V4 CX7000ES Device Driver

Topics for MLServer Device Drivers
User avatar
Krumpy
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1228
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 10:17 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Mn
Contact:

Re: V4 CX7000ES Device Driver

Postby Krumpy » Mon Aug 06, 2012 1:19 am

Dave, I don't think that they have been fixed unless you fixed this without posting to this thread. I just gave up and reverted to using the V3 driver.

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: V4 CX7000ES Device Driver

Postby CinemarDave » Mon Aug 06, 2012 11:51 am

What critical bit of information is missing? I really don't what to have to constantly have to poll the changers for info that is just nice to have. If it is mission critical then I'll do it. What is missing?

philadam
Member
Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 3:20 am
Contact:

Re: V4 CX7000ES Device Driver

Postby philadam » Sat Aug 30, 2014 8:25 pm

Dave,

What determines the order of Network changers (Automatically Discovered). I added a second player after filling up my first only to be surprised to see that the second player took over the number 1 spot in the discovery. That means that I have 400 movies that were on changer 1 that are now on changer 2, and no matter what I do I can not get it to go back to its number 1 spot. I have tried changing IP addresses, command mode and renaming aliases in the Server variables, etc., but nothing works.

I really don't like the idea of having to re-scan 400 movies to get them in the correct changer.

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: V4 CX7000ES Device Driver

Postby CinemarDave » Sat Aug 30, 2014 8:33 pm

If the changers got out of sync just change the alias and id in Family manager back to what you need. Do not change ip addresses. The driver uses the unique changer id and does not care what the ip address is. You do not and will not have to scan all discs again.

philadam
Member
Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 3:20 am
Contact:

Re: V4 CX7000ES Device Driver

Postby philadam » Sun Aug 31, 2014 12:10 am

Thanks, I give that a try

philadam
Member
Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 3:20 am
Contact:

Re: V4 CX7000ES Device Driver

Postby philadam » Sun Aug 31, 2014 6:58 pm

Thanks, that fixed the problem. What could have caused them to get out of sync, so I can avoid it in the future?

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: V4 CX7000ES Device Driver

Postby CinemarDave » Sun Aug 31, 2014 8:05 pm

Hard to say but I suspect that the old changer went offline for a period of time and when the new changer was discovered it assumed the first changers position. Once the driver knows about both changers it should not get out of sync again.

philadam
Member
Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 3:20 am
Contact:

Re: V4 CX7000ES Device Driver

Postby philadam » Tue Sep 02, 2014 1:46 am

Thanks, really appreciate the support.

User avatar
Krumpy
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1228
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 10:17 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Mn
Contact:

Re: V4 CX7000ES Device Driver

Postby Krumpy » Sun Jan 03, 2016 10:25 am

Just upgraded to Win7 and found out that the V4 driver finds the 7000ES but the V3 driver does not work anymore as it states "AsynchFind Cancelled". This is on Win7 64 bit. Had it on XP 32 bit before. I need the V3 driver because there are variables that you stopped supporting with the V4 driver.

Is there a potential reason to why the V3 plugin should not work with Win7? I have tried turning off the firewall and does not appear to make a difference. Still does not find it. If I boot up with my XP hard drive then everything works. I have even attempted to reinstall the V3 driver.

As far as why I still need the V3 driver - that was documented earlier in this thread.

Any thoughts?

PS: Doesn't seem find the 7000ES on a Win 7 32 Bit install either.

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: V4 CX7000ES Device Driver

Postby CinemarDave » Sun Jan 03, 2016 3:49 pm

The V3 plugin uses UPNP dlls from Windows 95. Not a ghost of a chance they will be supported on new versions of Windows.

What exact server variable are you missing that is the show stopper?

User avatar
Krumpy
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1228
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 10:17 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Mn
Contact:

Re: V4 CX7000ES Device Driver

Postby Krumpy » Sun Jan 03, 2016 9:31 pm

Ok, good point. We can let Win95 rest in peace.

I use the following for automation of lighting and items. Note that the previous plugin gave better status updates (PAUSE, LOAD, DOOR OPEN, PLAY), etc:

CX7000ES_1_power equals
CX7000ES_1_Status (PAUSE, LOAD, DOOR OPEN, PLAY)
CX7000ES_1_ActiveTrack
CX7000ES_1_ActiveTitle

Whenever CX7000ES_1_Status contains PAUSE (this is to automatically make the movie play for either blueray or DVD's. Cant remember which)
and CX7000ES_1_activetrack equals 1
and CX7000ES_1_activetitle equals 1
then AV|1~Play

Whenever CX7000ES_1_status becomes LOAD (This is to dim to 40% the lights when movie is loading)
and lighting_79_level is greater then or equal 40
and CX7000ES_1_power equals 1
and CX7000ES_1_status_last equals DOOR OPEN
then lighting|79~level~30

Whenever CX7000ES_1_status becomes PLAY (This is to power off theater lights when movie is actually starting to play)
and lighting|79|level is greater than or equal 0
and CX7000ES_1_Power equals 1
then lighting|79~off

Whenever CX7000ES_1_status changes value (To track last status)
and CX7000ES_1_status is not equal LOAD
and CX7000ES_1_status is not equal PLAY
and CX7000ES_1_power equals 1
then setvariable|CX7000ES_1_Status_Last~{{cx7000ES_1_status}}

Whenever CX7000ES_1_status becomes STOP (Dim lights to 30% when movie is done playing)
and CX7000ES_1_status_last equals STOP
and lighting_79_level equals 1
then lighting|79~level~30

User avatar
Krumpy
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1228
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 10:17 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Mn
Contact:

Re: V4 CX7000ES Device Driver

Postby Krumpy » Mon Jan 04, 2016 9:17 am

Let me know if you no longer have a unit to test with. I can write a firewall rule so that you can connect to mine. That will make it easier for you to update the driver...

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: V4 CX7000ES Device Driver

Postby CinemarDave » Mon Jan 04, 2016 12:20 pm

You should already see server variables like AV_x_Status, AV_x_Power, AV_x_Stop, AV_x_Play, AV_x_Pause, AV_x_Load, AV_x_Error.

Now to figure out why you do not have them. Do a AV|x~Status for you changers and show me the drivers event log when that happens?

User avatar
Krumpy
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1228
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 10:17 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Mn
Contact:

Re: V4 CX7000ES Device Driver

Postby Krumpy » Mon Jan 04, 2016 8:57 pm

Don't take this personal. None of this is a reflection of your coding abilities. I mean, we all know that you have done miracles even in the most difficult circumstances. The variables are present but their respective values are quite inaccurate where they do not correspond to the true status of the jukebox. What I have written here is a quick update and thoughts. I certainly understand that you will need more specific detailed information (which I will be happy to give you) to address all of this:

I would have to look at the 7000ES documentation again, but doesn't it send out status updates without polling? It has been too long since I played around and wrote software to the 7000ES. It probably doesn't otherwise you would have taken the status updates and accurately populated the variables. That's right, I probably used the RS232 command set versus the network method that you're using.

I am really surprised that no one else has mentioned this as the variable tracking is significantly off. One time when playing a movie, the playing variable was 1 but the load variable was also still 1 even after it finishing loading and playing the disc. The disc number (AV_1_Activedisc) was off as well.

When manually powering the unit on with the power button including operation of the unit locally none of the variables update.

When using the AV command to power the unit on, the power variable turns to 1 but the status variable stays at "Online-Power Off" until the next command is sent. Then goes to "Online - Power On".

Do you still have a unit to test with? I presume not as it is a expensive toy to have laying around. If you do, we could compare firmware versions. I believe that mine is up to date with the latest firmware.

Let me know what you want to do. Heck, I would love to get this fixed, but also realize that I may be the only raising this as a concern.

User avatar
Krumpy
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1228
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 10:17 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Mn
Contact:

Re: V4 CX7000ES Device Driver

Postby Krumpy » Mon Jan 04, 2016 9:19 pm

Ok, more positive update. If I keep sending "status" commands then things appear to track more accurately.

So from a usability standpoint, how did you design the update of the variables? Are you thinking that the user would send "status" request commands? I presume so.

Isn't there a better way of doing this than every xx seconds have a timer send a MLSERVECMD to initiate a AV_1_Status command?

Couldn't you add a VB timer or kick off another thread within the plugin that would do this periodically? If you're concerned about overhead on MLSERVER then wouldn't it be possible to make it a command selectable variable timer whereas one could set it such that while loading it would poll more often and then once playing poll every 10-60 seconds?

I dunno.


Return to “MLServer 4 Device Drivers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest