Expose More Variables

Discussions for the iTunes Music Interface
User avatar
ronsatter
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1304
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 1:40 am
Location: San Leandro, CA
Contact:

Expose More Variables

Postby ronsatter » Sun Nov 09, 2008 10:42 pm

Mario and crew,

Would it be possible to expose two more variables in the iTunes plugin before the final issue?

"Year" and "Comment" are categories which many people use in their tags.

Thanks,

Ron
If it ain't broke ... don't fix it!

User avatar
mcascio
Founder
Founder
Posts: 8270
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Kenosha, Wi
Contact:

Postby mcascio » Mon Nov 10, 2008 2:49 pm

Ron,

I don't think that will be an issue.

Is everything else working properly then?
Mario Cascio
Cinemar, Inc.
http://www.cinemaronline.com

User avatar
ronsatter
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1304
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 1:40 am
Location: San Leandro, CA
Contact:

Remaining ITunes Issues

Postby ronsatter » Mon Nov 10, 2008 5:18 pm

mcascio wrote:Ron,

I don't think that will be an issue.

Is everything else working properly then?


I think we still have a problem getting the "NowPlaying" track to update in the iTunes_console_nowplaying.mls scene. Once it plays past the last visible track in the scene, the iTunes_layer_nowplaying.mls layer doesn't update. You can manually change to the next nowplaying page and view the currently playing track and it's green arrow marker. It just seems to me that the user would expect to see the currently playing track whenever the iTunes_console_nowplaying.mls scene is viewed without having to hunt for it. I'm not 100% certain that this is not working correctly, but I have never got it to work for me.

Also, any playlist played, always starts on the first default song in the playlist. This is annoying ... forcing the user to manually shuffle the list, then advance to the next track. Perhaps there is a way to code a built-in "shuffle" into the playlist play commands before the first track is played. Personally, I would never mind if all albums and/or playlists were automatically shuffled before play begins ... sooner or later the default order of play becomes boring.

That's all I have at this point ... once in awhile the album art gets out of sync with the currently playing track, but a database rebuild takes care of it. I generally make it a habit to always rebuild the db using the iTunes Agent whenever I make any changes/additions/deletions to iTunes. Perhaps we could have an option in the iTunes Agent to do "Auto Rebuild Database" after some length of time.


Ron
If it ain't broke ... don't fix it!

lunkan
New Member
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 12:45 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Postby lunkan » Mon Nov 10, 2008 5:36 pm

I'm not 100% certain that this is not working correctly, but I have never got it to work for me.

I agree with you Ron, I would also expect nowplaying to change to next (nine) songs and so on.
This not work for me either, I had to click (press) the button for next songs.
I´m also think that it would be nice to expose year tags. I use this tag frequently.

sonypoolplr
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1490
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 8:48 am
Location: New Jersey
Contact:

Postby sonypoolplr » Mon Nov 10, 2008 6:09 pm

I have noticed the playlist screen not advancing either. Also, I would like to see something changed in regards to the shuffling of the playlist. I have to click on the shuffle playlist button a couple of times to cycle it to False then True for the songs to shuffle. Also, as I think I have seen posted before, you have to wait for the whole playlist to load, so I have tried automating this with a rule, but depending on the cpu load, loading the playlist could take different times to load, so it makes it hard to pick a time for the delay.

All in all a very good addition, just needs some adjustments.

User avatar
mcascio
Founder
Founder
Posts: 8270
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Kenosha, Wi
Contact:

Postby mcascio » Tue Nov 11, 2008 3:22 pm

OK Guys,


Just posted another version. While we considered this a feature and not a bug, this version adds the option to specify in the MLITunes Plugin whether or not to move to the playing track page automatically when in NowPlaying.

Just update your MLItunes plugin from the Installation Assistant.

The extra variables will need to wait until after release. It appears comments and year are based on per track and not album. If it were album it would have been fairly easy to add.
Mario Cascio

Cinemar, Inc.

http://www.cinemaronline.com

User avatar
ronsatter
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1304
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 1:40 am
Location: San Leandro, CA
Contact:

Postby ronsatter » Wed Nov 12, 2008 2:01 pm

Yahoo! Works like a charm :D ... even with a shuffle toggle ... THANKS!

Ron
If it ain't broke ... don't fix it!

User avatar
mcascio
Founder
Founder
Posts: 8270
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 4:03 pm
Location: Kenosha, Wi
Contact:

Postby mcascio » Wed Nov 12, 2008 6:55 pm

ronsatter wrote:Yahoo! Works like a charm :D ... even with a shuffle toggle ... THANKS!

Ron


Good to hear. Anyone find a way to break anything with the latest version?
Mario Cascio

Cinemar, Inc.

http://www.cinemaronline.com

User avatar
DaveB
Simply Incredible
Simply Incredible
Posts: 3143
Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 10:57 pm
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Contact:

Postby DaveB » Wed Nov 12, 2008 9:58 pm

Not I - very solid so far. I would say lets get on with it. What little is left can be caught in the revision release process.
Thanks!

Dave Bruner
:shock:

User avatar
ronsatter
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1304
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 1:40 am
Location: San Leandro, CA
Contact:

Postby ronsatter » Wed Nov 12, 2008 11:13 pm

Ditto from my end ...

Ron
If it ain't broke ... don't fix it!

sonypoolplr
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Is there life beyond Cinemar?
Posts: 1490
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 8:48 am
Location: New Jersey
Contact:

Postby sonypoolplr » Fri Nov 14, 2008 8:42 am

I have noticed that my playlists now load faster. Also I haven't come across any issues.


Return to “iTunes”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest