SatRadio App

Topics for MLServer Applets
User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

SatRadio App

Postby CinemarDave » Fri Sep 28, 2012 11:25 am

It appears that, just like for our friends in Canada, SiriusXM has now shut down the legacy streaming servers in the US too. This means that ALL SatRadio V4 and V3 streams are not working at the moment. We're working to see what can be done but since there is no public API for SiriusXM it may take some time before things get updated. At this point in time we cannot give you any timeframe for when the streams will return.

edentel
Member
Member
Posts: 93
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2005 2:17 pm
Contact:

Re: SatRadio Streams Offline

Postby edentel » Sat Sep 29, 2012 8:37 am

Any suggestions for the best alternative hardware based solution for V4 at this time?

Is it just the streams or is the channel info dead as well?

Any way of pulling that from a hardware client?

Thanks!

EUROTECH
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 6:10 pm
Location: New Jersey
Contact:

Re: SatRadio Streams Offline

Postby EUROTECH » Sat Sep 29, 2012 9:51 am

Best idea I can think of would be a 2-3 yr old pre-amp that has SatRadio built into it and is capable of being polled by an existing driver. I don't know if Marantz has one, but the Pioneer I just picked up has SatRadio and Pandora. Just an option I guess.

Eurotech

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: SatRadio Streams Offline

Postby CinemarDave » Sat Sep 29, 2012 10:11 am

The now playing metadata is still available. The only thing that Sirius changed was that the stream URL now needs an encrypted username and password to access the stream. Eurotech's solution is the only one that will work for the time being if you really need the Sirius or XM programs. For just regular radio listening you could switch to Internet Radio until we get SatRadio working again.

edentel
Member
Member
Posts: 93
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2005 2:17 pm
Contact:

Re: SatRadio Streams Offline

Postby edentel » Sat Sep 29, 2012 10:24 am

Hmmmm weird. What led me here was the total abscence of data on the screen. When I went to play some music this morn there was absolutely no channel info, track, or icons. I restarted everything and checked logs but found nothing. I'll have to play around when I get home.

If the info is still accessible swapping back in my Russound or XMPCR should get things back running then.


Thanks for the input!
Ed

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: SatRadio Streams Offline

Postby CinemarDave » Sat Sep 29, 2012 10:26 am

The way the app works is that a radio needs to be playing before it will try to update the non playing info. So you would not see anything until a station started playing.

edentel
Member
Member
Posts: 93
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2005 2:17 pm
Contact:

Re: SatRadio Streams Offline

Postby edentel » Sun Sep 30, 2012 6:09 am

Ok brushing up on SatRadio V4 with hardware devices... If I'm reading correctly, my Russound ST2 is out and I have to wait on an XMPCR.

Am I correct that Radio 5 no longer supports Command Macros that I can redirect to the V3 Russound ST2 driver?

Also am I correct that to get the XMPCR working with SatLobby I'll need to buy the AV family to get PCR support?

Any chance of Russound ST2 support coming in the AV Family any time soon?

Thanks!

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: SatRadio Streams Offline

Postby CinemarDave » Sun Sep 30, 2012 10:41 am

Am I correct that Radio 5 no longer supports Command Macros that I can redirect to the V3 Russound ST2 driver?

Yes. However you could take the standard SatRadio sceen and modify the buttons so that they issue ST2 commands instead off the SatRadio commands. The browser section could remain a hybrid where the channel info comes from the SatRadio app but the PlayChannel command uses the appropriate ST2 command.

Also am I correct that to get the XMPCR working with SatLobby I'll need to buy the AV family to get PCR support?

Yes

Any chance of Russound ST2 support coming in the AV Family any time soon?

Yes. I have been working on the V4 Russound driver that incorporates all RNet devices which includes the ST2. That driver has had medium priority but now that we're dealing with this issue the driver priority has been bumped.

edentel
Member
Member
Posts: 93
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2005 2:17 pm
Contact:

Re: SatRadio Streams Offline

Postby edentel » Sun Sep 30, 2012 11:42 am

So sounds like best bet is to turn up the XMPCR with AV family now and then swap in the Russound when it is supported.

Thanks for the input! It is appreciated.

AVDCORPNY
Expert
Expert
Posts: 565
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 6:38 pm
Location: 3231 lafayette ave, bronx
Contact:

Re: SatRadio Streams Offline

Postby AVDCORPNY » Tue Oct 02, 2012 2:41 pm

Our Satradio is still working on version 3

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: SatRadio Streams Offline

Postby CinemarDave » Tue Oct 02, 2012 2:48 pm

Really? How many channels? Sirius or XM?

AVDCORPNY
Expert
Expert
Posts: 565
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 6:38 pm
Location: 3231 lafayette ave, bronx
Contact:

Re: SatRadio Streams Offline

Postby AVDCORPNY » Tue Oct 02, 2012 3:06 pm

all channel are work right now with no problem were on xm

edentel
Member
Member
Posts: 93
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2005 2:17 pm
Contact:

Re: SatRadio Streams Offline

Postby edentel » Tue Oct 02, 2012 7:55 pm

I scanned the first 50 channels with my V4 server. I'm getting "PrepareXMStream - Unable to Stream content. You might not have access to this channel" consistently on the following channels:

3
19
21
22
24
35
36
37
38

Synergy_Tech
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 8:36 pm
Contact:

Re: SatRadio Streams Offline

Postby Synergy_Tech » Fri Oct 05, 2012 12:19 pm

The Russound T2 isn't on their web site any longer. Does anyone know if it's been discontinued?

edentel
Member
Member
Posts: 93
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2005 2:17 pm
Contact:

Re: SatRadio Streams Offline

Postby edentel » Fri Oct 05, 2012 1:37 pm



Return to “MLServer 4 Applets”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest