are from a 1280x720 setup, I've reduced their dimesions and quality a bit for posting.

User avatar
jrfuda
Expert
Expert
Posts: 943
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2003 5:59 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX, USA
Contact:

The next three screenshots...

Postby jrfuda » Sat Jan 31, 2004 3:36 am

Here are the next three shots:

Mudslide03
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 236
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 2:40 pm
Location: Sudbury, MA USA
Contact:

Postby Mudslide03 » Tue May 04, 2004 11:54 am

Nice setup. What's Casinolobby? I didn't see that product listed anywhere.

ktkkf
Member
Member
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2004 2:53 pm
Location: (NH) Live Free Or Die (NH)
Contact:

Postby ktkkf » Tue May 04, 2004 2:23 pm

Mud,

A few casino games. It's a freebie. Go here:

http://www.cinemaronlineforums.com/foru ... ght=casino
My name is Kevin. I am a Lobby addict.


Return to “What's Your System Configuration”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest