iPad?

Forum for discussing building user interfaces for controlling MLServer using the iPhone or iPod Touch.
shakey
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 285
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2008 9:55 pm
Contact:

iPad?

Postby shakey » Sun Apr 04, 2010 6:21 pm

So any one here get an iPad? I'm thinking of getting one but kinda waiting to see if a Cinemar app. gets developed for it. I'm also looking/waiting for the HP Slate to come out as it looks like it will work right out box since it will run Mainlobby(flash).


Shakey

bigDvette
Expert
Expert
Posts: 718
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 12:19 pm
Contact:

Re: iPad?

Postby bigDvette » Mon Apr 05, 2010 10:09 pm

I played with one today for about 3 hours. I had a friend come over with one and we downloaded iTap RDP client for the iPad. In about 2 min we had cinemar running in a remote desktop session off of my windows home server machine and it performs as if it is running on the machine on the wifi network.

We then went to my neighbors house, used VPN to get in and then remote desktoped again to the WHS machine and pulled up cinemar. Again it worked very well.

Biggest issue I had was that since teh screen allows you to zoom in and out it sometimes was moving the interface around on teh screen because I had accidentally zoomed out.

The other big bummer is that if you go do something else on teh ipad the RDP session is broken and you have to restart it. That is the biggest reason the iPad is not a great platform for home automation, only 1 app can run at a time in it's current revision. The Hp Slate won't have that issue and I sure hope they can get 10hours out of the battery.

donald

User avatar
Darryl Shore
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2009 11:24 am
Location: Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Contact:

Re: iPad?

Postby Darryl Shore » Tue Jun 08, 2010 2:57 pm

Hi Donald,

I'm very interested in the idea of using the iPad to control a PC running Mainlobby. How long does it take to make the connection once you launch the iTap RDP client?

Perhaps upcoming versions of the ipad will allow for multitasking? I noticed on the iPhone 4 keynote from Steve Jobs that apple now has multitasking on the new iPhone.

Has anyone explored the idea of running multiple virtual PC's from a Server and controlling those via ipad/iphone?

I'm curious about what everyone thinks of this concept.

bigDvette
Expert
Expert
Posts: 718
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 12:19 pm
Contact:

Re: iPad?

Postby bigDvette » Tue Jun 08, 2010 3:24 pm

It takes almost no time for it to come up and the ipad will be getting multitasking in Aug/Sep from what I read.

This would make it a usable prospect IMO. With the right OS and multiple terminal connections you could make this work. My hope would be for a native client though.

User avatar
Darryl Shore
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2009 11:24 am
Location: Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Contact:

Re: iPad?

Postby Darryl Shore » Tue Jun 08, 2010 4:31 pm

Thanks Donald!

I agree, a native client would be ideal! The thin client idea has some promise though.

Regards,

Darryl

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: iPad?

Postby CinemarDave » Wed Jun 09, 2010 3:33 pm

I have both an iPod Touch and an iPad and I love both of them. You would be hard pressed to find a better touch screen for the price. Here are some samples of an HTML 5 version of Library 0028 running on my iPad. To quote Steve Jobs "It's Just Awesome!" This is not anywhere close to being released. This is a background project I am working on in my spare time.

IMG_0001.PNG


IMG_0002.PNG


IMG_0003.PNG


IMG_0004.PNG


IMG_0005.PNG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Blade
Expert
Expert
Posts: 760
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2004 9:38 pm
Location: Lucan, Ontario
Contact:

Re: iPad?

Postby Blade » Thu Jun 10, 2010 10:09 am

Dave, I am getting excited.
The only reason holding me back from buying an iPad is the ability to run a MainLobby client from it.
We can probably use the iphone plugin to do something.
Will we be able to customize our scenes for it?

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: iPad?

Postby CinemarDave » Thu Jun 10, 2010 11:14 am

Unless you do the RDP trick you'll never be able to run a native Mainlobby client on it. What you see in these screen shots is a translation from a .mls file to a HTML 5 page. If you have any familiarity with HTML then it is really easy to customize. If you are not HTML aware then just run the samples as they will ship because they will work.

Blade
Expert
Expert
Posts: 760
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2004 9:38 pm
Location: Lucan, Ontario
Contact:

Re: iPad?

Postby Blade » Thu Jun 10, 2010 11:44 am

I can do html with no issues.
Can you point me to where I can look for a how to convert mls to html 5?

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: iPad?

Postby CinemarDave » Thu Jun 10, 2010 12:00 pm

There is nothing released about how to convert the mls files. This is something we are working on.

Blade
Expert
Expert
Posts: 760
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2004 9:38 pm
Location: Lucan, Ontario
Contact:

Re: iPad?

Postby Blade » Thu Jun 10, 2010 12:08 pm

Please let me know when you have some info on this as I can code html with no issues.
I really want to customize it and have it look like my MLscenes
My wife is picking up an ipad as we speak

bigDvette
Expert
Expert
Posts: 718
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 12:19 pm
Contact:

Re: iPad?

Postby bigDvette » Thu Jun 10, 2010 1:53 pm

The only thing that has stopped me from launching in to building HTML screen is the rather clunky method used in the existing Iphone library to retrieve data. Dave, you you developed a new listener for the data more similar to the socket interface used by MLClient or are you still bundling up vars and sending them to the server on some kind of timed interval?

If you are using some new method are you willing to share it? I think many of us could contribute to this project if there was some kind of standard. I have many screens laid out myself using CSS style sheets, but it is so cumbersome to code the variable names in such a way that you can distinguish div ids from img names ....

The screens look great,

donald

Blade
Expert
Expert
Posts: 760
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2004 9:38 pm
Location: Lucan, Ontario
Contact:

Re: iPad?

Postby Blade » Thu Jun 10, 2010 1:55 pm

OK now you have to show the screens :o
Come on quit keeping us in suspense

shakey
Intermediate
Intermediate
Posts: 285
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2008 9:55 pm
Contact:

Re: iPad?

Postby shakey » Tue Jun 22, 2010 7:01 pm

Ok Dave,

My wife and kids got me an iPad for fathers day. The thing is great. Now I'm on quest to teach myself enough HTML to get by till you make some great sample scenes. So please get back in the basement and do your thing cause I've always been slow learner ( what are you doing still reading go write html code-just kidding). I'm gonna start by reusing the iPhones ones and see make em fit the iPad better and add some TV logo channel icons, etc. I see a few late nights in my future. Dam job gets in way of Cinemar fun.

Shakey

User avatar
CinemarDave
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10535
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: iPad?

Postby CinemarDave » Tue Jun 22, 2010 7:11 pm

While you can re-purpose the current iPhone samples to work fine on the iPad the exciting stuff is yet to be released. Please watch this space. As for learning html. For the next generation scenes you'll need to master three items. The <SPAN> tag. The <IMG> tag and some basic CSS3 styles.


Return to “iPhone / iPod Touch Beta”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest