IPad Apps

Topics related to the new MainLobby Web Designer software for Android and iOS devices.
erikhimber
Expert
Expert
Posts: 872
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2003 8:54 pm
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
Contact:

IPad Apps

Postby erikhimber » Fri Apr 22, 2016 4:02 pm

Dave,

Is there any way to open an App inside of a window in the Web Client ??
Erik

User avatar
DavidL
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 11071
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact:

Re: IPad Apps

Postby DavidL » Sat Apr 23, 2016 8:58 am

what do you mean open an app?
Do you mean an app like Instagram?
or do you mean a app like MLCalendar? (which is basically just more HTML web pages so yes)

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: IPad Apps

Postby CinemarDave » Sat Apr 23, 2016 4:45 pm

There is a WebCmd|{{clientname}}~Launch|<<NAME OF APP>> command what can be used to launch an external application on the device. The trick is to know the URL signature of the app you want to launch. And not all apps have url signatures. Usually the url signature looks like <<APPName>>:// where AppName is the shortcut name of the application you want to launch. You will have to experiment or see if a Google search turns up the url signature for the app you want to launch.

For eaxmple: If you wanted to launch Google and the url signature was Google:// then the WebCmd would take on the form.
WebCmd|{{clientname}}~Launch|Google://

erikhimber
Expert
Expert
Posts: 872
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2003 8:54 pm
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
Contact:

Re: IPad Apps

Postby erikhimber » Mon Apr 25, 2016 7:22 am

I have an actual app, downloaded from app store, that connects to and controls our alarm system.

i would like to open this app inside a ML web page scene.

Is that possible, if so, how ??

Thanks.
Erik

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: IPad Apps

Postby CinemarDave » Sun May 01, 2016 8:05 pm

You cannot launch a native app and have it appear in a Web app scene. It will have to run in its own space. You can try the command WebCmd|{{clientname}}~Launch|<<NAME OF YOUR ALARM APP>> to see if it will launch.

rileydog
Expert
Expert
Posts: 667
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2004 12:25 am
Location: Kalamazoo, Michigan
Contact:

Re: IPad Apps

Postby rileydog » Sat Oct 29, 2016 9:49 am

Plex has a URL Scheme (plexapp://) -- I type that in my iPad browser address and the Plex app loads fine. I type this command in a button object and nothing happens. I am using WebCmd|{{client name}}~Launch|plexapp://

I see the command processed in the log, but nothing happens on the client. The client is connected.

Ideas?

rileydog
Expert
Expert
Posts: 667
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2004 12:25 am
Location: Kalamazoo, Michigan
Contact:

Re: IPad Apps

Postby rileydog » Tue Nov 15, 2016 4:17 pm

This is driving me nuts.

If I add this to the Client CMD on an object, this works:
Launch|plexapp://

If I try to run this from ML Server CMD on that object, it doesn't do anything:
WebCmd|{{clientname}}~Launch|plexapp://

The Client CMD doesn't appear to use {{}} for variable inserts so I can only hardcode... I am trying to program remotes to a single object and have the app to launch as a variable...

Ideas?

Synergy_Tech
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 8:36 pm
Contact:

Re: IPad Apps

Postby Synergy_Tech » Mon Nov 28, 2016 3:16 pm

The only thing I can think of is that the server doesn't know which {{clientname}} you're referring to as that only works if the command is initiated from the client. As an experiment, figure out what ip address your client is connected to (eg: 192.168.1.100) and then try sending this from the server:

WebCmd|w1921681100~Launch|Plexapp://

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: IPad Apps

Postby CinemarDave » Mon Dec 05, 2016 2:05 pm

If I add this to the Client CMD on an object, this works:
Launch|plexapp://

If I try to run this from ML Server CMD on that object, it doesn't do anything:
WebCmd|{{clientname}}~Launch|plexapp://


Both of those commands end up executing the same code on the client. {{clientname}} in the WebCmd is fully supported and works. I use that all the time in dozens of scenes. You should see in the server's event log the server translating webcmd|{{clientname}} into the actual client name that is it going to send to. In this case is the translation of {{clientname}} valid and accurate?


Return to “MainLobby Web Designer (V5)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests