Designer on Windows 10 Pro

Topics related to the new MainLobby Web Designer software for Android and iOS devices.
RZajcew
Intermediate
Intermediate

Designer on Windows 10 Pro

Postby RZajcew » Fri Jan 08, 2016 10:57 pm

I recently had to re-install all my MainLobby and MLServer stuff on a "fresh" Windows 10 Pro platform (not an upgrade from Windows 7). I do have MainLobby scenes and MLServer now working well. So it was time to get my Web Designer install up to snuff.

It's been a while since I did my last Designer install, and I am by no means an expert in Windows 10. However, I do seem to be running into file permissions issues. [And my userid does have administrative privileges]

The first symptom was that I could neither create a new project, or copy one of the pre-existing projects. I can hit the button, but nothing happens. I decided that this must be some sort of permissions issue, and I looked and it seems that pretty much all the directories are marked read-only. So what I did is that I modified the permissions of the HTML directory to no longer be read-only -- which supposedly modifies all the files and subdirectories for HTML. After I did this, I could both create projects and also copy projects. That should not have been necessary, of course. But it at least showed what the problem was.

However, if I go into a copied project (a copy of the sample iPhone 5 project) and try to edit one of the html files, I end up with "Save" operations not working. I can change the file on the screen, but if I try to save the file, there is an error message saying the file is read-only. And no permissions-wrangling on my part seems to be able to fix this.

As I said, this is all just a "plain" Designer installation -- I haven't attempted to move in any of my old work from backups yet.

I don't think this is just user error, but I could be wrong. Of course.

- Roman

CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: Designer on Windows 10 Pro