External Control of MLServer 4

Topics related to MLServer 4
User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: External Control of MLServer 4

Postby CinemarDave » Sun Jan 05, 2014 3:14 pm

Why not just set MLServer to listen on a different port for Telnet?

User avatar
Krumpy
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1228
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 10:17 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Mn
Contact:

Re: External Control of MLServer 4

Postby Krumpy » Sun Jan 05, 2014 3:52 pm

Duh! True! I had forgotten that this was possible. Even looked at the network config screen.

I also found an application called ForeBindIP which worked somewhat.

In my situation it will work to change the port.

freak69
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 111
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2007 3:00 pm
Contact:

Re: External Control of MLServer 4

Postby freak69 » Sun Dec 28, 2014 6:13 am

Is it possible yet to stop the flow of variable data over the TCP port.
I'm looking to hook my alarm system straight into the MLserver port and the variable flow back at it is killing the poor device.

Thanks
Paul

freak69
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 111
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2007 3:00 pm
Contact:

Re: External Control of MLServer 4

Postby freak69 » Sun Dec 28, 2014 6:27 am

Just I found the tick box buried in the server options :)

Paul

freak69
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 111
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2007 3:00 pm
Contact:

Re: External Control of MLServer 4

Postby freak69 » Sun Dec 28, 2014 6:56 am

OK new problem
TelnetCMD works fine (although its not in the command builder :)
However if I telnet to my MLserver telnet port, and type "SetVariable|AAA~yes" followed by return, nothing happens. No logs on the MLserver or anything.

Running the latest version 4.0.5460.20592 (which has crashed a few times for no reason...)

Paul

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: External Control of MLServer 4

Postby CinemarDave » Sun Dec 28, 2014 11:40 am

You will not see any feedback on the telnet link. This is by design. However if you look at the server variables you will see them changing.

freak69
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 111
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2007 3:00 pm
Contact:

Re: External Control of MLServer 4

Postby freak69 » Tue Dec 30, 2014 10:36 am

OK, wireshark to the rescue!

Alas, it seems like the age old windows vs Linux CR-LF thing. I'm a Linux guy and when I test , I always use Linux telnet which sends just sends 0x0a as a line feed. If I use putty for example to connect to the MLserver port, it works perfectly because that sends 0x0a 0x0d at the end of the line.

This is going to me an ongoing problem when I utilise Linux scripts more, plus my alarm can only send 1 termination character, i.e. 0x0a. Any chance you could amend MLserver so that it accepts either option?

Thanks
Paul

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: External Control of MLServer 4

Postby CinemarDave » Tue Dec 30, 2014 11:03 am

It is fairly universal with all serial protocols to use a <cr> (0x0d) as the ending delimiter. That's what MLServer expects to see and it ignores all <lf> 0x0a characters. However, in the next release of MLServer it will accept either character as the delimiter.

freak69
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 111
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2007 3:00 pm
Contact:

Re: External Control of MLServer 4

Postby freak69 » Tue Dec 30, 2014 12:28 pm

Many thanks, I've managed to get a workaround for now which is looking pretty good to be honest, so with the additional fix, we should be all set to get the alarm to send native MLserver commands.
Paul


Return to “MLServer 4”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest