200 or 400 amp

Discussion of supported Energy Management Drivers and Hardware (TED 1001/1002)
MurrayW
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1198
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 1:05 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

200 or 400 amp

Postby MurrayW » Wed Dec 17, 2008 11:51 am

The 10 days of Christmas sale has tempted me into buying a TED and the plugin. I am assuming that I need the 200 amp model but just want to make sure before I buy. Would the 200 amp model be appropriate for the typical US house (Austin, TX)? Are 400 amp models mostly international? If not, where would they be used and how can I verify which one I need before I order?
thanks,
Murray

User avatar
DavidL
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 11071
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2003 9:39 am
Location: Metamora, Michigan
Contact:

Postby DavidL » Wed Dec 17, 2008 1:45 pm

Murray,
Look at your main power panel and read the numbers on the Master circuit breaker which is typically at the top of the panel.

This will likely say 200 or less.

More than 200 is very non typical for residential.

User avatar
bhiga
Expert
Expert
Posts: 854
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 10:28 pm
Location: San Jose, CA
Contact:

Postby bhiga » Tue Dec 23, 2008 3:45 pm

As Dave noted, your panel should tell you.

The difference between the 200-amp and 400-amp models is that the 400-amp model includes two MTUs and CT sets and is for homes that have two service panels.
- Brandon
My MainLobby stuff (plug-ins, screenshots, etc)


Return to “Energy Management”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest